We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottage Morinokokage
Reviewed January 4, 2012

When we came across this place in one of the sites, we were so excited to try the cottages, especially for the kids..Unfortunately, the cottage was closed from Dec to Jan. However, Nakashima-San (owner) is so kind and accomodating that he open 2 cottages for us. This is one experience we will never forgot...he placed us side by side in two cottages. The place was so well maintained and so clean...imagine we were the only guests (7 of us) in his farmhouse..felt like we were in some private resort ! We felt so safe and comfortable in the place. He has also prepared a file, complete with information of the island and the trekking trails (in english) that we can use.. He even arranged our car rental and the car was ready for our pickup when we arrived at the port..he even provided details of where to eat, shop and hike. We have such a wonderful time there ! The only regret - we should stay more than 3 nights !! Yakushima has so much to offer and to explore. Nakashima-San - thank you for your hospitality ! You made our stay in Yakushima so memorable.. We hope to be back again !!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaitliny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
コテージ 森のこかげ, オーナー at Cottage Morinokokage, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Ms.Yaitliny,

Thank you for your review!
I am really glad to hear from you.

During your staying, I needed to maintain our cottages, so, I really hope all enjoyed Yakushima adventure and my cottages!

Please come and visit in Yakushima again!
Especially, during the summer, you can enjoy trekking, swiming, kayakking, etc!

I am really looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 123 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

Highly recommend this place, which is not in any of the major guide books yet. The site is made up of about 8 wooden cottages, ranging in sizes. I stayed in 1003, one of the small split-level huts 'japanese style' and loved it. Japanese style meaning that instead of a bed base you have a futon on the floor, comfortable and good for the back! The bathrooms for these small ones is shared but there are two wonderfully powerful shower/bath rooms to hand. It's only a ten minute drive from the airport (I recommend renting a car to get the most of the island, the owner can arrange this for you at a decent price), and in a good place to access both main hiking sites as well as onsens. Breakfast, dinner and bento box lunches can be ordered extra and are all delicious, also don't turn down the green macha cappuccino. All in all in it is a very clean, friendly and pretty place to enjoy Yakushima from and I look forward to returning! FYI I had three full days, with an itinerary as follows 1. Drive clockwise round island stopping at main waterfalls, beaches etc. 2. Morning hike to Taikoiwa rock (4hrs) then evening onsen 3. Morning hike to Tachu-dake (6hrs including lunch and snooze at the top) then evening BBQ. I met a lovely guide who speaks English well and was very helpful and informative. His name is Eiji and contact email eokamoto54@hotmail.com ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
コテージ 森のこかげ, オーナー at Cottage Morinokokage, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Dear Ms.Zigstock,

Thank you for your visitting at our cottage and thank you for your contribution.
We are very glad to read your reply.

Duritng your stay, I believe you had a big time in Yakushima!
You enjoyed trekking, waterfalls, hotspring, wild monkeys, deers, local food and islanders.

I hope to see you again, and all of our staff are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Cottage Morinokokage
///////////////////////////
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

4 nights stay was a bit rushing for us.
We wished we could have spend another 2 days in Yakushima.
We did not have time to relax on beaches!!
On the 1st day in Yakushima, we stopped at a souvenir shop to ask for direction. The owner offer her help to bring us to a restaurant for lunch after knowing that we haven't taken lunch at almost 2.30pm, and sent us to Morinokokage. The shop offers 10% discount for Morinokokage guests!!

Room Tip: Ryosaku-san is friendly. English communication OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmileyQuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
コテージ 森のこかげ, オーナー at Cottage Morinokokage, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Dear Ms.Smiley Quah,

Thank you for your feed back on your recent visit to Yakushima and the Cottage Mirinokokage!
I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and will come back to Yakushima near future:-)
We pride ourselves in making all guest feel at home and attended to and we will pass on your complimentary comments to the team. Thanks again and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank monstera8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
コテージ 森のこかげ, オーナー at Cottage Morinokokage, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 竜馬 大
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
コテージ 森のこかげ, オーナー at Cottage Morinokokage, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 大地 吉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
コテージ 森のこかげ, オーナー at Cottage Morinokokage, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 6 Stub App Smartphone
Thank 遼祐 菅
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
コテージ 森のこかげ, オーナー at Cottage Morinokokage, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho hotels
Onoaida Onsen
Yakushima Iwasaki Hotel
Yakushima Iwasaki Hotel
#3 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
115 reviews
Sankara Hotel & Spa Yakushima
#1 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
159 reviews
Yakushima Green Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tashiro Annex
#7 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
48 reviews
Seaside Hotel Yakushima
#4 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
79 reviews
Yakushima cottage Mori no fairy
#1 of 24 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Morinokokage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Morinokokage

Address: 292-9 Funayuki, Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho 891-4312, Kagoshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Yakushima > Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty lodging in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Price Range: $71 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Morinokokage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Morinokokage is little cottages in Funayuki. There are 10 individual cottages, and 4 different types of room are available. Amenities are TV, air-conditioner, refrigerator, electric pot, dryer, Japanese Tea Set, bath & shower (inc. shampoo, hair conditioner, body soap, and hand wash soap), toilet, hammock, garden table, low rebound mattress & pillow, free parking space, laundromat in property, and smoke free in the room. It is located between Anbo and Miyanoura, where easy access to main sightseeing spot such as Jomonsugi and Shiratani Unsuikyo. Only 5 mins drive from Anbo port, 8 mins drive from Yakushima air port, and 20mins drive from Miyanoura port. There is excellent mountain(Myoujou-dake & Funayuki-maedake) view from each rooms, and shining star can be seen at night. Walking distance to seashore to see beautiful sunrise and Tanegashima island. Breakfast, BBQ, early Bento delivery, local restaurant, taxi, rental car can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Rakuten and Hotels.com so you can book your Cottage Morinokokage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Morinokokage Yakushima, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing