We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art Appreciators' Must See but Difficulty with Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Naoshima

Naoshima
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Art Appreciators' Must See but Difficulty with Accommodations”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent a day on Naoshima and saw Chichu, Ifan and the Art Houses without "art fatigue" because the collections and projects are highly focussed and the access monitored so the galleries are not crowded. The architecture and natural settings were wonderful. Would liked to have spent the night and explored another day, but a holiday made booking reasonably priced accommodations difficult , especially as some ryokans, according to the tourist information person who was making calls for us, are reluctant to make reservations for "foreigners" without cell phones. The claim is that "foreigners" with reservations have decided not to stay based on the exterior of the building. At least one accommodation recommended in the Rough Guide has this discriminatory policy. In addition at Oomiyake, we were asked to submit an internet reservation after a telephone reservation was confirmed. The internet reservation was also confirmed, but an email quickly cancelled the reservation without a stated reason. However, art and setting made up for the disappointment of not being able to stay and fully explore the island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paellapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    113
    36
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,586 reviews
690 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,216 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A trip to Noashima is a fabulous way to spend a day. Or if you are fortunate enough try and stay overnight. It’s a gorgeous little island, 20 mins by ferry from Uno port, which has an abundance of modern art. Both in terms of museums and random art pieces dotted around the island. Try and plan your trip so it coincides with museum opening days, as there are some days where they close.
There is a little bus which takes your round the island, or you can hire bikes from the waterfront, or if you are staying at Benesse House there is a complimentary shuttle bus which takes you round the island.
If you can plan your trip for a nice sunny day, as there are some fantastic view points around the island, which allow you some stunning views and amazing photo opportunities.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“benessee house naoshima japan”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had read various things about the oval at Bennesse house but our experience was that it was magnificent. The view from up high out to sea and the hilly islands was really something special. The reflecting pool in the oval was reflected back the experience of Turrell's light boxes. As a guest at Bennessee house you could roam around in the museum until late in the evening which felt special abd mysterious. You have to like the kind of art they show, but it is work we really love, so we were thrilled by the whole experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dianoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
445 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“An Island Hopping Art Holiday”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Naoshima Island is a must-stop in Japan for anyone with an interest in art and architecture. From the Benesse House to Chichu and lee Ufan Museums, to the Art house Project to the nearby islands of Teshima and Inoujima, you will be swimming in art. And happier than you can imagine.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Constant_traveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayase, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day trip with some art”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Overall, I really enjoyed my time on Naoshima. As several have mentioned, art however was not the main highlight.

My husband and I rented bikes near the port which I would recommend to tour the island. It allowed us to see the local community in between the art museums while getting some exercise. There are some serious hills (Benesse to Chichu) so be prepared that it might not be a leisurely ride at times.

We both enjoyed the Benesse museum. The price was a little pricey but there was enough to keep you busy for an hour or so. There is a cafe with wonderful views over the Seto Inland Sea too. Afterwards, we hung out in the outdoor sculpture garden where the famous Pumpkin piece is located. We had thought ahead so we enjoyed a brief break with snacks near it.

Afterwards, we biked the big hill to the Chichu Museum. The building is stunning and the art was good. However, there is really only three exhibits and it was 2000 yen! My husband thought it was too expensive and it's only because I enjoyed Monet's Waterlillies so much that I felt (slightly) justified in the price.

Lastly, we headed down to the port to eat at a local restaurant that was recommended. I wish I could remember the name because it had the most amazing kabocha (pumpkin) pie. Nothing like American pumpkin pie but very good.

We did the Art House Project which didn't do much for either of us and headed back to the port. We enjoyed some drinks at Cafe Shiroya beside the onsen. It had a really hip, vintage vibe and was a great place to relax and take in the day.

If you enjoy art and are looking for an unique day trip, this is your trip. Just be prepared to spend some money!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank pollockce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naoshima also viewed

Naoshima-cho, Kagawa-gun
Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
 
Naoshima-cho, Kagawa-gun
Naoshima-cho, Kagawa-gun
 

Been to Naoshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing