We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning outside onsen, great food, big rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yamamizuki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yamamizuki
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Stunning outside onsen, great food, big rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Imagine a hot bath in the woods, next to a stream tumbling down a hillside, the trees are in full autumn colour, pinks, reds and golds in the late afternoon sun ... and it starts to gently snow. A true zen moment. And the tensions from hours of driving on the very narrow winding mountain roads just melt away. We felt this place a bit stiff at first but it ended up being one of our favourites on a two-week Kyushu trip. Get there by mid afternoon in fall/winter to fully enjoy the view from the onsen and by all means go to the outside bath on the next morning as well. By comparison, the baths inside are quite ordinary.
The food was very good, particularly the fish and beef. The manager assigned us an English-speaker to help us settle in and to explain the wonderful dinner menu. The rooms are large and very clean, with two separate seating areas AND a coffee maker, though our room (Room 207, I think), didn't have any view of the foliage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamamizuki, 고객 담당 매니저 at Yamamizuki, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
we are really appreacitate that your great review.
Im happy you had good time Yamamizuki and enjoyed food.
The beef is from Aso moutain. this area is famous for beef.
Thank you for review again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    51
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
102
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in a private onsen room for 1 night. It's not cheap, however, the experience is well worth the price. Do arrive early in order to take advantage of all the onsens ... our mistake for a late arrival. In October, it gets dark early (around 6pm) and makes finding the place more difficult. We managed to try the private onsen, the outdoors one and the indoors one as well. The service is excellent with well-spoken English staff.

Room Tip: Private onsen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love_to_travel1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamamizuki, 프론트 매니저 at Yamamizuki, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for review.
We are happy you enjoyed your visit and would love to welcome you back on your next trip with your family!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

After of our visit to Mount Aso we drove up to Kurakawa, famous for its onsen. Yamamizuki is a bit out of the way, but well signposted, in a forest. For only 500 yen we got entry to a wonderfully set rotemburo (natural thermal bath) next to a rapid in a river. It was a great experience to enjoy our hot bath surrounded by trees, birds singing and the constant buzz of the rapids. Good shower facilities and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddy-010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamamizuki, 매니저 at Yamamizuki, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for your review.
We always feel grateful for your thoughtfulness.
Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirakawa, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We drove to Kurokawa onsen town in early April on a beautiful sunny day. We had read beforehand about Yamamizuki onsen on japan-guide, and thought it was worth a visit. We were right! We have visited many onsen before, but this was incredibly beautiful and relaxing. For only 500yen, we had access to a beautiful outdoor riverside onsen, along with the usual showers (complementary toiletries) and indoor bath. The onsen had a good temperature, and a nice large size. The views were beautiful, sitting over the river with the sun shining. We also bought delicious ice cream afterwards from the front desk. Definitely go here, it is nice and secluded, though well-signposted. A wonderful onsen!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank fatcat2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamamizuki, 매니저 at Yamamizuki, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Im really appreacitate that your great review.
I hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We travelled to Kurokawa from Aso and were picked up from outside the tourist information by the regular shuttle bus as Yamamizuki is a distance out of town. As soon as we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful. A lovely woman who spoke English showed us to the cafe and explained the ryokan as we had arrived early for check in. Once we arrived in our room, which was the incredible 12.5 tatami room, our host, who could also speak wonderful English served us tea and a sweet and chatted, a lovely, warm woman. The room was fantastic, with its own bath attached overlooking the river below and completely private. The rest of our stay was comfortable and seamless. The room was warm despite the cold winter weather outside and the futon (and special pillow!) were very cosy.
All of the details are taken care of and the staff are very friendly, helpful and just generally lovely. It was very difficult waving goodbye to our lovely host as the shuttle took us back to the bus and away from Yamamizuki, hopefully we come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmilyKay835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamamizuki, 프론트 매니저 at Yamamizuki, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind review.
We try our best and are satisfied that you are happy and keep coming back to Yamamizuki.
I hope See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Awesome rotemburo (easily the most beautiful one I have seen) by the river and waterfall.
However, it was very very dirty and I could see tonnes of floating particles and we are not talking of leaves etc. only.
I wonder if the onsen is ever cleaned by the staff !
Probably very dirty because it is also opened to the public and Yamamizuki is one of the top outdoor public rotemburo in Kurokawa Onsen for its views.
The changing facility to the onsen was also very basic and cold considering the fact that it subzero outside.

The room was sizeable (got the cheapest room) but quite cold.
Staff was very helpful by giving me a 2nd room next door which had 2 air-conditioning units that also doubled up as a heater.
So we effectively had access to 2 rooms, which admittedly was very generous of the ryokan.
The ryokan was generally not very well heated and the common corridors were also very cold.
Dinner was mediocre but sufficient.

I probably will not stay here again, but will likely visit the outdoor onsen for its views despite it being very dirty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lifesucketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is not the first Japanese ryokan I have been to, so I believe I can this rate properties based on a fair benchmark. In general, the ryokan market in Japanese is so competitive that the room pricing is extremely efficient. A 20000 yen per night / pp property is not going to be better than a 30000 yen per night / pp property from a Japanese person's point of view. And the key I want to emphasize is that the pricing is based on Japanese person's point of view. We paid 17850 per night / pp at Yamamizuki and I personally thought it was great value because

1) The outdoor onsens are spectacular in their setup (private yet all with a view)
2) The service was excellent (not every staff spoke English but they assigned a young lady who spoke some English at the dining room for us)
3) The property is classy and very traditional (not new, but well maintained)
4) The kaiseki cuisine was beautifully presented, yet it was not the top in taste (and I don't mean it in a negative way, really. It was decently yummy but the food was probably not Michelin 3-star)

So it depends how much you value the culinary aspect of your stay. If you think your palate is not refine enough to taste the difference between really good Japanese food vs above average Japanese food, then this ryokan presents good value (since the outdoor onsen is so spectacular), you'll get to experience an above-average ryokan with breaking the bank. In general, I find that one will need to pay at least 30000+ yen per night / pp for a very good onsen + very good food ryokan.

Do note the rooms in this property have adjoining toilets but no adjoining showers or baths. This is because in a traditional ryokan you are expected to take your bath at the communal area next to the onsen before you take a dip inside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minamioguni-machi hotels
Kurokawa Onsen
Ryokan Sanga
Ryokan Sanga
#2 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
#12 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Oyado Noshiyu
Oyado Noshiyu
#5 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamashinobu
Yamashinobu
#3 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Ryokan Wakaba
#7 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamabiko Ryokan
Yamabiko Ryokan
#13 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamamizuki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamamizuki

Property: Yamamizuki
Address: Kurokawaonsen, Aso-gun, Minamioguni-machi 869-2402, Kumamoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso-gun > Minamioguni-machi > Kurokawa Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels / Ryokan in Minamioguni-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hot SpringOutdoor Hot SpringsOur alluring outdoor hot springs, which provide you the luxury of being one with nature along side a beautiful natural mountain stream, lush with trees is an experience worth encountering. The sound of the water trickling through the mountains while soaking in the hot springs is such an enriching experience that you will never want it to end. Enjoy the splendor of “Yamamizuki,” a symbol that cherishes nature and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yamamizuki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamamizuki Japan/Kumamoto Prefecture - Minamioguni-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing