We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
34
117
56
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
34
117
56
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breathtaking views beppu spring japan onsen dinner sea station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 230 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2018

I knew from previous reviews that this was a huge hotel but booked it anyway because it was the Chinese New Year and all our other preferences were unavailable. This is a massive property whose big advantage is the breathtaking views of the sea you get from the rooms and the public areas. That’s about it. We got the only available room; the Hello Kitty room which was basically just an average room with a huge Hello Kitty doll, wallpaper, bed covers and Hello Kitty kiddie chairs. The room was old and dated; certainly not worth the price we paid. Generally, the entire hotel looks old. Expectedly it was packed with Chinese groups celebrating the New Year. Dinner at the Japanese restaurant was ok; certainly not exceptional. The Onsen was all right. There’s a shuttle from and to the station twice a day. Beware that there is nothing near the hotel. The staff was friendly.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank travelbugManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

The location of the hotel is both an advantage and a disadvantage. Due to its location, it offers a great view of the Beppu bay from your room. But it is a bit away from Beppu city. If you don't have a car, and here for a few days, it may be problematic. Rooms are comparatively spacious. Very popular with group tourists.

Room tip: Sea view rooms of course!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hasanarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

Super disappointed about this place. Came here for my daughters birthday weekend because of the Hello Kitty rooms. The carpet in the corridor leading to rooms is disgusting and dirty. Because it's pink, it's very obviously dirty. The Hello Kitty room that we had was gross. Literally every other room has carpet, except ours. Maybe it's because it's assumed that kids are gross, but I doubt it. Kids stay in the other rooms in the hotel which are carpeted. We stayed in the hotel for dinner the first night to eat at the Chinese restaurant and it was expensive and mediocre. Breakfast buffet was okay. Had we not been here for my kids birthday we definitely would've left and stayed at another hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank allysonb269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Was in Japan on a business trip to Oita University Hospital, Molecular Imaging Department. The hotel was modern with large rooms, free WiFi, wonderful views of the ocean and close to a train station. However as a western traveler, there was no English channels on the television and few hotel clerks that spoke English. Wish I had more time outside of work to visit Beppu and surrounding area. Visiting the Onsen inside the hotel was a great plus. Wish the hotel rented bicycles, paddle boards and Kayaks .

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echellquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile

The room was nice and clean and very spacious, unlike the bathrooms in Japan. It would have been nice if there were curtains for the bathtub. We had a pretty nice view in our room and the breakfast was better than expected. My aunts loved the hotsprings located in the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank jjuliee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews