We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice clean room with no bugs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Nice clean room with no bugs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were treated quite well by all the staff we met. Most importantly was the clean room and overall pleasant atmosphere.

We were a bit surprised by the lack of drinking glasses for brushing our teeth, and no toilet paper dispenser.

The free wifi and in room Google internet/tv availablility was so user friendly, what a concept.

Also this was the first hotel stay anywhere that required us to pay for the schuttle ride to the airport, however, it was on time even though it was at 3:30 am.

We strongly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Book online and get the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FrankJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
dear customer thank you for your feedback , sorry for the glass , not a lot of client use , but the next time ask to recepcion , we customize your amenities !
sorry for the toilet paper dispenser , we need to put , i go to improve that so quicly !
thanks for your feedbak !
i apreciate it !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    299
    82
    21
    38
See reviews for
192
355
102
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is in the middle of nowhere, so don't go looking for it by yourself. I've been traveling around Costa Rica for the past 6 weeks. This is by far the worst service I have ever gotten at a hotel. The front desk was rude, noisy and came peeking through my window. Later, when I called and asked for ice, the front desk was rude but brought me some ice. Upon, taking to the guy who brought it, he just gave me the creeps even more. Then tried to add me on facebook when I didn't even give him my name.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank julieadams89149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
dear customer o dear kirby Adams for stay more exactly..
thanks for you feedback , but i think you write this medium bad comment for what happens after your check in .....
you reserve hotel luisiana in www.expedia.com for 2 customer , and when the recepcionist ( employed ) arrived for bring you some ice , he see 5 people in the rooms , and i so sorry but you need to pay for the other 3 extra pax ..........the recepcionist tell you only that need to charge for the extra pax , and this is only what he do..............
so sorry but is no possible to stay 5 and pay only for 2 .
the next time , when you came back , because you came back every months , so please try to declare all the people that are coming with you , please !
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We started our Costa Rica vacation off by staying in this hotel. It is beautifully decorated and clean and the free coffee is some of the best that we've ever had! It was pouring rain when we were here and the staff let us borrow an umbrella. The staff is sooooo nice and they helped us get a great car rental and were very helpful in answering all of our questions... Even late at night! The rooms are very nice and the bed was so comfortable. There is not much to do within walking distance but other than that, We'd totally recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Two of us stayed here for the first 2 nights of a 10-day visit to Costa Rica. The location was convenient to the airport without being too close. The area is semi-residential, but there is a large Avalon apartment building going up near the back of the property. Though the construction can be seen & heard, the sound is more of a constant din than the rattling noise of most construction sites.
The room was quite large, with 2 Queen beds, an armoire with a small safe (free), REAL hangers, and an iron. There is no coffee maker in the room but that was OK because the lobby offers coffee 24 hrs. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Their English is very good, too. We had a security concern one night & the staff attended to it quickly & thoroughly. Turned out to be an inebriated hotel guest. The staff took care of the situation diplomatically so that neither party was embarrassed.
The meals were of perfect proportions - not huge, nor skimpy. For breakfast, there are 3 options: American - scrambled or fried eggs, toast with butter and jelly, fresh cut fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice & coffee; Continental - toast with butter & jelly, fresh cut fruit, fresh squeezed oj, & coffee; Italian - fresh cut fruit, fresh squeezed oj, cappuccino or espresso & croissant with Nutella.
Dinner choices were numerous and varied. The 4 entrees we selected were delicious. Pumpkin ravioli with Alfredo sauce (can opt for mushroom sauce instead), penne with salmon in Alfredo sauce, linguine with white clam (from Chile) sauce, and penne Gorgonzola. Everything was fresh. It was difficult to make choices from the menu.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DXRtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Luisiana for our first night in Costa Rica after we arrived into the San Jose airport. The location is close to the airport and very safe. The staff are awesome! Very helpful, bilingual, and friendly. The rooms are clean, we'll equipped, and the beds are comfortable. We enjoyed a cheap but tasty bottle of wine offered in the room and nestled right in. It was the perfect way to rest in preparation for our roughing it travels ahead. Oh and the rates are super reasonable!! Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandavt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We checked in for only a night as our flight into San Jose arrived late in the evening. It was surprisingly pleasant accommodations with a large king size bed and much to our delight, Google TV and a couple bottles of wine waiting in the room! The front desk was very friendly as well. The only disappointment was the breakfast on the way out of the hotel. It was only okay, with the orange juice tasting a little sulfur-like. Don't be intimidated by the modest appearance from the outside, the accommodations were very clean and much appreciated after a long flight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, Costa Rica.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've been traveling around Costa Rica for a while and this is by far one of the best hotels. Great location about 15 minutes to the airport and the main cities of san jose, escazu and santa ana but even better only a mile to the main road to the central pacific beaches. we took one of the mid range bedrooms and we have an online google tv flat screen with cable and netflix, a/c, hot shower, king size bed and an apple computer with internet access in the room. first thing you'll find when you walk in the room is a warm welcome letter from the owner giving you his email and contact in case you have any inconvenience. A comfortable beautiful hotel, nicely furnished and even better located. And I am a real customer, I'm just gladly surprised.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with numero 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourism_reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
4.2 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#28 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing