We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Studio Hotel(Santa Ana)
$77
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$91
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Los Candiles(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Nena(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Canyon Inn(Santa Ana)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Canal Grande(Santa Ana)(Great Value!)
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alta Vista(Santa Ana)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveler rating
583
350
98
29
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
350
98
29
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecosta ricahotel louisianasecure parkinglow priceclose to the airportnice poolrental cargrocery storerooms are spacioushidden gemlast nightpura vidanetflixinternettaxigate
Filter
Updating list...
768 - 773 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Luisiana for two nights at the beginning of our trip. The room was really spacious and clean. It came with one King bed and a twin bed. We had to ask for another cot to accommodate our other child (even though we let them know there would be four of us). We had a rental car and had no problem finding the hotel using our GPS. I don't know how you could assume that this is close to the airport, however, admittedly we took a round about way to get there.

The hotel is in a residential neighborhood and nowhere near places to eat without a car. We ordered from the hotel the first night. The server was excellent, however, it took an exceptionally long time to get our food and we faced a bit of sticker shock with the bill. They add in the gratuity and hotel service fee. The food was so so and really not very good. If you have a rental car it's only a short drive down a main road to a long line of restaurants, Rosti Pollo, Wendy's, etc. There is also a grocery store and ice cream place. Highly recommend going out to eat if possible or bringing food to cook in the small kitchen. They do stock the fridge with bottled water and Imperial beer, but the charges are high compared to just buying it.

The biggest downside to staying here was the lack of things to do. We felt like we were just biding our time until we could leave. The pool is not finished and as of this review looks like it has another couple of months to go. Once it is finished it looks like it will be nice and will make staying here that much better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeinseak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

dear customer thanks for your feedback , it's very important for me to understand whats happens in my hotel ! first of all with connect 1 week ago 11 rooms and it's a very hard job to upgrade the staff the operation and more.
Hotel luisiana is situated only at 5 miles from the airport , you can see when landing !!! but on the way you need 6 miles for arrive ( there is a very small street around the airport fens ! and 8 miles form hotel luisiana to the airport for the one way street !!
the restaurant bill included 10% law gratuity !! is the the costa rica law sorry for that !
for your feedback about the beer or soda cost we charge 2 $ for a beer direct served and cooled in your rooms , i think is not a big money , outside in a supermarket cost 1,4 $ !!!!
i'm realy sorry if you don't like our food , but please the next time call me !! every guest have my email in the room ! and i answer form my cell immediatly !!!
because in same case we can change food or test something else !!!
the pool is not finish because in under costructions but when you buy the hotel you buy without pool because we don't have pool in any web site , sorry for that , we need more time for finish the pool !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed one night at this new hotel and was disappointed. Wouldn't return.

The only way to find the place is to try to make sense of a poorly executed sign at a busy intersection, in a country where addresses and street signs are virtually non-existant. No address to plug in to Garmin, nor was the hotel listed in the newest version of Garmin. No address on the hotel letterhead/stationery. Bad start, drove every street in the area! Room was on third floor, Euro-minimalist. AC did not cool, had to change rooms. Discovered at 10 p.m. we could not turn on the shower, the faucet part was so loose we were afraid to pull as hard as it turned out, we needed to do to get water. Went without. Staff tried to help, but really came off as unprofessional and clueless over the quality of the physical building. It appears that the owner got ripped off as far as the quality of construction, finishing of the rooms, etc. Reception looked like it was set up that morning, but maybe that is their idea of Euro chic.

On the positive side, most rooms had Apple's to connect to the internet, stocked mini-bar and a bottle of cheap chianti to add ambience. The little dining room was pretty, the breakfast was very good and the menu for the dinner looked good and prices were reasonable. Good wine selection.

At the end of the day, it appeared that the owner may not have had any hotelier experience, but was trying his dream. The staff too, seemed unprepared for their jobs, thus indifferent. They did try to make things "right", but there was nothing to bring one back for a different stay.

Room Tip: Not the main or third floor. Main floor opened on the parking lot. Third was a dark, depressing corridor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXK4133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

dear customer sorry for our poorly sign in the santa ana main intersection , but in costa rica is not possible buy the law sign the intersection and we have this sign only for special according with the red cros ( we donated a motorcycle) , nobody have the size of our signal ! but some times is not sufficient !
Hotel Luisiana is listed in all the GPS map including Garmin , i think you need to upgrade your GPS.
I'm so sorry if you don't like our style ! we are listed in our web page with a lot of foto and video ! you can check before !
sorry for the air conditioned but you change the room ! i thing is a good deal for have a good air conditioned working!
our building is in concrete and the shower is PFISTER , please the next stay ask for me in person , i show you our quality and how work , sometimes the staf change and sometimes there is some people new , and this is very hard , sorry for that !!
the bottle of cheap chianti is a argentina wine the name is pequeno vassilla and is a very good wine price- quality , please try the next time !
my experience is only 5 year in the hotel business and yes is my dream !! i think is not a fault that !!
best regards and hope we can talk in front of a good bottle of wine your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here our last night in Costa Rica due to the hotels proximity to the airport (not as close as advertised) and great rate. The room was large, the large king size bed was comfy. There was an additional bed with bunks our teenage daughters stayed in, those beds were ok, not great. There was a kitchen which we did not use and an adequate, clean functional bath with shower, no tub. There was a large balcony with a view of the sketchy neighborhood. There was a computer in the room but the internet wouldn't come up on it. The Wi-fi worked ok.

Downsides: This place is pretty hard to find. We had a Tico taxi driver and he had to keep stopping for directions. The locals know where it is. When we arrived, at 8 pm tired and hungry from a long drive, we were informed that we had to pay a $100 deposit. We were supposed to know this, the front desk clerk with the snotty attitude informed us. We payed up and checked in. Then I read all the reviews about people having trouble getting their money back and slept a little less peacefully than I would have liked.

Avoid the restaurant unless you want to pay premium prices for bad food. We ordered fish and received three hard and overcooked fish stick type pieces and some french fries. Dinner for four was over $40 for the cheapest things we could find. They added on the gratuity and then made us sign a check (we were paying cash) which requested an extra tip. We didn't provide one and we were met with some pretty indifferent attitudes. The day help was nicer, and the taxi driver they provide (for an additional $20) was nice and knew his stuff. Breakfast is not included either. I guess you get what you pay for at this place. I payed the deposit in cash and got it all back in the morning. Probably the best way to do that.

Room Tip: We were in room 15. It's up one flight of stairs and has a big balcony and a separate bedroom for the kids.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovecoffee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

dear customer
thanks for explain our room 15 master kitchen suite , the next time please ask to recepción for fix the apple computer sometimes need very low manteinance for work property!
sorry for the actitudes of the staff , we need to improve this area!
the deposit is due for the hotel policy and when you buy your rooms in internet you sign and approve the policy , sorry for that some internet page where is possible buy the hotel have a small letters in the contract to subscribe but is not our fault !
sorry for the waiter actitudes was fired for that !!!
our food i think is cheaper for the costa rica price of food! but please the next time ask for me in person for help you for the food and everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed for one night as we arrived late to San Jose.
Rooms are very clean.
They did have older Mac computers in our room but It did not get safari for me!
I called front desk and was told to use the complicated TV.
Clean and nice hotel with a pricey breakfast

Room Tip: Any room here will be good!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hairsone4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

dear customer thanks for this feedback
every apple computer have safari , i think was a problem on that pc , please the next time ask to reception for change or fix !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We flew into San Jose late and had a shuttle early the next morning, so I booked it for the price (only there for 6 hours). It was great though! I loved the Santa Ana area. Cheap enough cab ride, but we felt safe in the area, the deck was beautiful (more of a patio than a balcony), and the staff was on-time with the wake-up call and called a taxi to our shuttle. The shuttle company didn't run to the smaller hotels, but the $4 cab ride was not a deterrent. The room was great, and the mini-bar was reasonable. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

dear customer thank for this great feedback !
is a pleasure to serve you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews