We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the Price”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel for the Price”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Luisiana at the beginning and end of our recent trip to Costa Rica. The first time we stayed in a great King suite with an excellent bathroom (Room 6). The next time we stayed in a room with two queen beds (room 26). If I had a choice, I'd always stay in Room 6, but the hotel is really nice and secure. Very clean and the staff is extremely helpful. If you need a place to stay that is close to the airport, trust Hotel Luisiana.

Room Tip: Try rooms that have a King suite; we liked Room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    313
    90
    25
    48
See reviews for
212
372
108
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We decided to stay in Santa Ana our first two nights in Costa Rica. We did not want to be in San Jose, as it did not have much to offer us. This hotel was a GREAT price, much cheaper than any airport or downtown hotel. The television is great and the free long distance calls are great as well. The staff is helpful and kind. The only downside is that the meals are a bit expensive at the hotel, probably best to include your meals with your rental. Just down the road from the hotel is a Soda called Rancho de Lally. I would MOST DEF. recommend this restaurant to anyone staying at this hotel. All in all, great place to stay on a budge with all the conveniences needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesusCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have visited this hotel a few times now and have never been disappointed. However this visit there were just a couple of small details that could be improved. The curtain on the kitchenette window kept falling down, could not open or close it. The coffee was a bit stale and used to taste much better. The only other detail is the entering and leaving of the parking lot. We realize secuity is important but each departure and arrival required that I go inside to the desk to ask someone to open or close the gate. Otherwise the pool was terrific and clean, the service staff was excellent and of course, the other perks with this hotel are fabulous. Great location really helps, easy access to Santa Ana.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanneflug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Rooms are at $40 per night if booked thru Expedia. Otherwise, you will pay double, or more. The rooms are spacious, super clean and comfortable. Mine included a kitchenette which is perfect for any type of extended stay. Great strong, hot and large shower! Tons of movies, including Netflix included with the room. There is a nice swimming pool, as well. Situated 10-15 minutes from the airport and in Santa Ana, which is loaded with restaurants, cafes, shops, etc.
Free coffee in the lobby. (Breakfast was expensive, so I passed and can't evaluate the quality, but, it did not appear to be anything special).

Room Tip: I had Room #1 which is more spacious and included the kitchenette (small fridge, two burner stove, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, after arriving in San Jose. The hotel is located close by the airport and offers great value for the price. The room was neat and clean, the furnishing very modern and new. It's a great place to stay for a few nights if you are planning to travel to the Pacific coast as it is located close enough to the highway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damtodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our stay was off-season (end of July – beginning of August 2012)
Sunrise approx 5:15AM - Sunset approx 6:30PM

I REALLY like Hotel Luisiana and would stay there again. It’s very modern and comfortable. There’s no big ‘view’ but when you’re sitting on the balcony or by the pool you can see the beautiful hills of SanJose. It’s so nice just to sit in the open air there. The staff is VERY helpful (information, directions, due to our limited Spanish (it’s bad by any standard and we’d both studied Spanish as some point) they even helped us with the date/time of an important appointment we’d made)

Pros: Location, wi-fi, tv (including Netflix), free int’l calls, air, secured parking, pool, comfortable pool, bi-lingual staff, helpful staff, refrigerator in room, restaurant (not 24-hours), very nicely decorated, nicely kept and landscaped grounds, quaint, small swing/slide for children, pool as shallow as 6 inches and as deep as 5 feet or so, quiet neighborhood in Santa Ana, local bar a couple blocks away seemed to get a nice crowd on weekends but we didn’t make it there.

Cons: No gallo pinto for breakfast (not much of a ‘con’, is it)

Where we ate/drank: Hotel Luisana, Bagelmen’s, Taco Bar, Aloft (W Hotel bar), Jazz Café, La Princesa Marina

I love Costa Rica. It’s a beautiful place with friendly people and LOTS to see. You can spend as much or as little as you want on the trip.

A few tips:
Gratuity: A 10% tip is built into most restaurant tabs but feel free to leave a little extra if you like the service

Take with you: GPS or rent when you arrive, a pocket flashlight; a couple pens, have plenty singles unless you’re going to use Colones, a pocket translation dictionary or have a program ready; when leaving CR you have to pay $28 departure tax so have some money or a credit card ready at the airport

Smart Tourist: Let your credit card company know you’re leaving the country; don’t leave anything visible in your car; look into the car rental situation – on our last trip everyone forced the basic insurance on us (that didn’t happen on a past trip); for rural areas 4-wheel drive or a small SUV may come in handy as some of the roads are rough but many/most are fine; no problem charging electronics without a converter; parts of the country are malaria zones; we were able to make calls home through Google Talk/Vonage on our phone even though we didn’t have phone service; Verizon currently does not have service in CR and they will dump your voicemail/texts from their server if you’re out of their service area for more than 3 day for voice and 6 days for text

Room Tip: Most rooms are along the balcony or lower level patio, but there are also rooms with no balcony seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoMariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is awesome, the only thing that we had a problem with was when we were trying to sleep something kept banging against the wall on the other side of the bathroom, and we couldn't go to sleep, so we finally complained, and after about 30 minutes of waiting they gave us a new room. The rooms were clean and comfy. Did not like the food in the restaurant, and getting through the gate to park your car is kind of hard. But besides all of that the experience was great, and the hotel owner even gave us our money back, every last cent.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the second floor all the way on the right when facing the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbyy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
557 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
561 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 77 in San Jose
288 reviews
4.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing