We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Benesse House; Worth the Detour”
Review of Benesse House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Benesse House
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Benesse House; Worth the Detour”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Benesse House and its museums are a wonderful experience. The Chichua museum with exhibits by Monet, Turrell, de Maria and Ando is one of the most spectacular and intimate museums in the world. The Beach room was lovely. The Western food for dinner spectacular. Service was excellent. The only downside, there were little signs around the Site of deferred maintenance at the House Museum, the de Mario standalone exhibit and in Park House. They need to improve their maintenance

Room Tip: The Park and Beach rooms are near the main dinning room. The Oval and Museum rooms are in a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    128
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
129
266
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
205 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

There's really nothing wrong with this hotel -- rooms are fine, restaurant is good, service does its job, you're on the water -- but understand you're paying a premium to stay in an isolated, concrete-heavy museum of curious contemporary art. If art-and-architecture of the Tadao Ando/Extreme-Multimedia MoMA persuasion is why you're in Naoshima, you'll be in your element. Otherwise, you may wonder why you let yourself get talked into this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alsolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
838 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wow!! Such an amazing experience. Warhols in the breakfast room. Hockney just near the door. Fantastic Ando architecture. Could you want any more. Unfortunately museum guests can't access the oval any more which is disappointing. I would have booked an oval room if I had known that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at Benesse House for two nights. We had one night up in the oval, accessed by cable-car. Views are magnificent and we when we awake, it was to a snow covered landscape. Magical.
The hotel staff shifted our bags down to the main museum hotel for our next night.
We did this just to experience the oval but also for economy.
The restaurant; Issen, is standard and not cheap, but convenient. Warhol on the walls.
If you stay at the museum, you get to wonder through the art at all hours, any time. The rooms also have great art in them. Our oval room had Keith Herrings on all the walls.

Helpful?
1 Thank patinbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Getting to the art islands is non trivial, you need planes, trains, boats, automobiles. All carefully choreographed. But it is absolutely worth it. This is one of the most extraordinary experiences you can have. You stay in a hotel-museum, with some of Sugimoto’s best works.

Each room has original art works by top global artists.

On nearby islands examples of some of the best art has ever done, including Monet water lilies framed exactly as Monet wished, and approached by a walk through a series of water lily ponds.

The villages themselves, inhabited by the very old, are art works in themselves, old Japan watches a giant ships ply the inland sea exporting cars and machines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEnriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It does take some panning to get there but once on Naoshima staying at Benesse House within the art museum is a once in lifetime experience. The monumental architecture of Tadao Ando in Benesse House and in two of the nearby museums is awe inspiring and although ones response to the contemporary art will vary with individual taste, the relationship of the architecture to the natural beauty of the island and the responses it elicits from you can't be denied. The austerity of some of the service may not suit everyone but we loved it and felt that all of the effort to get there and the expense of the hotel was worth every penny. We had a sensational set menu dinner at the Terrace restaurant and also enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The hotel was quiet this time of the year and we felt we had most of it to ourselves. Visiting the Chuchi gallery on site was an almost religious experience with James Turrells light installations: the responses those pieces elicited from us can't really be described but should be experienced by all.
For the ultimate James Bond experience, we recommend booking rooms in Oval, the section of the hotel on the highest point of the site, accessed by monorail from the museum wing of the hotel and situated underground with a huge oval opening framing the sky. The sunset and sunrise views from these rooms are jaw dropping.
We spent a single night here between Tokyo and Kyoto and haven't stopped talking about it since.
Loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: We loved the Oval rooms high above the rest of the hotel and accessed by monorail: very James Bond
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank POPs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is a Tadao Ando-designed complex on Naoshima. The architecture is great and the seaside setting provides great views across the Inland Sea. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful. The room rates are high, and may be justifiable only to those who want to take in the Naoshima sights. The sights themselves are passable -- the museums contain many mediocre modern arts and are uninspiring -- particularly if you've visited or reside in cities with major modern art collections. And the Honmura Art House project is a joke. The museums themselves are well designed, but the modern architecture can get boring to somebody who isn't a modern architecture aficionado. The Benesse House hotel restaurants are average and pricey, but there are few other eating options on the island. If you feel indifferent towards modern art and architecture, or have a limited budget, I would suggest you not splurge at the Benesse House and make a day trip of Naoshima from Okayama.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlueJaysFan212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naoshima-cho
Takamatsu Station
JR Hotel Clement Takamatsu
JR Hotel Clement Takamatsu
#1 of 66 in Takamatsu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Dormy Inn Takamatsu
#3 of 66 in Takamatsu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Guest House Omiyake
#1 of 10 in Naoshima-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Namihei
#2 of 10 in Naoshima-cho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benesse House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benesse House

Property: Benesse House
Address: Gotanji, Naoshima-cho, Kagawa-gun, Naoshima-cho 761-3110, Kagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Shikoku > Kagawa Prefecture > Kagawa-gun > Naoshima-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels / Ryokan in Naoshima-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Benesse House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benesse House Hotel Naoshima-Cho
Benesse Hotel Naoshima Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing