We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds are like a dream......”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place was great! I got some of the best sleep here that I got in my whole 2 months trip. The beds are super comfortable. It was nice to have a kitchenette to keep costs down. This place was conveniently located close to the hwy, tons of restaurants, grocery store, and airport. We ended up staying here twice on two different excursions. My only complaint is that they have a secure parking lot (which is great..), but I had to get out of the car every time we wanted to leave and walk through the lobby, where someone is staring at a security camera monitoring screen and they always knew we were there, so why not just hit the button anyway and open the gate... That seems pretty lazy of me, but it would have improved my stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013
Google Translation

estamada huespede
sorry por el manejo de las camara de seguridad ! tratamo de abrir solo en el caso que estamos seguro que un huespede registrado , yo se que la seguridad alta a veces molesta , pero' es para el biene estar de los huspedes mismo...............
mucha gracias por tan buen commentario!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 998 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Louisiana at the back end of our trip to Costa Rica. We wanted something that was nice, close to the airport and close to Hwy 27, the pay road to the beach. This hotel matched all of these criteria very nicely. We stayed with our daughter in one of the studio apartments that had a nice balcony overlooking the valley with mountain views. We thought that the room, the pool and the price were very good and it was overall a very good value.
The only negative that I have was the customer service at the front desk. They were completely non-interested in answering or helping me with the questions I had. Some of the printed information in the room was not correct and when this was pointed out, they did not attempt to correct it or even to explain it. When asking about directions and a place to get something to eat, it was more of the same, non-helpful and disinterested. The lady obviously had more important things to do then help us with our questions.
In the end I would recommend the hotel as it really is nice, well placed and a good value. I would however recommend that the management work with the staff to help them provide a better customer experience.

Room Tip: There is no coffee in the rooms, so you have to go to the front desk to get it. If you stay in one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013
Google Translation

estimado senor Garret , gracias para su commentario.
la recepcionista que la atendio fue rebeca ..........
y a mis preguntas sobre este caso , asi me contesto'

"De todas las preguntas que este pax hizo se le dio una respuesta. Fueron 4 preguntas sobre la informacion de la sombrilla a lo cual se le explico que ya se habian sacado, que era un error que estuviera la hoja en la habitacion y que lo corregiriamos inmediatamente, sobre el desayuno, tambien sobre el late check out y lo ultimo fue que por donde podia llegar al centro )el queria irse con la nina y la esposa por el lado donde esta la contruccion abandonada) yo le ssugeri que se fuera por en frente ya que era mas transitado y que por el lado de la cruz roja encontraria varios restaurantes, cuando le respondi la ultima pregunta me dijo, bueno yo creo que esas serian todas las preguntas que tengo, tomo a la nina y me dijo gracias. Despues de un rato salio a caminar con su esposa y su hija y se despideron al salir, luego cuando regresaron volvieron a saludar y ya cuando hicieron check out luego de las 11 am (a lo que nos se les dijo nada, solo los esperamos) se quejaron con Ron Amauri de la decepcion que sentian por que yo no les di un buen customer service, la verdad no se que fue lo que hice mal o lo que no le gusto al pax de mi."

asi que ella trato a lo maximo de su esfuerzo , me gustaria saber mas del tema con un correo privado para poder resolver sus problemas ...............

un saludo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having a home in Costa Rica, I visit 3 - 4 times per year, always with my dogs. Flights in and out traditionally arrive very late or depart very early making the 2 hour drive to/from our home challenging at times. Until now, I have been staying at a major brand hotel because they were dog friendly for 3-4x the price of this gem. What an amazing boutique hotel.

I was at first reluctant - normally what is advertised as too good to be true is exactly that - too good to be true. Not in this case. The lobby on arrival is almost as inviting as the staff. The rooms are more than just comfortable - they are tastefully decorated, clean and equally inviting. We rented room 4 with a king size bed and exceptionally large bathroom. Although not our purpose, this room is fully wheel chair accessible, as is the whole "resort". Everything was up to date, including the SmartTV in our room! The pool area was well designed and the grounds perfect for our two pups who had plenty of room to run. Our evening was topped off by the best Italian dinner I have had outside of Italy - truly amazing and leaving me craving more. My husband and I actually talked about visiting Hotel Luisiana for dinner only anytime we head to San Jose for shopping. To top it all off, 15 - 20 minutes from the airport.

1 night in a beautiful king size room, 2 dogs and an amazing dinner for 2 . . . $120! Exceptional value!

Thank you Ivan and staff for creating such a wonderful experience. I must note, the personal letter on arrival provided the finishing touch to a great stay. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you have dogs, ground floor rooms are the best. Rooms in the courtyard are quieter. Saturday ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for one night upon arriving in Costa Rica. Very nice nights sleep. The third floor room and bathroom were very spacious. The room was stocked with cold reasonably priced wine in the fridge. The TV offered Netflix! The coffee in the lobby was the best coffee we had while in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: You will need a GPS to find this hotel and for that matter, anything in Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NancyC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is my first review ever - Luisiana are quite simply above and beyond what you expect in a hotel! I have been staying here 10+ times and it is my absolute preferred option in/around San Jose. Their rooms are immaculately clean, spacious (especially rooms 1-4), lovely sheets, the rate is more than reasonable (especially on Expedia or similar) and the staff are incredibly helpful. Food from the restaurant is also good and if you have a rate including breakfast, you will not be disappointed. Even ordered the prepaid breakfast as room service for an extra $2 and although my kids are 2 and 4, they also received the full breakfast (choice from 4) plus fruit, toast and orange juice. I've been meaning to write this review before, and finally did because again they were incredibly helpful. My kids had been playing with their new toys outside the room and of course I forgot them. The staff confirmed they were not in the room, but when I asked them to look outside in between the plants, they promptly searched very well and actually found them! They contacted me, offered to store them and then I had a friend pick them up. All in all every experience is above and beyond. Get a 4 star hotel for a 2-3 star price!

Room Tip: Ground floor access rooms with kitchen (rooms 1-4) are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I used the hotel twice on my recent trip to Costa Rica
On arrival I booked the kitchen suites which were average ,but on return I used the deluxe suites rooms which were far roomier also larger and more comfortable
The service at the front desk is averagely helpful and somewhat minimalist in
They are reluctant to go the extra mile
The restaurant services are good but prices are far more expensive compared to restaurants nearby
The appointments in the rooms are tasteful and the hotel does exude a villa like feel with the terraces and the rambling vines on the walls

Room Tip: Always chose deluxe rooms they are more sumptuous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel was perfect for what we needed! We stayed here twice - once the night we flew in and once the night before we flew out of San Jose. Very simple to get to, about 15-20 mins from the airport. It was about a $23 (11,500 colones) cab ride to the hotel from the airport, but the hotel will transport you back to the airport for only $20 - which you pay at the front desk before leaving. They did ask for a $100 deposit upon arrival. If you are only staying for one night, I recommend having cash. Otherwise it takes at least 48 hours to get the $$ credited back to your card. The beds were fantastic. Super comfy after a much needed week in hostels!! The water is warm. The food in the restaurant is great! No complaints here!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $34 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing