We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient, friendly, delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
“Convenient, friendly, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was suggested to us by the women from whom we were renting a house in Dominical. It was a great suggestion. It is close to the highway going to the Pacific coast and was convenient for staying, both coming and going. The breakfast is generous and delicious and the dinners were great, especially the pasta dishes. The dining room is charming and offers a nice selection of wines. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We were a family of 10 and were able to get rooms next to each other. A warm and friendly place. We hope to return there someday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artiehelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    284
    80
    19
    31
See reviews for
186
338
97
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nosara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Located near Santana/Escazu area this hotel offers a great value. Comfortable and clean rooms at a good price. Every time my wife and I are in San Jose this is our hotel of choice! Secure parking for your car. There is a swimming pool and patio chairs outside your room which makes it quint. Rooms come with Wi-Fi and free Netflix so if the weather is bad you can just relax in your room. There are plenty of high quality restaurants nearby and the Multiplex. It is also close to the CIMA Hospital as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank curt v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilito, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is hotel is a great find. We have stayed there on several occasions. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and all have A/C, internet, computers or smart TV's. The parking lot is secure, the people friendly and the beds are comfortable. I highly recommend this as a first choice in the Santa Ana, Ezcazu areas and it is only 10 min or so to the SJO airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyTuanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruce
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really like this place. I needed a night to stay over in SJ area and got through Kayak a great deal for this Hotel. I was really surprise how good it was. great Internet conection, excellent bed, clean rooms, quite area. If I ever need to stay extra days in SJ I will definitely pick this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank coolrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place was great! I got some of the best sleep here that I got in my whole 2 months trip. The beds are super comfortable. It was nice to have a kitchenette to keep costs down. This place was conveniently located close to the hwy, tons of restaurants, grocery store, and airport. We ended up staying here twice on two different excursions. My only complaint is that they have a secure parking lot (which is great..), but I had to get out of the car every time we wanted to leave and walk through the lobby, where someone is staring at a security camera monitoring screen and they always knew we were there, so why not just hit the button anyway and open the gate... That seems pretty lazy of me, but it would have improved my stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
estamada huespede
sorry por el manejo de las camara de seguridad ! tratamo de abrir solo en el caso que estamos seguro que un huespede registrado , yo se que la seguridad alta a veces molesta , pero' es para el biene estar de los huspedes mismo...............
mucha gracias por tan buen commentario!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Louisiana at the back end of our trip to Costa Rica. We wanted something that was nice, close to the airport and close to Hwy 27, the pay road to the beach. This hotel matched all of these criteria very nicely. We stayed with our daughter in one of the studio apartments that had a nice balcony overlooking the valley with mountain views. We thought that the room, the pool and the price were very good and it was overall a very good value.
The only negative that I have was the customer service at the front desk. They were completely non-interested in answering or helping me with the questions I had. Some of the printed information in the room was not correct and when this was pointed out, they did not attempt to correct it or even to explain it. When asking about directions and a place to get something to eat, it was more of the same, non-helpful and disinterested. The lady obviously had more important things to do then help us with our questions.
In the end I would recommend the hotel as it really is nice, well placed and a good value. I would however recommend that the management work with the staff to help them provide a better customer experience.

Room Tip: There is no coffee in the rooms, so you have to go to the front desk to get it. If you stay in one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
estimado senor Garret , gracias para su commentario.
la recepcionista que la atendio fue rebeca ..........
y a mis preguntas sobre este caso , asi me contesto'

"De todas las preguntas que este pax hizo se le dio una respuesta. Fueron 4 preguntas sobre la informacion de la sombrilla a lo cual se le explico que ya se habian sacado, que era un error que estuviera la hoja en la habitacion y que lo corregiriamos inmediatamente, sobre el desayuno, tambien sobre el late check out y lo ultimo fue que por donde podia llegar al centro )el queria irse con la nina y la esposa por el lado donde esta la contruccion abandonada) yo le ssugeri que se fuera por en frente ya que era mas transitado y que por el lado de la cruz roja encontraria varios restaurantes, cuando le respondi la ultima pregunta me dijo, bueno yo creo que esas serian todas las preguntas que tengo, tomo a la nina y me dijo gracias. Despues de un rato salio a caminar con su esposa y su hija y se despideron al salir, luego cuando regresaron volvieron a saludar y ya cuando hicieron check out luego de las 11 am (a lo que nos se les dijo nada, solo los esperamos) se quejaron con Ron Amauri de la decepcion que sentian por que yo no les di un buen customer service, la verdad no se que fue lo que hice mal o lo que no le gusto al pax de mi."

asi que ella trato a lo maximo de su esfuerzo , me gustaria saber mas del tema con un correo privado para poder resolver sus problemas ...............

un saludo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having a home in Costa Rica, I visit 3 - 4 times per year, always with my dogs. Flights in and out traditionally arrive very late or depart very early making the 2 hour drive to/from our home challenging at times. Until now, I have been staying at a major brand hotel because they were dog friendly for 3-4x the price of this gem. What an amazing boutique hotel.

I was at first reluctant - normally what is advertised as too good to be true is exactly that - too good to be true. Not in this case. The lobby on arrival is almost as inviting as the staff. The rooms are more than just comfortable - they are tastefully decorated, clean and equally inviting. We rented room 4 with a king size bed and exceptionally large bathroom. Although not our purpose, this room is fully wheel chair accessible, as is the whole "resort". Everything was up to date, including the SmartTV in our room! The pool area was well designed and the grounds perfect for our two pups who had plenty of room to run. Our evening was topped off by the best Italian dinner I have had outside of Italy - truly amazing and leaving me craving more. My husband and I actually talked about visiting Hotel Luisiana for dinner only anytime we head to San Jose for shopping. To top it all off, 15 - 20 minutes from the airport.

1 night in a beautiful king size room, 2 dogs and an amazing dinner for 2 . . . $120! Exceptional value!

Thank you Ivan and staff for creating such a wonderful experience. I must note, the personal letter on arrival provided the finishing touch to a great stay. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you have dogs, ground floor rooms are the best. Rooms in the courtyard are quieter. Saturday ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
4.2 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#28 of 83 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
6.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 83 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing