We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to start or end your vacation”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Bronx, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good place to start or end your vacation”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Great location, not far from the San Jose airport. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are very clean, spacious and equipped with an apple desktop with hi speed internet, AC, a refrigerator, sufficient closet place, an umbrella, a bottle of wine ($16) and snacks. There is a beautiful balcony in the property with deck chairs and tables for you to relax the early sunrise or the quiet night. (Do plan on using bug spray if you are sitting at night, as there can be few mosquitoes or flies). The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They arranged us transportation to drop us off in the Arenal region which was our next stop. They have a good car service which provides airport drop-off and pick up and also transportation to anywhere else in the country. The restaurant in the hotel is decent, may be a little pricey for Costa Rica standards. They provide a cooked to order breakfast which is complimentary as well. The overall experience in this hotel is very satisfactory and I will not hesitate to come back to this place if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayTua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    313
    90
    25
    48
See reviews for
212
372
108
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here at either end of our anniversary trip to Costa Rica. The price was extremely good, especially for the last night of the trip. We were very impressed by the cleanliness, decor, and helpful staff, and the taxi ride from the airport was about 20 minutes or so. The first night, we stayed in Room 6, which was beautiful: comfy king-size bed, big window, large walk-in shower and jetted tub, and huge porch outside (although some guests smoke on the porch). It felt like a honeymoon or anniversary type of room. The last night, however, we were in Room 14, which has tiny windows too high to see out of, a tiny bathroom that appears at first glance to be shared with another room (though it's not, and the other door is blocked), three steps down to enter the room, and barely any decor on the walls. It was very clean and comfortable, but merely that. As long as you know which room you're getting, the Hotel Luisiana is a great place to start and end a trip to Costa Rica.
Also, the in-room breakfast was great!

Room Tip: Room 14 is fairly bare-bones. Room 6, quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathpoet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Randall was an awesome host! All the staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was really comfortable! Great value. Everyone is nice and laid back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghoulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

i have been travelling in costa rica in differnt places,here i felt really good... and you can conbine good food ,service,price and confort all in once.it worked out really good for me ,the hotel is situated a little out of town,so is very quiet,and when i had to go to the airport to catch a flight for panama in the morning early it was easy and smooth to do it!!!nice thing after sleeping in places close to the beach,soffocating for the heat,in lousiana hotel,i had one of the best sllep ever,fresh and quiet!!!!

Room Tip: any room,is a quiet location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed a Hotel Luisina a couple of nights, very , very pleased with the hotel.
Especially the great bed and high thread count sheets- and no charge for the
computer. Plus, the value was the best we have found in CR. Had a problem with
the person that delivered our food to room, but this can happened anywhere. The manager took care of everything, and we left very happy. We are pleased we could bring our dog, because there are so few hotel in CR that allow pets. Will always stay at this hotel when we are in San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenia1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
thank you for your feedback
all the staff appreciate it, hotel luisiana is pet friendly because we love pets.
hope we see soon in your next stay!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We were welcome very nicely after a long flight and wait in airports and it was much apprecited. We loved the big, airy rooms and quality wifi connection. The room has a nice and big bed, little kitchen, nice big shower. The hotel is about 10 minutes from airport and just far enough from city noises.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Clean, comfortable, boutique type hotel with great bedding and gorgeous tiled bathroom! The perfect spot for a night or 2 after exploring the rest of CR. Difficult to find unless you use google maps and print before your trip as your GPS may not find it. Great Italian restaurant on-site with everything made to order. We loved that we had free long distance to the U.S. and a Mac computer with internet access. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
557 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
561 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 77 in San Jose
288 reviews
4.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing