We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aso Farm Land

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aso Farm Land
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Place for kids”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The dome houses were interesting but a bit dated. The onsens was very busy with too many people so not very relaxing. There was lots of choice for restaurants but the food was not memorable. Had the feeling of an amusement park for kids

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccandyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    100
    69
    21
    18
See reviews for
136
44
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of our main goal on our Kyushu trip was to get up the Aso mountain, and since this hotel is only 15 drive from the base of the Aso mountain, it was naturally chosen as our nightly stop (accommodation options were limited in the Aso area). This resort was built as a family facility, so the price was relatively modest and the amenities are family-oriented. The "bungalows" are all quite large - you can choose how many beds you need (up to 6 beds per bungalow), and which bedding style you prefer (western or Japanese). The Japanese style turned out to be just mattresses on the floor instead of proper traditional Japanese futons (ok by me, since we chose Japanese for personal reason, but if you are expecting Ryokan-style futon you may be disappointed). The bungalow's furnishing are old (circa 1980-style), but all functional. The resort ground is massive, the kids enjoyed running around and breathing the fresh air very much. But the resort being so big was also a problem, since you could not drive right up to your own bungalow and drop off your luggage. You must first park your car in the parking lot across the street from the hotel, and then walk with your luggage to the check-in area (approx 100m away), and then after check-in, you must then load your luggage onto the transport van, which then will whisk you to your bungalow (which may or may not be walkable from the front desk). So the whole ordeal was a bit of a pain. The included dinner was decent in taste (we chose the hot pot option), but I thought the restaurant area could be cleaner (i.e. I thought the tabletops were a bit greasy). Breakfast was plentiful but only so-so in quality. We didn't get a chance to use the Genki-no-Mori since it was very foggy while we were there (what I thought was the highlight of the resort). I didn't regret going there, since it was on the way to the volcano, but I wouldn't say it was the highlight of the trip. The kids loved it though!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The place is quiet and up in the hills and we enjoyed a quite refreshing and relaxing time coming from Kumamoto.
Rooms are very nice and spacious, and have all you need. Atmosphere is quite particular and gives the feeling to be like in a camping site, surrounded by nature.
Food in the restaurants is plenty and with lot of choices.
Pools in the SPA are nice but I expected the water to be warmer, maybe it depends on the timing of the visit. All in all definitely a pleasant stay...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caligola44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The layout and the appearance of the entire area is highly pleasing. We went in December when it was quite cold which furthered the whole Onsen experience. If you have time to spare then this can be a nice, peaceful and secluded pit stop before heading onto the next adventure.

The spa was also very good and so was the collection of food in the international food court. Very fulfilling experience if you just want to kick your boots up and pretty much nothing.

The options beyond this little place are kind of limited thought.

Room Tip: They have both Japanese style and English style rooms, express a preference. Also if you can, try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pm_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed for a night in this resort which comprises of hot spring spas where we can enjoy many types of spas, Animal Land where the kids can touch and feed animals like dogs and rabbits. The most attractive theme land for our kids is Genki no Mori (Forest of Vitality) where the kids can do a lot of exercises in the park with the creative equipment and activities you can't imagine. Our kids really enjoyed the challenges to complete all the activities at Genki no Mori. Next to the resort, there are also a big shopping mall and daily markets selling fresh fruits and vegetables during the day. There is a great variety of hot spring spas with different smells, colors offering different medical goodies. We purchased a special package which includes spa, dinner, breakfast and Genki. The dome-shaped private house for each guest is very unique and there are mini buses which pick up guests to go from bus stops to the lobby as the lodging compound is really big. From lobby, we can access the different theme lands and restaurants. At night there is an alley decorated with beautiful and shinning lights just like the stars in the sky. Except for the 10-minute walking distance you need to carry your luggage from car park to the lobby plus the light rays from rooftop early in the morning (glass in the middle), everything else is fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goforholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This was a very unique stay in Kumamoto. We loved the different spas they offer at the hotel. the food at the hotel was great. The rooms were cute an private. We could literally spend a full day at the spa. Good Deal!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jungie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minamiaso-mura
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Plaza Hotel
Aso Plaza Hotel
#3 of 28 in Aso
73 reviews
Arden Hotel Aso
#6 of 18 in Minamiaso-mura
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Greenpia Minami Aso
#2 of 18 in Minamiaso-mura
132 reviews
Shikino Mori
#12 of 18 in Minamiaso-mura
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aso Farm Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aso Farm Land

Property: Aso Farm Land
Address: 5579-3 Kawayo, Aso-gun, Minamiaso-mura 869-1404 , Kumamoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso-gun > Minamiaso-mura > Tochinoki Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Minamiaso-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aso Farm Land 3*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, HotelQuickly, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA and Rakuten so you can book your Aso Farm Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aso Farm Village Hotel Minamiaso-Mura
Aso Farm Land Kumamoto Prefecture/Aso-Gun, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing