We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in a cozy spot”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I enjoyed 10 days at this small hotel. Prices are reasonable (if you book via third party). The location is good as its pretty close to the heart of Escazu/Santa Ana areas and doesn't take long to get through town. Complimentary coffee and the internet setup is nice. Pool and facilities also clean and cozy. You may find some ants here and there but this is what you get anywhere in Costa Rica really.

I did observe some weird behavior. I had to put a $100 CC deposit down which was returned at checkout. I oversaw an American couple get billed $400+ for the same deposit, which seemed strange. A couple of other small things made me think there were others with bad experiences here, but personally I had no issues. The kids even broke a table and a bed and they didn't charge extra for it which was rather accommodating as it seemed well within their right to do so at the time.

The only meal I ate at the hotel was breakfast, which was fine. Nothing special, but a passable version of variations of bacon/ham/eggs/cereals/toasts/juices/fruits.

Overall, while there was some reason to believe the staff might give you trouble over certain things, my experience was pleasant and accommodating and I wouldn't be too hesitant to recommend this hotel. Pretty nice!

Room Tip: book via third party - booking through the hotel will cost you 40% more! And unless you plan to cook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

100% stay at this hotel.

The prices are very reasonable, and the staff are very friendly. The wireless is good in the bedrooms, and the best was very comfortable. Well worth the money.

There is free coffee in the reception area, and a shuttle can be organised to take you to the airport at any time of the day or night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurerSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Luisiana at the beginning and end of our recent trip to Costa Rica. The first time we stayed in a great King suite with an excellent bathroom (Room 6). The next time we stayed in a room with two queen beds (room 26). If I had a choice, I'd always stay in Room 6, but the hotel is really nice and secure. Very clean and the staff is extremely helpful. If you need a place to stay that is close to the airport, trust Hotel Luisiana.

Room Tip: Try rooms that have a King suite; we liked Room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We decided to stay in Santa Ana our first two nights in Costa Rica. We did not want to be in San Jose, as it did not have much to offer us. This hotel was a GREAT price, much cheaper than any airport or downtown hotel. The television is great and the free long distance calls are great as well. The staff is helpful and kind. The only downside is that the meals are a bit expensive at the hotel, probably best to include your meals with your rental. Just down the road from the hotel is a Soda called Rancho de Lally. I would MOST DEF. recommend this restaurant to anyone staying at this hotel. All in all, great place to stay on a budge with all the conveniences needed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesusCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have visited this hotel a few times now and have never been disappointed. However this visit there were just a couple of small details that could be improved. The curtain on the kitchenette window kept falling down, could not open or close it. The coffee was a bit stale and used to taste much better. The only other detail is the entering and leaving of the parking lot. We realize secuity is important but each departure and arrival required that I go inside to the desk to ask someone to open or close the gate. Otherwise the pool was terrific and clean, the service staff was excellent and of course, the other perks with this hotel are fabulous. Great location really helps, easy access to Santa Ana.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanneflug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Rooms are at $40 per night if booked thru Expedia. Otherwise, you will pay double, or more. The rooms are spacious, super clean and comfortable. Mine included a kitchenette which is perfect for any type of extended stay. Great strong, hot and large shower! Tons of movies, including Netflix included with the room. There is a nice swimming pool, as well. Situated 10-15 minutes from the airport and in Santa Ana, which is loaded with restaurants, cafes, shops, etc.
Free coffee in the lobby. (Breakfast was expensive, so I passed and can't evaluate the quality, but, it did not appear to be anything special).

Room Tip: I had Room #1 which is more spacious and included the kitchenette (small fridge, two burner stove, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, after arriving in San Jose. The hotel is located close by the airport and offers great value for the price. The room was neat and clean, the furnishing very modern and new. It's a great place to stay for a few nights if you are planning to travel to the Pacific coast as it is located close enough to the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damtodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
2 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $36 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing