We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place”
Review of Pension Blue Drop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Blue Drop
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A special place”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Half-way through a 3 week trip to Japan we had the pleasure of staying at Blue Drop. We were excited about visiting Yakushima and didn't really know what to expect. From the moment we arrived at Blue Drop I felt at home. We had planned 2 nights on Yakushima, which allowed just enough time to spend some time walking in the forests and briefly explore the island. However, we were having such a good time that we decided to extend our stay by 3 nights.
The food was superb (super fresh sashimi!). We ate at Blue Drop every night. Some of my favourite meals ever. Yuki is a brilliant cook.
The accommodation and facilities were all we needed - comfortable, clean and complete.
Yuki and her husband are fantastic. Very kind, welcoming and helpful. Yuki was a great help with organising and planning - before our trip, during and when we decided to stay longer.
I'm very glad to have stayed here and can't wait for the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friend and I visited Yakushima in September 2012, mainly to hike around the forests. We only stayed at Pension Blue Drop for 2 nights, but we had a lovely time and will definitely be coming back again.

From first contact Yuki, the proprietor, was amazingly helpful. She helped book our hire car, advised us on the best hiking courses and ferry access to the island. She even gave us advice on other legs of our trip!

The location of Blue Drop is relatively close to Anbou Jetty, about 20 minutes from memory and easy to navigate. Just pay attention for the signage, especially at night.

Rooms are basic, but very comfortable and clean. We stayed in a room with 4 bunk beds. I really loved the feel and atmosphere of the all wood interior and art work scattered around the house. Bathroom and dining room are communal; clean and well maintained. Yuki was a great host and very welcoming. I highly recommend the Kaiseki meal. The seafood was freshly caught on the day by Yuki’s husband. I really wished we had a chance to try the other meals on her menu.

Overall, Pension Blue Drop is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Yakushima.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were visiting Yakushima as part of our honeymoon and we had four very enjoyable nights at Blue Drop Pension.

Even before we started our trip, our hosts, Yuki and her husband were very attentive and helpful in getting us information and helping us to book a rental car- a necessitiy- on the island. Yuki was able to secure us good rates by supporting a locally run company, which would have been difficult to find without her assistance. In addition, she provided us with the ferry timetables from Kagoshima and explained how to book in advance, which was very thoughtful.

Location of the pension is excellent, just 30mins drive from Anbo port and well sign posted as you approach the village. We were welcomed very warmly on our arrival and served a delicious meal of beef cheeks, which we pre-booked. Other meals, we were able to book during the week.

Both Yuki and her husband are obviously very knowledgable about the island and helped us to plan our routes and trekking, introduced us to local onsen and organised bentos for days when we had early starts. Yuki even thoughfully lent us some J pop CDs for our drives around the island.

The accomodation itself forms part of their home, a beautiful wooden house decorated with beautiful stained glass and art by Yuki. There is a communal fridge in the dining room, which also doubles as a cafe some months of the year. Our bedroom room was quite small but clean. The beds were futon on bedframes, which were comfortable after a long days hiking!

Bathroom facilities are communal and in use evenings only. You can use the washing machine in the evenings for an additional charge; we used a coin laundry in Anbo to wash and dry our clothes. The post office at Anbo also allowed us to use our Travelex card in its ATM (is was unable to be read in the town's bank's ATMs).

We heartily recommend pension Blue Drop for friendliness, value, comfort and location. We are still in touch with Yuki after our visit, which is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErialcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I cannot really say much more of how lovely a stay in Blue Drop can be as almost everything has already been said in the previous reviews. I can only totally agree with the others: the house is beautiful, comfortable, spotless and quite well-located (it’s a very good idea to hire a car which makes visiting Yakushima much easier). But it’s the guesthouse owner’s Yuki amazing personality that made our stay on this beautiful island even more magical. She’s so brilliant, funny and kind! Not only had she helped us a lot with car and jet foil reservations before we arrived but also took great care of us when we were there and last but not least: made us feel so good and welcome that we didn’t want to leave at all. She’s also an excellent cook. Words won’t tell how amazing and delicious her kaiseki dinner was, you have to experience it yourself! I still have the cute menu with drawings and dish descriptions that Yuki has handwritten for us. We’ll remember our stay and that dinner forever!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Quick aside, my GF hates hates hates B&Bs in the US. Feels like every room will be pink and in some weird attic and the owners are weird 90 year old doll collectors who may collect tourists in their basement.

We loved our time at the Blue Drop and would've stayed a whole week (not 2 nights) or longer if possible. Our time in Yakushima at the Blue Drop was the highlight of our two week trip to Japan.

We were visiting Yakushima during the tsuyu season in June 2012. We arrived on the ferry in pouring rain. We were exhausted from our earlier travels, wet, miserable, having issues with driving (on the other side of the road). When we pulled up to Blue Drop, Yuki was incredibly welcoming, gracious, and made us feel like we were at home. The skies even cleared up, and we learned later that this part of the island actually tends to have better weather.

She told us about a bunch of awesome onsens that were super nearby, including one that was right on the beach and only accessible during low tide. We went and it was incredibly relaxing.

If you go, you absolutely have to take advantage of the homemade meals for breakfast and dinner! Both nights we stayed we had feasts made by someone who really knew how to knock-out taste buds -- it was restaurant quality food and some of the best we had our entire trip! Every, and I mean, EVERY meal at the Blue Drop was amazing and was hard to believe that Yuki and her husband caught, cooked, and prepared everything themselves. The Yakushima special meal was definitely one of the best meals (and most adventurous) I've ever had. I still think about it.

We were fortunate that there were no other guests while we were there, so we pretty much had the run of the place ourselves. Yuki and her husband were very attentive when we needed help or had questions, but also gave us lots of privacy. One day Yuki helped us plan a hike in the Mononoke forest, which was a nice alternative to the longer, major hike to the oldest Yakisugi on the island. We also went out one night to see the sea turtles laying eggs on the beach, which is very close to Blue Drop.

The house: was very clean, quiet, homey, relaxing. Like a place I would love to buy in the middle of nowhere and just ignore everyone
The food: as I said, amazing
The bed: very basic, but comfortable. Had some very deep sleeps there
The service: phenomenal
The price: reasonable. Considering Japan is generally quite expensive, it really wasn't that bad
The location: it's a bit out of the way from the ferry and you will need a car to get there. But the 30 minute drive is worth it, and this way you get to avoid some of the other tourists and just enjoy the island

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

In the previous reviews a lot was said about how cozy and clean the house is, how welcoming the hosts are and how delicious kaiseki, beef cheeks and chickens are in Blue Drop. Following Yuki's advice, we changed the whole trip plan to avoid the Golden week crowd and get a room here and were absolutely happy, so +100 votes to each positive review and two extra details:
1) There's a wonderful sea onsen 10 minutes drive from the house (ask Yuki for directions and high tides' timetable). If your main goals on Yakushima are visiting Yakusugi Land and Shiratani Unsuikyo natural parks, you'll need your legs back after all that 20km of hiking. This onsen is your remedy – it's close to the property and it's free. At first the place can look a bit like a nude beach, but don't hesitate: be polite, respect the tradition and refrain from taking photos. You'll never forget the best SPA of the island :)
2) In order to get to our ferry, we had to leave the place very early – around 6am. There's a special alarm clock, that wakes up the whole island around this time, but that's not the point. The point is Yuki's breakfast, carefully packed, flowers and love included. I will always remember it as my best on-the-go breakfast ever, not because Yuki woke up two hours earlier to cook it, but because although we hardly know each other it was so full of someone's care and attention.
I'm not very emotional, but I cried when leaving Blue Drop and still hope Yuki's didn't notice my tears as that would be pretty embarrassing :) Cannot imagine yourself that touched? Try Blue Drop.

Room Tip: Always mention if you need a queen bed, as by default you'll get a twin or a bunk one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mierukoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were looking for a quiet stay in the southern part of Yakushima. We received prompt response to our mails by Yuki, the owner of the inn, who speaks very good English. She offered us support and information, and she helped us with car rental arrangement. Blue Drop is a small, cute pension and cafè, a recently built wooden house, owned by a young couple of extremely kind and pleasant people. Rooms are cozy and perfectly clean. The position is very good, close to the natural onsen baths by the sea, and on the way of the wild south western coastal part of the island. It's very close to Kurio beach, where we were able to have the unforgettable experience of watching sea turtles laying eggs, and reasonably close to all the main attractions of Yakushima.
As about food, Yuki prepared us some of our best dinners ever, even considering that we love japanese food and that we've been travelling in Japan several times. She cooks wonderful kaiseki style dinner, with excellent local ingredients and amazing preparation. Hand drawn on a sheet, she even prepared a description of the several courses that composed the dinner. Just lovely!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho hotels
Sankara Hotel & Spa Yakushima
#1 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Onoaida Onsen
Yakushima Iwasaki Hotel
Yakushima Iwasaki Hotel
#3 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Yakushima Green Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guesthouse Yakushima
#4 of 21 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Onoaida Onsen
JR Hotel Yakushima
JR Hotel Yakushima
#2 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Jomon no Yado Manten
#8 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Blue Drop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Blue Drop

Property: Pension Blue Drop
Address: 428-10 Hirauchi, Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho 891-4406, Kagoshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Yakushima > Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Rakuten so you can book your Pension Blue Drop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Blue Drop Yakushima, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing