We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crystal clear”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shirakawa Springs

Shirakawa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Crystal clear”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Shirakawa Spring is one of the most important water sources in this entire area, and it was so interesting to see the constant bubbles coming up from the earth - definitely another unique aspect of this volcanic region. The water stays at a constant 13-14 degrees Celsius all year, and visitors are free to drink all the water they wish (so refreshing and clear!) and even take whatever you like home, if you bring your own water bottles.

Don't miss making and decorating your own Japanese-style paper in the shop right before you go to see the water source & the shrine area, and pick it up when you leave (it takes a bit of time to dry)! Priced at 800 yen, it may seem a bit expensive but it is worth it for the experience and the beautiful, unique souvenirs - you can use between a large square shape, or a smaller size that cuts into two postcards. It was fun to learn about the process, and everyone in our group - girls AND guys in our twenties - got more into the decorating than we'd expected.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    119
    35
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoy the paper making experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Inside the park there is a little shop where you can make and decorate your own sheet of paper. It makes a really nice, personal souvenir and it's good fun too. You can enjoy a short stroll and taste the water directly from the water source. During autumn it looks really beautiful with all the different coloured leaves. I would definitely recommend a trip to Shirakawa springs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
666 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“水豊かな場所/Rich water place”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

山口旅館の一泊後の早朝に訪れた。まだ朝早かったか、人がほとんどおらず、静寂した空間の中、水流を楽しむことができた。
After stay at Yamaguchi-Ryoka, we visited this place. Being early morning, there are few people and we enjoy silence and water stream.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTripOfKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwakuni, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty & Interesting”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Short walk on paved path from main road and parking area. Many small shops along the way that sell empty bottles and various trinkets. Paid 100 yen to enter through otorii gate to collect water.

First time I've seen water bubbling up from a spring. Very tasty water!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davao city
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“happiest moment in the world”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

i like drinking lots of alcohol and my dislike is to got trouble

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank khristine viddi... a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirakawa Springs also viewed

Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
Oguni-machi, Aso-gun
 
Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
 

Been to Shirakawa Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing