We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
17
49
11
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
17
49
11
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

It was a beautiful and clean hotel and I really enjoy the scenery around there. The hot spring is nice too. The environment is comfortable and relaxing that it is best to escape from work.

The things that I didn't like was this hotel is really isolated from the world! There were no internets available except a few sofas in front of the reception area. The hotel didn't provide internet in the room and no internet at the restaurant as well. Even you brought your own PocketWiFi but unfortunately, the signal was not good enough for you to surf even the Facebook!

Another thing I didn't like was most hotel rooms did not have private bathroom. You need to go to public bath even if you just need a shower! May be it is a good way to get used to Japanese culture quickly!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank KristWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017

- This hotels has a very nice outdoor bath overlooking the ocean (although strict gender separation, so had to go without my fiancee).
- There is WiFi only in reception area, not in guests rooms, neither in dining room.
- English skills were very basic, most staff struggled heavily with even elementary communication.
- The hotel is well maintained and rather modern (compared to quite of view other run down places we came along in Japan).
- There is a shuttle bus which unfortunately only runs a few times during the day. As the place is quite remote, this is inconvenient for getting around. The next train station about 2km away (Ukui station)
- I found the rooms noisy; I was able to hear foot steps from above and doors sliding from neighbouring rooms and rooms above, so I didn't sleep well as I woke up frequently.
- The view to the sea was partially blocked and from my room, I couldn't hear the waves as nearby exhaust fans were creating a lot more noise.
- The beach in nearby Ugui was certainly not inviting any guests: I was heavily under construction probably to build barriers for Taifun or Tsunami protection.
- This place is typically Japanese, in fact we apparently were the only westerners and there was hardly anything written in English.
- I sent an email in advance requesting a quiet room, but they only responded that they were fully booked and I had to take what I got. When I sent a following email the next day mentioning I couldn't sleep well due to the noise and asked about the possibility to change rooms, they didn't reply any more. Unfortunately, I was unable to put this request to the staff in the reception area as their command of English was extremely limited.

Unfortunately, due to the noise situation, I would choose another place the next time.

Room tip: Get a top floor room as otherwise you may hear steps from guests walking on top of you
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank emu901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017

I stayed in the ground floor of this hotel for two days with my family. The room was old but clean with a small bathroom. A dark seal on the window in the room obstructed the view of the sea. The room was Japanese style with tatami mats with a small fridge I could store cold drinks in.
Yukatas(a kind of cotton kimonos using as a relaxation wear) were prepared in the room, but all of them were the same size. I called the reception desk to ask other sizes of them, the answer was so unkind that I had to pick ones at the desk. Although I sent the information about my family members in advance.
As for dinner, I felt as if I were in a cheap restaurant. The service and food were average.
The public bath was really public. It means many people who are not hotel guests can take the bath. Too many people were in the bath in the evening, it was hard to relax.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amenatsume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked a night's stay at this property on our recent driving trip along the Kii Peninsula.
It's not a luxurious hotel by any means.
It's a family holiday resort with organized activities catering mainly to Japanese families.
This property has 50 rooms in total and only 8 rooms have full bathrooms.
The rest of the rooms have only toilets and washbasins.

It's an older property and I believe that only the Japanese western rooms have been updated.
Initially, I wanted to book the updated Japanese Western room for my family of four but upon email correspondence with the resort management, I realise that these types of rooms have no bathing facilities inside the rooms. Japanese Western rooms have toilet and washbasin only.

I then proceeded to book two Japanese rooms and requested that I be given the ones with full bathrooms.
As it was low season when we checked in, we were given two Japanese rooms with full bathrooms on the same floor, one at either end of the corridor as only the corner rooms have full bathrooms.

The Japanese rooms have not been updated but it's kept very clean. The bathroom area is Japanese style where the toilet and the bathroom is separated. The sink is located just outside the bathroom.
Both rooms have views looking out to the ocean.
Checkin time was at 3pm but we arrived just after 12pm. To our surprise, we were given the keys to our rooms almost immediately but were told that we can only use the onsen later as it was closed from 11am-4pm.
The staff at this properly are very friendly even though they couldn't really communicate in English well.
Somehow we understood each other with their limited English, my limited Japanese and a lot of gestures.

We booked the dinner plan with Kumano beef steak and buffet breakfast.
Dinner is semi buffet style where they'll serve you the main course you booked (in our case, the grilled steak) and a small pot of nabe (steamboat) comprising of slices of Kumano pork and vegetables. You can help yourself to the salad, side dishes, rice, dessert and drinks like water and tea from the buffet station.
You can also pay and order beer and soft drinks. The prices are quite reasonable.
The food was simple and wholesome. Not fanciful but taste home cooked using fresh ingredients from the region.

We tried the onsen after dinner and I must say that this is the best part of the property.
We love the outdoor onsen that overlooks the ocean.
After nightfall, soaking in the round wooden tubs looking up at the star lit sky and listening to the crash of the waves is a different experience compared to soaking in the morning watching the magnificent view of the ocean right before your eyes.
Really enjoyed the Onsen here. In the end, we didn't even use the bathroom in our own rooms that much. We prefer to take our baths in the public onsen instead.
After your bath, there is a relaxation room where you can use the foot massage machines or just relax on the chairs provided.
There is a laundry room just outside the public bath with two sets of coin operated washer dryer for guests.
Wifi is available in the lobby only. You log in with a pass code. Ask at the front desk.
No Internet in the rooms, not even a Lan cable.

Overall, it's a nice family friendly property.
I wouldn't call it a resort or even a hotel. It has a holiday village feel to it.
I would consider a return stay again if only to use the onsen one more time.
Also,we are very touched by the lady who checked us in and the man who came out to assist her to try to explain stuff in English to us. Their friendliness and willingness to answer our numerous queries despite the language barrier really makes our day!

Room tip: Only 8 rooms have full bathrooms, 7 Japanese rooms and 1 Western accessible room. Request for these if you are uncomfortable bathing in the public onsen.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews