We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
228
67
11
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
67
11
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busstone bathprivate onsenthe riverkaiseki dinnernext morningtwo nightsmain buildingjapanese buildingstraditional designrelaxing nightstay extra specialbooked onlinemagical staywould love to come backjapanese clothessnow falling
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 315 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Family experience in onset for first time, excellent venue, nice kaiseki dinner and v friendly service staff

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwkuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The onsen is a fair distance from the bus stop n town centre. We called the hotel on arrival n a driver arrived promptly to pick us. As it was too early to check in we dropped off at the info centre in town n bought passes to visit other onsens. The info centre staff insisted on calling Sanga n the same driver again promptly delivered towels to u; what fantastic service! We had a room overlooking the river. The outdoor family bath also has a beautiful view of the cascading river flow. The next day the staff recommended a walk to a scenic lookout point. The route passes through farms, forest n rivers. A lovely 3hr leisurely hike before relaxing in the onsen again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My family of 3 stayed at Sanga Ryokan for 2 nights in Sep 2011. This is by far the best ryokan my family has experienced in all our travel to Japan, which include ryokans in Hakone, Takayama, Matsumoto, Nyuto Onsen, Naruko, Yufuin, Beppu, and Takachiho.

Our attendent was Takenaka (Akiko)n san, an elderly lady. She personally saw to our every needs. On the second night, the proprietress offered to upgrade our room at no additional charge. This was a bonus we did not expect. The upgraded room has separate sitting area, sleepig area, bathroom, lanai, and to top it off, a priviate onsen overlooking the Kurokawa river.

The ryokan is situated about 15 minutes walk from the Kurokawa village, where all the other ryokans are located. To my family, this is a benefit rather than a disadvantage. The ryokan offers a shuttle service (less than 5 minutes) to the village on demand. This makes it convenient to visit the village. Being away from the village offers it own charm, given the small campus setting of Sanga Ryokan. At night, the soft lighting of the Japanese latterns make walking around Sanga Ryokan's many different baths and small buildings a magical and surreal experience.

The staff offers exceptional service from our arrival to our departure. What little Japanese my family knows, or how little English the staff knows, made very little difference in how the staff treated us. Mayu san at the ryokan also has an excellent command of English and she helped us with our day trip to Hita and Onta, made bus reservation for us from Beppu to Fukuoka, and provided some guidance to Mt. Aso upon our departure.

The meals for both nights were mutli course affairs with the second dinner more elaborate than the first dinner given the upgraded room. The dishes were light, well-balanced, eye candies, and delicious.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a little extra, would definitely recommend getting a room with a private onsen.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelbug96825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My daughter and I arrived in Japan (Osaka) the day after the disaster. We were not sure what to expect but it was business as usual from Osaka south and east. Our travel was not impacted by the quake/tsunami at all. Japanese people are very concerned about how tourism will be affected, so please don't cancel your trip; go and enjoy all that Japan has to offer. Japan is hospitable and beautiful and I can't wait to return.

Sanga Ryokan is surrounded by bubbling streams and forest. Onsen are everywhere, large outdoor natural hot pools, smaller onsen for feet and our room had a private onsen as well. All was heavenly! If you are a couple looking for a secluded, relaxing, romantic stay, Sanga Ryokan would be just perfect.

We booked through Japanese Guesthouses which provided excellent booking services for this and other ryokan accommodation in Japan.

We had a female 'butler' who looked after our every desire. She was friendly, attentive and helpful and ensured that our stay was wonderful.

The kansei meal was terrific and huge! Breakfast was also massive and very tasty.

Sanga Ryokan is a bit of a way from the village (which I liked) but they sent a driver to collect us from the bus stop as soon as I rang. You can be driven to other onsen and to the village as you desire. We wished we had had more time to explore all the cute looking shops in the village.....ah well, there's always next time!

The room was wonderful and offered many accessories such as yakata robes, toiletries, etc. Try the sweet potato sake, yummm!

If you go, do stay more than one night. We only stayed for one night and it was not enough! I really did not want to leave. Sanga Ryokan is in the most perfect setting; it is heaven in a forest.

Room Tip: book a room with a private onsen
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sanga Ryokan. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our bus arrived around 12pm and we were picked up by a nice man who provided us with umbrellas, and towels if we wanted to use the baths in the village. He drove us to the information centre and picked us up after lunch at 2:30 to check-in. The rooms were clean. The food was spectacular. There are several private family baths that you can reserve for an hour at a time. If you are uncomfortable being naked amongst strangers, I would recommend using the private baths. Our room also came with its own private bath, which was very nice. Because it is 3 hours away form Fukuoka, you are basically in a little village out in the woods. Kurokawa water is delicious, which means the rice and the sake are also delicious. I will definitely visit this little family ryokan again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HSS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews