We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soyotei

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Soyotei
El Cerrito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A unique inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

It is a very fine inn with a wonderful hot spring near the breaking waves.
Good for a couple of nights but no more. The food is ok but monotonous after two nights.
The owners are friendly but too invasive and the obsan never shuts up.
Also beware they charge 800 yen for a cup of instant coffee.

Room Tip: Two nights max
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Soyotei was a wonderful jewel in our two and a half week trip to Japan. The surroundings are unique and set on a long sandy beach where sea turtles lay their eggs. The meals are a wonderful representation of the local area; while we were there, we dined on flying fish, grouper, deer, local barnacles. The meals are very thoughtfully prepared and presented and the dining room itself warrants a visit. Our room was comfortable and rustic, but still very elegant. The building itself is very old. The onsen tubs were spectacular, particularly the one right underneath the surf. Not a single moment in this place was unenjoyable, even though a typhoon was very close to the island for a portion of our stay. All of the staff are extremely attentive and kind, even if they don't know any english.

If you have an international license, rent a car on this spectacular island. The bus is easy to go short distances, but you really limit where you can reach and it's expensive.

We were very sad to leave Soyotei. It was a beautiful minshuku and we'd go back in a heartbeat. Perfect honeymoon location!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadiansarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at Soyotei for two nights during recent visit to Yakushima with friends. May be we were lucky - blue skies, lovely and cool weather, quiet and non-peak season.... we were given a large house to share amongst all 7 of us. Us gals have the larger room, and it opens out to a mega sun deck overlooking the beach. Accommodation is simple but clean and charming. It's location just off the beach is also just perfect - the walks along the beaches were so calming and relaxing.

They have two onsen bathrooms but require private booking. Very rustic, natural and holistic, and allow you to soak to your heart's content while enjoying the sounds, sights and smell of the natural waves from the sea.

The owner and his family don't really speak much English, but the elder son tries hard and the service is good. Dad likes to come out and sit with us when we dine and offered us Japanese wine. Watching sunset from the dining cabin was just so blissfully beautiful.

The only thing that was not perfect for our stay was that we didn't get to see the turtles!!!!!

Love the place and hope to return in future. :o)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel may be the best place we stayed in Japan. the site is wonderful, each room is very clean, spacious and has a view on the sea. There are lots on Onsen (2 that you can book and we had one near our room that we shared with two others), the staff is more than kind and the food is wonderful.

Soyotei is definitly worth its price and is a wonderful place to stay, in every aspects.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sh4KrA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

My girlfriend and I only ended up spending 1 night here, after we had spent the 3 previous nights on the Southern part of the island. Definately worth a visit to see the nicest beach on the island and to see the turtle egg laying (make sure you book ahead in busy times). Soyoutei itself was great, we got the largest room in the place which was big enough for 8 or so people to sleep in. Book with the staff in advance to use the 2 seaside onsens which despite their dirty orange look are meant to be very therapautic.....The inside onsen is REALLY hot!!!! Food was great which is served overlooking the ocean. English is not widely spoken on the island so it may be a little difficult for those people with no Japanese. Lucky for me I had my girlfriend as my translator. For more help about Yakushima see www.yakumonkey.com

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room (for no additional cost)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeroyWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

I missed to review this property where we stayed in Dec 2008, and am doing it now if being a bit late is allowed.

This Japanese and Yakuhima style inn is full of charm.
The owener seems to have lots of ideas to make it original.

Our Japanese room with tatami was spacious enough for two of us.

I did not request a quiet room as I usually do. I did not realise the inn faces on the road.Our room directly faced the road and during daytime, frequent noise with a bit of vibration. At night, however, it was amazingly quiet, since the village is the last one before the world heritage site (western part of the island) where only wild animals live and therefore almost no traffic at night.They have more rooms further from the road and I would have preferred the one.

The room was cleaned properly and comfortable, but Futon matresses were too thin and far too hard for us. We should have placed more matresses to sleep on.

We loved the dinner and breakfast . Simple cooking but very refined seasoning. Local fish of Kubiore Saba (mackerel) was so fresh to be eaten raw. There was also a lobster soup for dinner, but it was not local and I wondered what the point of having it at this location was. The large restaurant hall had a nice atmosphere with original architecture. Beautiful view onto sea.

They have hot spring baths. indoor and outdoor. I preferred the indoor woody one. The outdoor one was small and rocky on the beach with waves crushing just in front, a bit scaring. This place was rather dark and to be honest I felt slightly uneasy since I could not check the cleanliness with little light.

We stayed at this inn at the year end when most hotels and inns charge peak season premium rates for little reasons. No premium, no additional cost at this inn was also appreciated.

I think this is one of the best places to stay in this beautiful island of Yakushima.

The western part of Yaushima is a must to explore for anyone visiting the island, although the access is possible only through a narrow winding road, which has made possible conservation of the wilderness.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho hotels
Sankara Hotel & Spa Yakushima
#2 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Onoaida Onsen
Yakushima Iwasaki Hotel
Yakushima Iwasaki Hotel
#3 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Yakushima Green Hotel
#6 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaside Hotel Yakushima
#4 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Jomon no Yado Manten
#8 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Marine Blue Yakushima
#9 of 17 in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soyotei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soyotei

Property: Soyotei
Address: Nagata 521-4, Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho 891-4201 , Kagoshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Yakushima > Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Soyotei Yakushima, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing