We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unforgetable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doris Metropolitan

Doris Metropolitan
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Cornville, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgetable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were staying at the Ringle Resort and the owner Ed Ringle mentioned Doris Metropolitan. We are not big meat eaters and don't eat red meat, but we were looking for a nice meal in a pleasant atmosphere. WOW!! This place is on the scale of one of the finest NYC restaurants, in fact we can't wait to get back to C.R. to enjoy the food, great service!, and ambiance. We were there in Dec. and if my husband has his way we would be on the plane now, to stay at Ringle Resort which is stellar, and to once again enjoy Doris. We had a filet and shared and still had trouble finishing all the great dishes we tried! Do yourself a favor and visit Doris. You will be thanking your lucky stars that you did. Thanks to the staff and owner of Doris for making our visits to your restaurant memorable. We will return!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lenegene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    63
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a very nice restaurant. After eating enough rice and beans to last a lifetime, we went here on our last night in San Jose. It is more "American" looking then most restaurants we found. Very modern, and yes expensive. The steaks were great, perfectly cooked. The portions are definitely big enough to share as no one in my party of four could finish. There are some very different cuts of beef and lots of other selections. It's a very nice choice for a special occasion. The staff are pleasant and very professional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoaGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place for steak in Santa Ana!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Run, don't walk to this great local steakhouse!! Wine selection combined with bread like this -calling this place just A steakhouse doesn't do it justice, I've been to steakhouses, you haven't been to Doris!
If you are looking for a place to entertain clients you want to impress, or even just want to treat you and your significant other to a really special night out, this is the place. The space is just lovely, the staff courteous and attentive and the food is worth a round trip ticket to Costa Rica any day!
They have aged beef, veal, osso buco, lamb and anything else you would care to eat. All of it is cooked to perfection. This place is so good, all I have are cliches to try to describe it! Do yourself that favor and go....thank me later!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperACamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For meat lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a place for real meat lovers. I received what I paid for: a superb beef cut. Some cuts are really too big for only one person like me, so it can be shared. All beef cuts are aged, then prices are above average for locals but good for foreigners from higher standard of living. Good service and charm environment. Recommended for meat lovers even if can go only once.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CostaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
154 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I couldn't resist, had to write another review. Tis place is wonderful. Hope to go again soon, I would recommend trying the Fillet mignon ;-) it's very tender

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cabobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doris Metropolitan also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Doris Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing