We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our last hotel on a week long, three hotel stay in Costa Rica and it was wonderful. After Jaco beach and Arenal, this boutique sweet spot, with its plush beds and renovated amenities was more than welcome. Not to mention the price, at $35/night was outstanding.

We are not the type of vacationers that book a hotel to spend time in the room, but again, after a week hiking, horseback riding, beach and hot springs going, this was a welcome retreat to enjoy a beautiful view with a glass of wine, on our porch (room 27) in the evening with nothing in mind but Pura Vida.

Yes, they are under construction. According to their front desk staff, the third level expansion is set to be done in a month, with an additional wing coming some time next year. But in the mean time, the construction ends early (5pm, and you should be out exploring anyway!), it is close to SO many restaurants, and the pool is great.

BIG plus- we woke up early while we were there and there was not coffee yet. We asked if they would mind brewing for us, and they gave us our own machine for the room. I'm sure that is not standard practice, but the accommodation was very nice. AND they were available for room service on additional bottles of wine WELL in to the night.
Other plus- Free wifi, smart TV's (including Netflix), free int'l calling, iron and safe.

Only down side (beside construction, for the time being)- The guy with the pony tail (didn't catch a name) at the front desk, could not seem to be bothered. While waiting for the gate to open every time, we had to detour around to the front door, in the car, to get his attention. Even after buzzing!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Room 27, top floor on the end, was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharkoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 998 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Luisiana for a short over-night stay and found the hotel to
provide all services I needed. The room was well equipped with AC.safe, iron
and board, good bed and a huge bathroom. The only criticism is that the
entrance and lobby could use a spruce up...especially notable is the lack
of a garden around the pool area...a few trees could certainly enhance the
appearance. But all in all, the price is excellent for the product.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Slept there for one night. It was a nice room with big tv/computer screen. Every thing was fine except that it smelled very bad in the room. Be aware of the price for water - it's very expensive, so remember to buy some before check in.
The staff were very friendly and helpsome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place was great! Had smart tv's, wifi, free international calling! the beds were clean and same were the washrooms. It is out of San Jose though, so there might have been extra costs to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ackasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Best value in town. Santa Ana is one of the best up and coming high scale areas around, and very close, (15 minutes) to both airports. The restaurant is small and cosy. The food in the restaurant is very good.

For the 3 years that I have stayed there, I couldn't have done better.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. I prefer the rooms by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 31Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

thank you so much
i appreciate your word
Hotel Lusiana is a god choice in all san jose area for the price versus de confort !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is a real gem! If you are looking for a great hotel in San Jose, look no further. Stayed here one night, the room was huge, clean, decor was beautiful throughout, friendly and helpful staff, tasty food. Was definitely the right choice!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jinxsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a find! This place is a hidden gem. It's got everything you need, and much more. Smart TVs, free international calls, great WIFI, super comfy beds, coffee 24/7. It's super clean and the staff goes out of their way to help. The maintenance guy even fixed my car when it wouldn't start! The neighbors are doing construction so the pool was not worth visiting, but otherwise you can't find a better hotel for the value.

Room Tip: Room 7 is my favorite. Kitchen suites are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LaurenM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $34 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing