We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time with wonderful people...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sun Flower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sun Flower
Guidel-Plage, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful time with wonderful people...”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Despite the hurricane, I had a wonderful time with Shiro and all the family. Being the sole customer (as I was out of season) give me probably some sort of special treat! The food was absolutely magic.

The place is not a five star, but it is clean and nice. It is right to the beach very well situated.

But surely the best of the best was the diving. I had the most incredible dive! Please check out my film http://youtu.be/W8-ZKkvH9-M (Okinawa Tokashiki-Son diving). Thank you so much Shiro!

I don’t know if live will allow me to go back one day to Tokashiki, but no doubt I would go back to the Sun flower Hotel…

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonanBzH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The rooms are old and the restrooms smell of urine. I would not stay here again. I saw some newer hotels nearby and should have just stayed in one of them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TakinItEasyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I suppose the people are friendly, but they will pretty much trick you into thinking the room cost is lower than what they will charge you in the end. I called them over the phone numerous times to double check that I knew the cost of the room, but they tell you only the per-person price. They speak English, but they pretend not to know what you are talking about when you go to check out and you realize that the bill is double, triple or quadruple (in my case) the amount that they told you! The rooms are pretty old and run down. I would stay somewhere else if I go back.

Room Tip: In a Japanese style room you will only have a tatami floor and some quilts to sleep on. An American...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryCaterpillar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night in early August 2011. The beach is amazing and the people are genuinely concerned that you're having an excellent stay. We had to leave the island early because a typhoon was coming. Shiro (the owner) made sure we had all the latest information and then decided when we needed to get off the island for us. That ended up being late one afternoon, but he let us shower and use the room until it was time to leave for the ferry instead of kicking us out of the room at check-out time. That was so appreciated and really impressed us!

As for the rooms, ours was two twins with bath and air conditioner. There weren't 5star western quality, but they were comfortable and more than standard for this tiny beach town. Most of the other accommodations on the island are Japanese style (mats on the floor), so we were happy to have the beds for our vacation.

But now to the reason people come out to this island in the first place: the beach was perfect. The snorkeling on the island is amazing! I've been to Hawaii, but not any other Asian scuba spots (yet!), but this was unlike anything I've ever seen. Absolutely stunning.

You can rent a seakayak from a shop right by the beach and kayak out to a small island (takes about 15 minutes) were the snorkeling is even better than the beach. The coral reefs here are beautiful and the fish that live in an around are diverse and enchanting. We were only on the island one night, so didn't get to do a scuba dive, but I bet it would be amazing.

There is a aging toy poodle on property who loves attention and is greeted happily by all the guests. He was a ham.

The food was delicious. A homemade dinner was included as was a Japanese style breakfast. Don't worry yourself one minute that you'll go hungry. The staff was very accommodating here, even giving us forks the first evening before they realized we could use chopsticks.

As for the rest of the town, and the island, there is simply not much to do other than beach activities. Without a car to explore the rest of the island we would have probably got sunburned and bored after a couple days.

Overall, it was an amazing trip. I wish we could have stayed an extra day or two.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreagalvez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

What a fantastic experience! Great price and wonderful people. This is not a fancy resort type place, but it has it all where it counts with my family. Warm family atmosphere where you feel totaly welcome! My 4-yr old daughter absolutely loved her new friend Maiko...what a sweetheart! We enjoyed the beach which was right out the back door and were appreciative for the transportation they provided when we wanted to see other parts of the island (but, since we don't like to impose, we are bringing our car over on the ferry next time). This is a place where you can enjoy the warm crystal clear waters and local flavor with a "nama" (fresh or draft) beer off the tap with a warm smile and great service at any time of the day...we are going back to Tokashiki Island next month...will definitely only stay there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwalabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokashiki-son
1.1 mi away
Tokashiku Marine Villege
Tokashiku Marine Villege
#1 of 1 in Tokashiki-son
144 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kerama Beach Hotel
Kerama Beach Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zamami-son
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension  Sea Friend
Pension Sea Friend
#3 of 16 in Tokashiki-son
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Reef Inn Kuniyoshi
Reef Inn Kuniyoshi
#6 of 16 in Tokashiki-son
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kerama Terrace
Kerama Terrace
#2 of 16 in Tokashiki-son
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Joyful Chingushi
Joyful Chingushi
#5 of 16 in Tokashiki-son
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Flower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Flower

Property: Hotel Sun Flower
Address: 172 Aharen, Shimajiri-gun, Tokashiki-son 901-3502, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Shimajiri-gun > Tokashiki-son
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tokashiki-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Sun Flower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Flower Tokashiki-Son, Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing