We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arenal Volcano & Tabacon Hot Springs Day Tour”

Go Tours Costa Rica - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GO! Tours Costa Rica is a group of professionals born and raised in Costa Rica, passionate about the natural wonders of this small piece of land, dedicated to the conservation and protection of our natural resources, who strive every day to make your vacation an unforgettable experience.We invite you to enjoy the natural richness of this peaceful land, and wish that sometime in the future, you will come back to visit your friends at GO! Tours. We offer the best tours in Costa Rica at the lowest rates available.
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Arenal Volcano & Tabacon Hot Springs Day Tour”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked through Go Tours. Excellent. Picked up at San Jose hotel, great driver and tour guide. Several good choices for set lunch and wonderful buffet dinner. Great day at Tabacon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HNLDRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTCR, Owner at Go Tours Costa Rica - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 8, 2016
Dear HNLDRL,

Thanks a bunch for letting us know how your one day tour from San Jose turned out.
I’m glad that you chose to do the Tabacon Hot springs in the Arenal Volcano area, this is considered one of the best hot springs in the world, so I’m glad that you were able to experience this along with the meals that you had during your stay.
If you ever want to come back to Costa Rica, it will be our pleasure to setup another amazing one day tour for you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    14
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very professional and knowledgeable”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked thru Flavio and found him to be was very responsive and knowledgeable about the activities/areas we were interested in. Along the way he and others (had two drivers and another tour guide) pointed out items of interest: Sloths, birds, lizards, famous sites, insight into agriculture/crops, shops/road stands, how things have changed, stopped whenever we wanted and went on side trips based on our interests. They didn't rush us or seem to mind they'd have to drive several hours to get back home.

We booked pretty much all of our tours and transportation thru Go Tours. Some of the tours and hotels we took his advice on and others we didn't based on the reviews I found online and what was important to us. After doing it all, he was pretty much right on with his comments so you can trust him.

All the tours we did with Go Tours were top notch since they know the best guides and the size of the groups were small. On a few of our tours it was just us;) Also, the prices are very competitive. Usually, I like to make all the arrangements myself because I really enjoy researching the places we go and haggling, but found that Costa Rica had so much to do and see it's hard to narrow down, which is why we contacted professionals. I contacted a few other tour companies/drivers but liked our experience with Flavio the best.

We had a few issues with times that were relayed to us for a tour and pick up back to San Jose but they waited for us to finish our breakfast or went to beach to kill some time so it wasn't a big deal. At first, we were disappointed that we didn't have the same driver or guide the whole time but in the end it was better since we got different prospectives.

Flavio also gave us his cell phone in case we had any issues or questions. Every time we needed him or wanted to make a change he was only a phone call away. Everyone spoke great English (some lived the US for a time) except for one driver so communication wasn't an issue. They also helped us learn some Spanish.

In the end we didn't want to leave. We felt like we had new friends and wished we could've stayed longer than the two weeks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mcclain072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTCR, Owner at Go Tours Costa Rica - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2016
Dear mcclain072,

Thanks for writing this lovely detailed review, we as Go Tours love to hear from you about your visit to Costa Rica.

I’m pleased to know that Flavio was able to take care of you, from the itinerary planning process, accommodating to your needs and wants to the actual doing the one day tours and activities spending quality time with your party. Speaking of accommodating, I’m pleased to know that you booked all the transportation with us and most importantly that it all went well at the end. It is very common to hear great reviews about Flavio, because he always go out of his way to make you trip more memorable, like him stopping along the way for you to see some exotic animals and have a taste of what Costa Rica really is like. Not to mention the fact that Flavio was always accessible and like you said, that he was only a phone call away. When traveling to another country it’s important to know that you are always safe and in contact with your tour company, fortunately Flavio was there with you every step of the way.

Overall I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay in Costa Rica, that you felt that everything was dealt professionally and that our Staff from Flavio to Wali and beyond were on point every step of the way. Any time you ever want to visit Costa Rica or even wanting to permanently stay here, now you know that you guys have the Go Tours family waiting for you with arms wide open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“"Friendly Professional Service with a Smile"”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Given the amount of glowing recommendations, we decided to go with Go Tours. Ricardo was most helpful and very prompt in organizing a great four day itinerary of daily excursions from San Jose. As we disembarked from our 16 day cruise, we were welcomed with broad smiles by Flavio and Wali who took no time in introducing us to Costa Rica. This 'dynamic duo' have an infectious sense of humour that makes the touring experience all the more enjoyable. We really appreciated their wealth of knowledge particularly with some great restaurant choices and the sampling of local flavours. All the attractions we visited were excellent though my personal favourite was La Paz Gardens & Waterfall. It was a treat to have a toucan perch on my arm and to see 'the cats' at such close proximity. So if you are going to Costa Rica then go with Go Tours!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuitcaseTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTCR, Owner at Go Tours Costa Rica - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 10, 2016
Dear SuitcaseTales,
Thank you for allowing us to take care of your four day itinerary in Costa Rica.
I hope that you enjoyed your cruise just as much as you enjoyed your visit to Costa Rica. Speaking of enjoyment, I’m happy that we paired you guys with our Dynamic Duo Flavio and Wali, for your one day tour in San Jose. We paired with them for the high amount of knowledge that they have about Costa Rica and the local unscheduled stops in order to make this trip that much more memorable.
Going to La Paz Waterfall Gardens near the Poas Volcano area was definitely the best choice, because you are within arm’s reach of all the beautiful nature and exotic animals that this country has to offer, like that Toucan that stood on your arm, I felt that was thee Kodak moment, not to leave aside the jungle cats that were there with you.
Overall, I’m glad that you came you saw and you conquered, and that you left with a great experience of what Costa Rica really is like. Next time that you catch another cruise or that you fly down here, it will be our pleasure to set up another memorable trip to Costa Rica for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Very Knowledgable”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had an impressive tour package put together for us within our time and money constraints. The most adventure we could hope for. I loved that Vladamir was like a traveling sociology/anthropology professor. The Go Tours love of their country really shone through.
Look no further, this is a fantastic, sincere, and professional group.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5vacation13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTCR, Owner at Go Tours Costa Rica - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 12, 2016
Dear 5vacation13,

Thank for your kind words towards our company and our Go Tours Costa Rica Staff.

I’m pleased to know that we were able to accommodate to your needs and most important, that we were able to accommodate financially as well. Vladimir is well known for its detailed work when putting together the perfect itinerary for a trip to Costa Rica. Thankfully he was able to provide tons of education during those long drives.

I’m glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us in this lovely country. We also want to give thanks for all the kind words and the recommendation to others wanting to travel to Costa Rica. On that note, we hope to see you here soon and our doors will be open to you and yours for your future visit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Day Trip around San Jose with Go Tours”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Anyone considering a day tour from San Jose should look no further than Go Tours Costa Rica. I cannot recommend this tour enough, the tour guides were professional and extremely knowledgeable on the history, flora and animals of Costa Rica. We visited several stops around San Jose and all were insightful and very enjoyable. We visited a volcano, local markets, 400 year old churches and local town. There were several awesome photo stops as well. The lunch was a delicious local foods from the markets.

If you book this tour, you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiegirlDP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTCR, Owner at Go Tours Costa Rica - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2016
Dear AussiegirlDP79,

Thanks for letting us know how things went with this brilliant day trip around San Jose.

Go Tours and our staff take deep pride in what we do, therefore for you to let us know that our tour guides were very professional and knowledgeable on the Country’s history and the flora and animals of Costa Rica, that brings us a lot of joy and lets me know that we have a star team on our hands, so thanks for the lovely feedback.

Now it is important to know a countries culture in order to understand what its really like, so for you to be able to see some of Costa Rica’s oldest churches and made some stops of local towns was definitely something amazing and a good move on our guides behalf; not to mention the fact that you were able to take some great pictures.

Thanks for all this lovely feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your one day tour from San Jose. Keep in mind that we are more than welcome to have you here again and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you and show you more of what Costa Rica really is like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Tours Costa Rica - Day Tours also viewed

Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Go Tours Costa Rica - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing