We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not great”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is located close to the airport so I would say it could be an apotion for the first night if you arrive on a late flight. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable but very noisy. We stayed 2 nights and from 4am we could not sleep due to the noise above, I don't know if they were renovating but it sounded like they were moving furnitures non-stop for a couple of hours and this was 2 nights in a row. I had booked 2 more nights at the end of our trip that I cancelled due to the noise. There is absolutely nothing to do in Santa Ana, the hotel has a car which can take you pretty much everywhere at reasonable cost.
The swimming pool has no sunloungers so the only option is to put your towel on the grass.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a bedroom upstairs, you may have less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marinesab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013
Google Translation

estimado huespedes estoy muy apenado de que hubo ruido ese dias , seguro era la habitacion del segundo piso que hospedaba jovenes de una universidad , la proxima vez le pido avisar a recepcion que esta abierta 24H para reportarlo , y asi poder parar con el ruido que era puramente casual . gracias para el comentario sobre los amenities de la piscina , con su comentario y otro de otros huespede me estimulo' a comprar mas silla para tomar el sol , ahora tenemos varias .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Luisiana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 995 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hello readers, I just got back from Costa Rica on a week long vacation and stayed here for the entire 6 nights. This review is from my first hand experience of this property. To start, yes before booking my reservations, I did look here (on tripadvisor), so I appreciate the many others reviews in making my decision. Here we go...

First impressions: Yes after getting my car at the rental I drove straight here. True, you will be driving through many business and residential streets. Note, this is just outside of San Jose to the west (Santa Ana area) so you wont have the city hustle and crowding. As previous reader indicated many hotels will pop up in residential areas. I doubt CR has strict "zoning" requirements like the US, so expect anything. The street in which this property resides are narrow and has construction on the roads. So be cautious (tip: painted speed bumps have faded so keep it slow). Upon arrival, the hotel is like a walled compound (gated to get in and out...but don't worry, every local hotel I've seen are similar in practice). Anyways, you pull up and you wil notice the property is cottage like. I really liked it.

Check in - the lobby was small and charming, as well as the staff being attentive and courteous to get me settled in. A staff member will walk you to your room and explain everything in the room. Btw, the all the staff speak good English. Very helpful and available 24x7.

Parking is within the walls, so be assured your car is safe. The reception has to let you in and out of the property...just like your garage door opener (no automatic sensors to open if you want to get out). This is good, it helps keep track of what comes in and out of the property. Security of the guests and their belonging are high.

Room. I was in room 5 (single room with kitchenette). I really liked the clean feeling yet simple and nice. And NO CARPETs . fantastic!!. I hate carpetting...yuck.

Bed: OMG, it is so comfortable. I felt like I was sleeping on clouds...soft and fluffy!. If you like a firm bed, this probably will not work for you. Sorry.

Bathroom is ALL tile - literally. You get many towels, hair dryer, and the usual mini shampoo and soaps. The shower stall is walk in (no doors). However, it may be just my room, but the shower water pressure is weak...almost like a soft waterfall effect. I assumed because it had no doors, a strong flow may get all over the rest of the bathroom. I don't know, this was just a comment.

Amenities: Queen bed with comforter (changed out every two days). Desk with a eMac...but if you have your own laptop, high speed wireless access points are all over the place...so signal quality is good. Kitchette has small sink, microwave, dishes/utencils, mini fridge, dining table w/4 chairs. 37" (or 32") flat screen sony TV with Google TV. And FREE local and US # calling - phone system is VOIP.

If in the original buidling, you will have a huge front deck (second floor) With wicker sitting chairs and table. Over looks the parking lot and pool. Great for morning coffee (free in lobby 24x7) and relaxing. The other wing (new and about 1 year old) has smaller deck but similar in function.

Onsite restaurant has good food. The menu is predominantly Italian, but has some Costa Rican influenced items. Enjoy. Though for the wine selection, they have mostly reds. Kind of off balance on pairing as most of the menu items offer poultry (seafood and chicken). Buy a bottle and take back to your room for a relaxing evening, nonetheless.

Overall, the location is good, as it made my road trips to the Pacific coast and sites very easy (no San Jose traffic and congestion). Access to highway 27 quick and easy. Oh, Santa Ana has almost no crime...very safe. San Jose on the other hand...is the opposite.

Enjoy. If you have questions, let me know

Room Tip: All offer the same quality. All walls are concrete so inter room noise is almost non existent.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XplorerMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was very clean and looked almost new. Beds were very comfortable. Kind of a weird place for a nice hotel in the middle of a residential area. But good security and friendly staff.

Room Tip: There is a resturant at the end of the street that had really good food.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3DogMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My fiance [Costa Rican] and I stayed there for 8 days [December 17-26] with my parents. It was there first time in Costa Rica and my mother has high expectations of cleanliness, so when choosing a hotel I had to make sure it was clean. Reading previous comments I thought this place would be perfect. The rooms are amazing, we had rooms 6 [kitchen suite] and 7.. not sure what it was but it came with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on king sized bed, plus another little 'bed' which we just used as a couch. The bathrooms were soo nice, more than I expected. very clean. We spent everyday by the pool as there wasn';t really much people.. surprising for the 'High season' .. I think most people were gone throughout the day doing day trips and at night would return as it seemed more busy then.. Our trip was excellent and we would definetly return. Oh and it's not too far from the airport which is a plus! and very close to one main strip with restaurants, mini putt, grocery stores etc. I would just beware of the strip friday nights dinner time..

Pros... -Huge bedroom/bed/bathroom very clean
-Close to airport
-staff was really nice [not like some of these reviews say?]
-lots of parking
-kitchen suite had everything we needed to make our meals.

cons -security gate, we always had to honk/use the doorbell and sometimes they wouldn't hear so we would have to get out and go the reception and tell them [not a big deal]
- only 1 patio set w/ 4 chairs by pool... they definitely need more
- maybe more landscaping behind the pool area, the grass was pretty dead.. oh well.

oh and pool was freeeeeeezing everyday. which is sometimes nice because it get's pretty hot

Room Tip: Room on the 2nd floor, one the reception side, facing the pool/mountain.. really nice , each room ha...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpete17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My fiancé and I absolutely love this place. As long as its available, we stay there every time we are in the area. The rooms are clean, cozy, and beautifully decorated. The beds are comfortable, the smart TVs and wifi are a nice touch, and the bathrooms are spacious and clean. We won't stay anywhere else -especially at that price!

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms with only one bed, they feel more spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Trisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for only one night before we head to nicoya and we were impressed. the hotel is very pretty and the room was so big and clean. plus it had cool ammenities, such as a nice decoration, a good TV, free wifi and even a computer in the room. what surprised us was that the hotel rates were cheaper than most of the other places we looked into, so we expected something way smaller and kinda tacky. Thumbs up! I wish I had gotten there earlier in the day, so I could've enjoyed the pool and outside area...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmmtrippingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

After spending 6 hours traveling a very cramped bus, and 3 hours standing in the hot sun to cross the border we were exhausted. I started to have doubts that the room we had booked would be comfortable because of the fantastic deal I had gotten on a last-minute reservation. However we were so impressed when we arrived! This hotel is fairly small, but it is bright, charming and impeccably clean. It had modern features such as air-conditioning and cable band the hotel added some nice touches such as an umbrella, fancy toilet paper art and two different bottles of wine in case we were thirsty. We didn't have to leave the hotel all night because the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced, and my boyfriend's desire for a beer was satisfied in the on-site vending machine. Thank goodness for a Costa Rica hotel that was quiet and had high-pressure hot water! It took $20 to have the hotel's private car drop us at SJO, but we really enjoyed the driver's company. The only minor downsides; we were confused by the menu, thinking that our meals should have included pasta with our meat and salad choices. Penne al salmone seems like it should include penne...and our toilet handle was kind of broken (room #9). Very happy with the comfort, style and value over all!

Room Tip: Stay away from the staircase in order to avoid waking up to carts or luggage being dragged down the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
575 reviews
4.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $32 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing