We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband, 12 year old daughter and I stayed at Hotel Luisiana during the first and last night of our vacation in Costa Rica. The rates are very affordable and the room was spacious and clean. The front desk staff Ronald was very kind and accommodating as were the other staff we met. We had a wonderful dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night. The pumpkin ravioli in mushroom sauce was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was also great and came with fresh cut watermelon and pineapple. The coffee was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for good value and good service. The beds were very comfortable as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliem09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    307
    86
    24
    44
See reviews for
202
365
104
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is a 20-minute cab ride from the San Jose airport and offers the comfort and safety of being so.

The hotel and grounds are architecturally beautiful, designed by its Italian owner. Wi-fi and phone calls to the US are free.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was here in March 2013 and I absolutely loved staying at the Hotel Louisiana; it's location was very convenient for taking the bus to the Multi Plaza or to downtown San Jose; it was just as nice to be in the Santa Ana area and to be able to walk to the grocery store or a nice restaurant; the rooms at the Hotel Louisiana were very clean and the beds were comfortable; the staff were very friendly and helpful; was also a real bonus to have HOT showers - what a treat; AND, to have free Netflix AND free international calls; the pool area was very pleasant and even though it was not heated, it warmed up nicely on a hot day which made a dip very refreshing; my favourite part; however, was relaxing on the big covered veranda with the warm breeze and listening to the Cicadas in the evenings; my only disappointment was that there was no Costa Rican breakfast fare; I didn't really care for any of the breakfast items but did enjoy the Italian dinner which was very good; a clothes line in the shower, hooks for hanging towels in the bathroom and a few kitchen items like more bowls, cutlery and cups, instead of demi-tasse cups with no cappuccino maker, would have made the kitchen a little more functional; have been to Costa Rica 3 times for dental work and always stayed right in San Jose; staying at the Hotel Louisiana made this 3rd trip a lot more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stay in the side with the veranda facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviews4All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Luisiana (for the 2nd time) and the rooms were nice and clean. Dinner was kind of expensive but good.
The only thing we didn't like were that the 2 guys at the reception (at evening/night) could have been friendlier as in 1 case they didn´t even look at my husband making them some questions. The lady working the next morning was nice tough.
It is kind of far away from the airport if you are looking for a close place and a taxi is 20$. Or by car you need to know how to get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheboards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in that hotel in April 2011 to make a stop in our way to San Jose. The hotel is very nice and cozy. The room was amazing and has everything you need for a perfect vacation. Furthermore, the bed was very confortable. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking a fantastic experience in Santa Anda.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank iarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent place, clean, cozzy and cheap if you book it on Expedia the price is even better! We enjoyed are stay since the very beginning, I liked the playground and the pool!It is my favorite place to stay in San José. Easy to get everything around, a beautiful park to go running, right between Downtown and Escazu it's the perfect place to stay when you need to do some shopping, or simply to have a good rest after an airport arrival or before you go on a trip in Costa Rica.
There are different kind of rooms, very good beds, tv, wifi. Easy to get there, supermarket and restaurants close to the hotel, beautiful park to go running, right between Downtown and Escazu it's the perfect place to stay when you need to do some shopping, or simply to have a good rest after an airport arrival or before you go on a trip in Costa Rica.
There are different kind of rooms, very good beds, equipped kitchen, tv, wifi.
I believe price/quality this is definitely one of the best hotels in Costa Rica!
I believe price/quality this is definitely one of the best hotels in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mia0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went there on our last day in CR. It was a good surprise: very reasonable price, confort, very competent staff, clean, etc. I do recommend it highly. The owner left a letter in the room saying who he was and so on. Quite nicel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
6.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing