We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Onsen Resort”
Review of Takefue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Takefue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This resort is really nice. Everything is organized perfectly. We had a spa session and it was really good and we enjoyed every second of it. It was snowing lightly during our stay and the surrounding was so beautiful. Kuni-San who can speak English was taking care of us really well. He made sure everything is perfectly arranged and we are comfortable. We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cheng_KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 301 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

A modern but yet traditional 'Onsen' villa. A 3-Michelin star equivalent in the natural hot spring resort industry. Enjoy the tranquillity of the area, the Japanese' hospitality and their attention to detail of everything. But be minded there's no chunky burger and chips, only traditional Japanese breakfast and Kaiseki dinner is served in the resort. Even if you're not too fancy with raw seafood, you'll definitely appreciate the food presentation-it's just an art for your eye to see.

Takefue has just set the bar to a completely different level.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is stunningly beautiful! It was better than I expected. A traditional ryokan, it is the total experience. Forget about all the 5 star international chains. From the time you enter this gorgeous Japanese ryokan, you are met with over whelming hospitality. This property has 11 villas and 7 of them have their own indoor and outdoor hotsprings. After checking in at the reception, we were invited to choose a yakuta to wear during our stay. We had a choice of two different snack boxes when checking in. One was high calorie and one was low. I picked the one with low calorie. We even brought the empty snack box back home. Suzuki was our room attendant. She was superp. She escorted us to our villa, Bijo-an. It had two private onsen baths, one indoor and one outdoor. The outdoor hot spring bath was a beautiful rock pool with beautiful view over the surrounding bamboo forest. It was unbelievable. Our meals were brought to our room, beautifully presented in a large irori (traditional sunken hearth). They began the kaiseki dinner (many small courses) by heating up the irori in the middle of our private living room. The food was delicious.

Takefue’s certainly provided us with a memorable experience of a lifetime. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pandy2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Takefue onsen ryokan is truly a magical place. It's a natural hot springs resort in the middle of a bambo grove. Far from everything and very peaceful. If you do find the strength to venture outside the property, there are some beautiful country walks to take.

We were a group of 4 people and shared a villa together -- the only way for us to afford the luxury of the resort (it is rather expensive, but worth every yen). First we stayed in the Shien-an villa for one night -- highlights: both the outdoor and indoor baths are fantastic. Then we moved to the Sayo villa for two nights. The Sayo villa is Takefue's top villa, and for good reasons: it is absolutely stunning (its most striking feature being its outdoor bath&terrace right by the bambo forest).

Our package included breakfast and dinner (served in the villa), which is something i strongly recommend for the meals in Takefue are an experience not be missed.

I'd also recommend trying some of the public baths. You can book any bath for 45 mins. We tried a different one each night, picking the last slot of the evening. There are quite a few so If you only have time for one, go for the Chikurin No Yu open-air bath.

Sidenote: we stayed in Takefue end of Oct when the foliage changes colour: the days were sunny and warm, the evenings/nights were cool (the perfect time for a hot bath in the open air).

(very) Hot springs + bamboo grove + food porn + Suzuki, our wonderful room attendant + tranquility + Japanese countryside

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sami_aknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had best in the best vacation at Takefue...again. I travel around the world but this place is my favorite place in the whole world!! Room, bath, food and spa... And gorgeous colored leaves cannot explain by words. I stayed two night at Sayo and I really had great time. Hotel staff cannot speak fluent English but they communicate with dictionary and body language. I didn't have any communication problem during stay. Their hospitality is better than four star hotel! In the future, I want to come back here to experience the beauty of each season. I can imagine how beautiful to see the snow fall down from open air bath... Simply the best. I will work hard to come back here with my family again. I miss Takefue already.

Room Tip: They have only 11 room. Im sure its depend how you feel but I liked Sayo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Takefue is simply amazing and breathtaking. A cozy place with bamboo surrounding the ryokan. Probably the best stay ever. If budget is not an issue and you visit Kurokawan Onsen, this is a top choice. We stayed 2 nights: one in the Sayo suite and the other Takekiri suite. Sayo suite is simply astonishing, with an indoor and an outdoor onsen looking out to the bamboo trees. Food is very good as well, we had kaiseki the first night and nabe the second dinner, both are excellent. And not to forget the service: while English is hardly spoken there, Kuni-san, who spoke English, was assigned to take care of us. And he is the most friendly and helpful person, and take good care of all our needs. We would love to return to this place again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank OneCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My experience at Takefue was outstanding. We stayed three night there and that was heavenly comfortable. Located just pass the Shirakawa Onsen town but once we step in the property, we were surrounded by bamboo. In keeping with Japanese tradition of gracious hospitality and timeless elegance plus substantial guest amenities. We chose traditional Japanese Tatami style bed type but western style toilet(we cannot use Japanese style toilet...). Food was so amazing we had all three meal there on our second day. I loved Shiatsu & facial massage too. We feel peaceful and relaxable, just stay in the room or walk around the property. My husband and I visited Japan several times but this resort lodge style hotel was nothing to compare. My teenager daughter enjoyed private hot spring day and night. We loved everything about Takefue! We will definitely go back there again!!

Room Tip: You can choose western style bedding type or Japanese tatami style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minamioguni-machi hotels
Kurokawa Onsen
Ryokan Sanga
Ryokan Sanga
#2 of 52 in Minamioguni-machi
289 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Oyado Noshiyu
Oyado Noshiyu
#4 of 52 in Minamioguni-machi
113 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
#17 of 52 in Minamioguni-machi
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ryokan Wakaba
#3 of 52 in Minamioguni-machi
111 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamamizuki
Yamamizuki
#5 of 52 in Minamioguni-machi
224 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamabiko Ryokan
Yamabiko Ryokan
#13 of 52 in Minamioguni-machi
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takefue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takefue

Address: 5725-1 Manganji, Minamioguni-machi, Aso-gun 869-2402, Kumamoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso-gun > Minamioguni-machi > Kurokawa Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels / Ryokan in Minamioguni-machi
Price Range: $903 - $2,899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Takefue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Ikyu Corporation so you can book your Takefue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takefue Japan/Kumamoto Prefecture - Minamioguni-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing