We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveler rating
501
173
53
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
501
173
53
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant tadao ando terrace restaurant one night shuttle bus inland sea modern art lee ufan two nights hotel guests after hours naoshima island in advance unique experience museum hotel art island once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 756 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2019

We went to Naoshima as most everyone does, to see the contemporary art. We decided to stay at the Benessee House even though it was quite a bit more expensive than alternatives, and it was worth every Yen. We traveled the entire island and saw alternative places to stay, and they are no comparison to the Benessee House which has two fabulous restaurants and has art everywhere you look. The staff and facilities were as outstanding as the art. If we were to return to Naoshima, there is no where else we would stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slkfjjenfnkjoeind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

We stayed only one night but as soon as we got here we wished to stay longer. Booked a Beach room which was huge and beautifully furnished. The nearby construction work shoring up the hillside behind was only a minor annoyance. The building was a clever combination of bare concrete, natural stone and wood. We ate at the Japanese restaurant in the Museum. Excellent Kaiseki meal - the best on our trip. The Chichu gallery has some truly remarkable exhibits and is not to be missed. Overall excellent though the breakfast didn't match up to the quality of dinner.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank KJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

We booked the Benesse Park suite room, it’s super spacious with also big bathroom. On the balcony we could see the seaside and the park.

Just 3mins walk to the yellow pumpkin, we enjoyed the sunny weather while we stayed there.

Had the lunch, dinner, breakfast in Benesse museum, they are good enough esp. on Naoshima as an island.

No need to say service is spotless, museum is so nice.

Will be back again!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Lynette0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here in the Museum for a night in Feb 2019 with my wife and daughter. A beautiful room with a sea view and exceptional bathroom. Staff service absolutely top. The experience of Naoshima is very special and staying in this hotel undoubtedly enhances it. Not only do you feel more part of the place but the ability to use the courtesy buses to and from the port is very useful as there were queues for the local buses even in February. I would recommend staying either in the Oval if you can afford it (because the architecture and views are amazing) or in Beach rather than Museum as the Museum is a very public place. Also it is a little inconvenient having to walk or bus to dinner though they do provide a courtesy car to return. Terrace restaurant breakfast excellent, dinner a little disappointing quality for the price. Overall a memorable and amazing stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Booklover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

A pity we only stayed for a night at the PARK but the grounds are huge and there's so much to explore ! It's alot quieter during winter, you still get the mainland Chinese tourists but thankfully they don't spoil the serenity. 2 of the museums were closed so we only visited the Benesse House museum and the Oval for drinks. Service was good, room was comfortable, a little hiccup at the front desk on our breakfast arrangement but it wasn't too bad.
Naoshima is a lovely quaint arty island, the Arthouse Project is a must and you can rent bikes to cycle around. A lovely experience overall for a respite from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank syndromicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews