We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
6
9
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
9
3
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Checked all the reviews. It was the best hotel in Wutaishan discounting the Marriot. But because the Marriot was outside the ticketed entry to the village, we were not keen. Bad mistake!

The Friendship Hotel was located perfectly. Close to the street full of restaurants, souvenir shops and local produce shops. The facade and landscaping was beautiful too. We were so hopeful and glad with our choice on first impression.

The room was dirty. Really dirty. The table had a glass top. Under the glass was clotted with mould of green brown and white.

The washbasin had a ring of black mould under the rim. So was the bathtub. Don't look too closely at the floor! Bath towels looked grey and felt grimy. Ewwweee!

Breakfast was a joke. Wutaishan is a holiday and tourist destination. When we went for breakfast at 8.50 we were told that breakfast closes at 9. The dining room was still half full and people were still drifting in.

We couldn't get a clean table (presumably because breakfast was closing) so we had to move plates aside and wipe our own table. By then it was way past 9 am.

The waitstaff all lined up at the entrance of the dining area. The cooks lined up near the entrance to the kitchen. No more service.

We were told to get as much food as possible and they will extend breakfast for a few minutes.

There was a nice staff who told a guest looking at an empty porridge pot that he'll get her some porridge. No other staff offered any help other than urging the diners to get as much food as possible.

By 9.20 they started clearing away all the food. I don't understand why they must start with clearing the food when most of the tables were piled with dirty dishes. Not only did they clear all the food, they also cleared the drinks counter. Those of us who did not take any or enough drinks were left with none. Not even water! A little boy went to the drinks counter than exclaimed loudly that there was no water. The staff totally ignored him. The kid started bawling that he wanted water. He was still ignored. Another guest asked a staff who was busily clearing the counter, why could she get the boy some water. The staff gave him a look and went on with her work.

Well we were happy to check out of the hotel. Never will we be back to this hotel from hell!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank wct38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016

I stayed for one night with a group. The area is very convenient. On arrival, we had lunch near the hotel. There are many small shops and restaurants and the area is quite attractive.
There are more than 100 temples in this area and some are near the hotel so after an afternoon of exploring 5 temples and dinner, we found we could walk to the hotel.
The hotel was quite pleasant and the staff were courteous. The room was attractive and clean and had all amenities we needed.
Breakfast was adequate although the room was a bit small to accommodate all the guests who seemed to choose the same time to have breakfast, but that's a small point.
Overall I found the hotel quite good and combined with the excellent location I was happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in good location. Clean and have all the necessities you need in the room. We stay in double room,and we get full size bed which is quite small for two. My friend's room is twin room, it is newer. However, the bathroom is quite naked, even the toilet.
Breakfast is ok. My only comment about it, is the the chefs at egg and noodle station. They seem like they lost the will to service....

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Teekitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

Good hotel. Clean and quiet. There's free wifi. Room has centralised heating and cannot be controlled. If you find it too warm, you'll need to open the window slightly. Reasonable spread for Breakfast buffet. Mainly Chinese food with some pastries.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank CodyKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2015

We arrived for a one-night stay in july and the rooms were not ready until 3.30 pm. reservations had been mixed up and it all seemed quite confusing. English was also a problem. the hotel has the air of a luxury hotel, but unfortunately this is not true for the rooms. Lunch at the hotel was fantastic, with local specialties on the menu and we enjoyed it very much while waiting for our rooms to be ready. the rooms are average size, but cleanliness was an issue. perhaps because of the hurried cleaning the room was far from clean with pubic hair clearly visible in the bathroom. it is cold in the mountains, even in july, but there was no working heating to be found. for those relying to TV for entertainment and information, there are only 4 stations programmed and their reception is far from perfect.breakfast is average in a very cramped space.

Room Tip: rooms with views of the monasteries
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank holger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews