We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
9
11
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
11
9
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 32 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2015

if in advance you already have the following :
a rental car and a rental smartphone with internet usage

then this hotel/motel is considered one of the best location and value in Shirahama
everything by car is next you (beach, dinosaur kids park Convenient sores etc)
rooms were ok with a s great view and thee was a very bathtub jacuzzi and near the rooms there was an onsen which was something refreshing.

there is no elevates only stairs but i didn't mind since our luggage weren't that heavy
the staff were very friendly but i guess they sleep early because you barely see them after 9PM .
it is very quite at night which is something I perfer after a long day at the beach and outside with the family

I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who meets the conditions that i typed earlier and who wants to have a semi modern/traditional Japanese hotel experience and a friendly atmosphere.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2014

Went there with family. I was revisiting this hotel but my family was the first time to stay there. The boss Mr. Haito was very friendly. He even spoke some Chinese & English :D

My family enjoyed the stay a lot. All rooms had a view to the sea with balcony. They had a Japanese shower, which you could sit down and enjoy cleaning yourself, and separate whirlpool bathtub. Room quality was great as the past. They had a helper Ms. Maria from The Philippines and spoke fluent English and Japanese. The breakfast was great American-Japanese style with coffee, tea or orange juice. You could even enjoy it at the seaside terrace.

The hotel was away from JR Shirahama station like other good seaside resort in the area so you better take taxi / drive if you don't want to wait for a bus. It could take a long time to wait for one and if you don't read Japanese / Kanji (Chinese characters) it may be a problem for you to get off at the right stop. If you do want to take a bus there, get off at "桟橋" (pontoon). It would take maybe 15 min walk from the hotel to go to the famous SHIRARAHAMA BEACH. Driving would be a much better choice.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who want to have a boutique hotel experience and a friendly atmosphere.

Room tip: 2nd floor would be good enough. There was no elevator.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, views from our large first floor room over the harbour were very good. Large and bright shower and bathroom also with harbour views. The shower is not over the bath, and the bath is whirlpool. Bathroom amenities were good quality but towels a bit on the thin side. Bed and pillows were very comfortable but the timber edges make getting in and out of bed awkward.

Huge LCD TV with lots of channels but the remote was difficult to understand and we couldnt get rid of some on screen instructions which were in Japanese.

The on site onsen is very convenient, doesnt cost any extra but needs to be reserved so it can be filled up with fresh water prior to the time required.

This place was difficult to find as there are no english signs. We used the number 1 bus from JR Shirahama and were able to communicate with the driver as to where we should get off (Sanbashi stop). Basically if you get off the bus at the correct stop, walk back in the direction you came from for approx 100 metres and cross the road. The hotel is just past the hairdresser.
There are a few restaurants about but all require at least a 5 minute stroll. This is not the side of town where it all happens, but we were not looking for that. Its good to get away from the crowds of the big cities.

The owners are extremely helpful and easy to communicate to. Drove us to the JR Station on the last day.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bozz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was one of the most impressive boutique hotels I've ever stayed at. Extremely spacious rooms, stylish furnishings, coffee and tea in the room, balcony with table and chairs and view of the sea out back, huge TV, and large bathroom with whirlpool bath and all toiletries you might want, including bubble bath, oils and hair dryer. Large foyer with plenty of space for coats, shoes and umbrellas. A pleasant 5-minute walk to the beach on the other side of the peninsula (as well as hotels that charge up to 6 times as much) and not much farther to the famous seaside hot spring (onsen). Close to some convenience stores and 24-hour supermarket. The kind owner gave me a ride back to the train station on my way out, otherwise there is a taxi dispatch company right across the street if you need it. Only a 5-km taxi ride from the train station.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night but it really wasn't long enough!

The hotel is located right next to Sanbashi bus stop on the east side of the Shirahama area, easily accessible by a 10 minute bus ride (or taxi if you can afford it!) from right in front of JR Shirahama station.

The owner was waiting at the door to greet us - very friendly, extremely helpful and speaks pretty good English, though can obviously give extra info if you speak Japanese. He recommended some local restaurants nearby that were fantastic.

There is also a hot spring on the second floor, available for an hour by reservation. It's also a family bath so if you're like us and prefer your privacy it's ideal! There's also a lounge attached where you can relax afterwards. A restaurant is on the first floor but was closed during our stay (perhaps due to it being off season)

The room itself was very clean, had all the amenities you could need and had a nice view of the ocean. The TV in the room was huge and the bed very comfortable. There's also a jacuzzi bath with cool changing lights!

The main beach is an easy 8-10 minute walk away with a convenience store next to the footpath there. On the way we found a public foot spa which was really refreshing.

This place is a great little retreat, highly recommended to anyone wanting to get away for the weekend!

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osakaduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews