We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
27
37
15
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
37
15
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 86 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I had a very nice time at this hotel with my family.The cave onsens were nice and this hotel had lovely food. The staff were friendly to me.
The only unconvenient thing about this hotel was 'getting to the hotel'. You have to take a ferry across the sea and if you miss the ferry you have to wait. There is actually a car park near the hotel but the staff won't allow you to park your car there, it's very annoying.
But overall, I think this hotel was excellent and I will definitely recommend it to friends.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Doris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here one night especially to experience the famous cave onsen.
Noticed this hotel is listed as different properties under Tripadvisor in both the hotels and bed and breakfasts options.
Actually, Hotel Urashima is one big hotel with different buildings.

I stayed at Hotel Urashima Sanjokan (山上馆) which is the building right on top of the hill.
It is also the newest building in this hotel.
I chose the only set of connecting western type rooms for my family of four in the Sanjokan building.

We had our own car and based on the instructions on the website, drove to the hotel carpark which is situated about 17mins walking distance or 5mins drive to the pier.
There were shuttle buses waiting at the carpark to ferry hotel guests to the pier for the shuttle ferry to the hotel.
As we had booked the rooms in the Sanjokan building, preliminary checkin and registration of passports was done at the main reception in the main building.
We then proceeded to reception of the Sanjokan building on level 32 to get our room keys.

There are different color tapes running along the floor of the whole properly which you follow to the various buildings in this hotel.
We followed the green tape leading to the very long escalator up the hill to Sanjokan.

Our connecting rooms has a king sized bed in the main bedroom and two twin beds in the other.
Both rooms had views of the sea and that was the first thing that struck our eyes as we entered the room.
Each room has it's individual mini fridge and kettle, cups etc.
The bathroom in the main bedroom is Japanese style, separate toilet and bathing area and a very nice vanity area with two separate sinks.
The other bathroom is much smaller with western style bathroom, sink, toilet and bathtub all in the same room.
The housekeeping is a bit scanty. My main bathroom's body soap bottle had a tiny bit left and wasn't refilled when we checked in and they had forgotten the bathmat in the second room which is an annoyance because my daughters had nowhere to wipe their wet feet after stepping out of the bathtub.
Other than that, the rooms are basically clean.

We book the package with room stay and buffet breakfast only as we wanted to try the different baths in this hotel and didn't want to be restricted by set meal times.
Tried out the famous cave onsen first, you can take an elevator directly from our room on the 33rd floor to the 1st floor where the cave onsen is located. From the 1st floor lift lobby, it is only a very short walk to the cave onsen.
We were quite looking forward to try the cave onsen but unfortunately that was dampened when we saw a cockroach-like insect but much paler in color and with numerous legs at the washing area.
Also, no shampoo and conditioner was provided in the washing area, only body soap.
We were already unsettled by our encounter with the insect earlier and didn't relax and enjoy the cave onsen which is a pity.

We also tried out or looked in on the other baths in the hotel. I remembered one bath was quite disgusting as the bath was filled with sediments and an oily film on the surface of the water.
I wonder if they clean the baths everyday.
The bath that we enjoyed the most is the one on the 32nd floor. It's got a very nice view of the sea from the smallish outdoor rock bath.

Buffet breakfast was a mix of Japanese and Western.
The omelette station was quite popular and always had a queue.
Other than that, the other items were the usual standard fare, nothing memorable but enough to fill you up.
After breakfast, we took a walk to the viewing deck of the Sanjokan building before checking out at 11am.
Checking out was similar to checkin. You need to take the shuttle boat back to the pier and then the shuttle bus to the carpark to pick up your car.

My impression of this hotel is that it's a bit similar to those Las Vegas big hotels with it's arcades games and souvenir shops.
The only thing missing is the casino!
It's a big impersonal hotel and caters to hoards of tourists and Japanese on holidays.
It's an interesting experience but I probably won't return for a second stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Sanjokan building. It is a newer, cleaner and has great views of the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 高いがランクアップして山上館を勧めます。
Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 山上館なら東向きだと日の出も眺められるのでは。
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews