We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cypress Resort Kumejima
Nearby Hotels
$142
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
88
108
38
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
108
38
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall airportokinawa main islandbbqcypresssuitesannahabeachferrysnorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 245 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were a group of 4 and we booked a twin bed room. They added two additional beds for us and all the beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was awkward but still ok.

All the rooms in the hotel offer a stunning view of their own beach. We went there when a typhoon was approaching, so not much visitors were there and very often we found ourselves the only group taking up the swimming pool or their private beach.

Most of the staff there actually speak english (YAY!! one of them even spoke fluent american english), which made everything so much easier. We were very worried that due to the typhoon, we might not be able to leave the island by ferry as we planned, as service was suspended. However, one staff there predicted that we would be fine so we managed to leave the island as planned without much hassle.

Perhaps it was because of the typhoon, no one was at the beach (but the weather the day the typhoon was right above Kumejima was fantastic). We got to enjoy the entire beach by ourselves. The beach was quite nice actually, although there was quite a lot of sharp rocks. The water was crystal clear and the sand was very fine.

The swimming pool faces the entire beach. Lovely view but it was very small and shallow. the hotel provided boat rental to Hatenohama. We did not go because of the typhoon.

If I will go to Kumejima again, I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If you are going to Kumejima, highly recommend you to rent a car. Don't be surprised if you cannot find any car rental service online. There are car rental service at the port so don't bother to plan ahead, and the rate was not too expensive. It took us less than 15 minutes to travel to Hotel Cypress from the port. NEVER rely on public transport in Kumejima. Do go to Hatenohama if you have a chance. All hotels provide service to Hatenohama, and with Cypress you can choose half-day or full-day.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mingson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here by myself for three nights in late February 2013, after taking a 3.5 hour ferry ride from Okinawa. I rented a car at the ferry port; the rental car agent and I communicated the best we could with my limited knowledge of Japanese and her limited knowledge of English. Hotel seemed fairly modern and had decent wired internet in the room. TV was a no go as all channels were in Japanese. There was a great view from the balcony of the room. The "installed" bathroom wasn't bad. It seemed like a portable bathroom that was set into an existing room, like two other places I've stayed in Japan (had to step up "into" the bathroom. the bed was ok for comfort.

It was surprising how close the hotel is to the small airport, but that wasn't a concern as there aren't that many flights that come and go to the airport.

The breakfast buffet wasn't too bad, but was fairly sparse one morning as it seemed like not many guests were staying in the hotel. The dinner menu didn't seem appealing, so as I rented a car (very glad I did as this hotel is far from everything) I did a bit of exploring and found a few good placed to eat.

There's a beach next to the hotel, but it didn't seem that great, as most water emptied out of the area during low tide. If you're looking for an awesome beach, look elsewhere on the island such as hotel near Eef beach.

Not sure I'd stay here again due to the poor location (far from any restaurants out of the hotel, good beaches, and cool tourist sites), but Kume is a small island so a rental car made this more than manageable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank osanida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a suite and we were on the 5th floor so we had a great view of the ocean. This hotel is located away from town and is very isolated. Has fitness center, free laundry facility, and the suite was awesome. The shower and bath were excellent! The suite was pricey but if you are staying indoors then well worth it. Perfect place if you want to stay in for a rainy weekend. Restaurant breakfast wasn't as great. Food was cold, and not as great of a selection. Local restaurants are about a 15 minute drive away but staff is friendly and directs you to local restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katillac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

There are not many places in Japan to "get away from it all", though Kumejima is definitely one of them and this hotel makes an ideal base. It is located close to the airport, though with only a few flights each day, this is not an issue and indeed helps to settle in quickly after arriving on the island.
I totally agree with another review on this hotel. What we particularly liked about this hotel is it being crescent shaped so that every single room has a spectacular sea view. One can see the hotel pool, the beach, the lagoon, turquoise sea and the reef breaker in the distance. You can see other reefs (eg in Maldives, ‘Oz) though their hotel rooms are often at sea level, and to have this view from just a few storeys high makes a difference. They also evidently thought about the food, as on our three nights, the evening meals were different being Japanese, European and a BBQ. The rooms were spacious, and while amenities were limited (there was no Wifi, the bar was very quiet), you could still hire bicycles, nets/torches for nighttime shrimping, and the hotel made hiring a car very easy. All in all a very pleasant stay with very welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kwaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Was staying in this holidays in last year for 3 days / 2 nights, i booked at special rate during their non peak season for 50% off their regular rate. Would suggest you to try book as early as possible cos they offer early bird discount too.

Since its located in Kumejima, an island 3 hours ferry trip away from main Okinawa island, there are only 3 main hotels (the rest are motel type of accommodation), I picked Cypress for its view and the real thing is as authentic as it looks on photos in their website. The ocean view of my room is superb! The room is spacious, tidy and housekeeper did a good job on daily basis. Breakfast options is limited but much better than another 5 star hotel i stayed in the Okinawa main island so i am not gonna complaint. Hotel restaurant offers limited dinner menu but its good for value with the nice seaview and nicely quiet environment.

The swimming pool is just the right size and with the superb view, lovely location to look at sunset. The beach in front of the hotel however is not fit for swimming at all cos its surrounded by coral rocks. Make sure you dont walk on this beach with bare feet cos you will definitely get hurt, you'll see lots of lovely cute crabs when the tide is gone in late afternoon.

The hotel is quite near the pier but if you are not driving it will be lots of hassle to get yourself there or out of the hotel. transportation would be a problem if you dont drive or plan to drive, as you cant go anywhere without a car in Kumejima. There is not much public transport and very few taxi around. Try OTS car rental cos they are cheap and reliable.

communication with hotel staff is tough too cos they speak almost no english, i was only using pictures and simple japanese vocabulary to communicate with them but it was not helping much...

One thing you got to take note is that when i switched on my blackberry there was completely NO reception, which is good if you dont want anyone to email you :) the hotel room has internet connection provided with LAN, its quite smooth and not too slow, but do remember to bring an adaptor / socket for your charger because there wont be anything the hotel can help you.

overall i did enjoy my stay at Cypress so much, if i have the plan to do another real peaceful break i would for sure come here again, its such a lovely hotel and the view is simply one of the best.

again, Kumejima is a real small island, dont expect anything you have in big cities will be found in here for sure. Transportation, communication and entertainment are the last thing you would get in this island, if you have trouble with any of these, not the problem of the hotel anyway.

The Hotel can arrange day trip to Hatenohama 終端之濱, its the place you dont wanna miss if you are spending time in Kumejima.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank YY417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews