We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the wonderful Aharen Beach”
Review of Pension Sea Friend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Sea Friend
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Pension Sea Friend is very close – approx. 1-2 minute walk – to Aharen Beach. We loved that beach – so long, clean and just a few meters out there were a lot of corals with many different sorts of fish.
Sea Friend had a lot of diving equipment, but since we have no diving license we couldn’t judge whether they were good or bad. We rented snorkeling sets however – snorkel, diving mask and fins for 750 yen/day (I believe we got them for half the usual price) – and they worked fine. The staff was really nice, but they don’t talk much English. Some of them didn’t speak it at all.
The ferry port is across the island from Pension Sea Friend, but they come and pick you up with a mini bus.

We lived in a twin room. We liked it - it was very spacy. There was a fridge, a water boiler for tea/cup noodles, a TV, a good bathroom with W.C. and bathtub+shower, and the Wi-Fi was extraordinary! Imagine that, on a little island 30 min away from the main island (the Wi-Fi in Naha wasn’t nearly as good as that on Tokashiki!).
There were two coin op. washing machines (200 yen) outside the lobby, and you could hang your laundry on the roof.

No yukata was provided.
There was no elevator (there are rooms on floors 2, 3 and 4)

We had included breakfast and lunch – and we recommend you to do the same. There is not many food places to talk about around Aharen Beach. Breakfast and dinner was served in a restaurant across the street from the pension. Breakfast = buffé with both western and Japanese food. Dinner = Japanese style meal with small cups with fish, vegetable and so on.
In the dining room there was a pool table.

In the pension shop you could by sports towels, beach shoes, underwater camera and other stuff.
We recommend you to buy sun protection before you go to the island!! At the pension they only sell 4+ and 50+ sun protection, and they’re really expensive! (950 yen for 250 ml 50+)
If you don’t bring it with you – don’t buy it at the pension. There is a small store a couple of minute walk away and there 50+ protection costs only 500 yen.

Overall we liked Pension Sea Friend.
They get -1 for being a little expensive though. But I guess they all are on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A-K_Sjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 玲子 倉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank tamatamango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 미리 예약하셔서 꼭 씨프렌드 펜션에서 묵으세요!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MinKana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank aki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank 603tadashik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: エレベータは無いので、下の階をおすすめします。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank お父さんと一緒_世界編
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokashiki-son
1.1 mi away
Tokashiku Marine Villege
Tokashiku Marine Villege
#1 of 1 in Tokashiki-son
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kerama Beach Hotel
Kerama Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zamami-son
42 reviews
20.0 mi away
Loisir Hotel Naha
Loisir Hotel Naha
#28 of 111 in Naha
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kerama Terrace
Kerama Terrace
#3 of 16 in Tokashiki-son
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Joyful Chingushi
Joyful Chingushi
#9 of 16 in Tokashiki-son
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kerama Backpackers
Kerama Backpackers
#1 of 6 in Tokashiki-son
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sea Friend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sea Friend

Address: 155 Aharen, Tokashiki-son, Shimajiri-gun 901-3502, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Shimajiri-gun > Tokashiki-son
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tokashiki-son
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Sea Friend 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Sea Friend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Sea Friend Tokashiki-Son, Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing