We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel to start and end your vacation in Costa Rica”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our month-long journey exploring Costa Rica. We wanted a hotel outside of San Jose, but still close to the airport. We took a cab from the airport the evening of our arrival. It was an easy 15-20 minute ride and the cost was about $25. Once at the hotel, we were greeted by Arturo, who proved to be a tremendous help for both of our stays. The lobby was beautiful and tastefully-decorated.

The room we stayed in was very large (unit 12 on the top floor). There was a nice-ish view of the backyard area and the surrounding hills. The bed was very comfortably plush. The bathroom was fancy and immaculate. The large flat-screen TV went un-used mostly, but it was nice to watch a few minutes of the local news. The refrigerator was large and well-stocked with snacks.

The restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. Though the dining room was nice, the food choices (Italian and Japanese) were not up to par with the rest of the country. We did not eat breakfast there. There is a very good organic grocery store a short walk down the street, and we acquired fresh empanadas there every day, which was better than the food at the hotel's dining room (much cheaper too!)

Arturo helped us secure a rental car and they delivered it to us at the hotel. We were treated to beautiful thunderstorms on both of our visits, which we happily watched from the comfort of our bed with the windows open and the air conditioner on (don't hate me for my indulgence). By the way, the air conditioner worked very well and was quiet. On our second stay, the refrigerator was a little too loud when it turned on and off, so we unplugged it.

The rooms and grounds were always immaculate, and we never had any insects in the room even when we had the windows open. On our last day, the hotel provided us with a paid in-house taxi service back to the airport, which was much better than calling for a cab. We highly recommend this hotel, and also recommend you order your reservations online instead of calling the hotel directly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftravmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

It is true that the rooms are very nice and large and safe. If you have a car to drive there is would be great, but I expected that "Close to the airport" meant there would be a shuttle...I spent $50.00 extra paying to get to the hotel and then to the airport. Choices for dinner were small, not very good and expensive. Again, a car to eat out would make it better. I also found a charge on my credit card when I returned. I had not taken anything from the refridgerator but had bought a small bottle of wine to take to my room the night before. Maybe the maid thought it came from the room, but that is not my concern. It is a lovely place, but they need better food and they should be more clear that it will cost $25.00 to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peck1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2010
Google Translation

estimado cliente , es un placer que le gusto nuestro hotel.
me da mucha pena que no le gusto' la variedad de comida , pero' estamos cambiando el menu' , ampliando los plattos. nuestra cercania a el aereopuerto es clara , pero' el viaje costa solo 20$, y nosotros tenemos nuestro taxi driver que puede recojerlo, si nos equivocamos en cobrarle una botella de vino pequena puede decirlo en su proxima estadia o por medio de correo y le devolvemos la plata en forma muy rapida , me disculpo para la molestia del cobro equivocado si fue asi' .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We arrived in San Jose late night and fully exhausted from hours of traveling only to be warmly welcomed at Hotel Luisiana. Our bags were carried to our third story room where we discovered the BEST, most comfortable bed on earth! As well the rooms were very clean and modern. The included breakfast was good, simple and what most breakfast in Costa Rica consists of, beans and eggs. We had a hard time leaving after breakfast because we felt so comfortable, but Arturo was extremely helpful with getting us to our next destination of La Fortuna by public transportation. He had his driver take us to the bus station and was very adamant about our safety in downtown San Jose. "Buy your ticket, hold onto your luggage and DO NOT wander around." He genuinely cared about our well-being.
When we arrived in La Fortuna, we found an internet cafe and immediately booked our last night in Costa Rica there. Due to heavy rain at the end of our trip, we decided to make the trek back to San Jose a day early just in case. I called Arturo to see if he could get us in, but he was booked for that evening. And instead of just saying goodbye, he booked us a room at another place down the road that was very nice as well. I was blown away by his customer service.
Our second stay at Hotel Luisiana was even better than the first. We were on the second floor so we had access to the balcony. We were exhausted from three weeks of roughing it so decided to go to the store, buy some beers and play cards on the balcony all day. We were even surprised by the chef with some complimentary sushi delivered to our room. Later we dined at the restaurant which was also great. In the morning Arturo was very concerned about getting us to the airport on time, calling our room twice to tell us to get a move on it. It was such a great relaxing place to both start and end an excellent vacation. When we go back to Costa Rica, Hotel Luisiana will definitely be on our list!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfairchild_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

PROS:
Large, fancy rooms
Clean
Well-built
Excellent bed
Excellent shower
Large TV
Superior staff

CONS:
Restaurant dinners poor and expensive

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumowondertoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

HOTEL LUISIANA is a scam! we DID NOT take anything from the minifrigde...a week after our stay my credit card statement came back with a charge of $4.39...I called Arturo, and he said the MAID said there was a beer missing! The beer cost 3.39...and the $1 was a charge they charge ALL their guests...they never told me that and i dont even know what the $1 is for! Dont stay here, it is not even that close to the airport..20 minute taxi ride for $20.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

i'm so sorry but when you call us an explain the situation , we accept our mistake and we offer a complete refund , you don't accept our apologize and our money( 4,35$) , and write this feedback, this is what happens!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I had chosen this hotel for my first night in CR & after the superb experience we decided to book for our return flight out.

GREAT CHOICE. We had the limo pickup from/to the airport you are in your beautiful & spacious room within 30mins :)

The hotel is a newly renovated villa in a rich suburb 15km from San Jose with private parking where you can have your car delivered/picked up.

Clean and stylish rooms. Good quality furniture and lining. Beautiful and spotless bathrooms. Nice outside terrace with sofas... Really all you would expect from a quality European standard hotel.

One of the best most regenerating sleeps we had in our entire trip!

Breakfast can be considered a little pricy at 10$ pp but you have the option for arranging by your own [simply using the amenities in room if you get the suites with kitchen...]

Plus the hotel is very well connected to highway 27 that leads you out to the pacific coast and located in a new business/commercial district full of malls/stores to allow the last minute shopping before heading to explore this amazing country [first day in CR we had to get hold of a good road map, some plug adapters for our electronics, water, ice, snacks, shampoo, paste... you know all the basics that are hard to smuggle as hand luggage now a days :) - this was really easy thanks to the great location]

Highly recommended.

PS: not to miss the lively Karaoke bar down the road packed with friendly ticos for a cheerful start/ending to your CR experience - PURA VIDA.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We booked this property online through Expedia because it was less than booking directly with the hotel. We ended up staying 3 nights and they7 honored the lower rate for all 3 nights. Great staff, friendly and wanting to make sure our stay was great. The bed was fabulous. Nice to have big screen TV and Internet. We were on an early retirement expedition and this was a great location to work from as we went out and familiarized ourselves with the area. We did not eat at the restaurant because we were on a budget. We did order some room service for breakfast and that was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaiser56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
7.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $42 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing