We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hot spring hotel”
Review of Hotel Seamore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seamore
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Japanese style room is spacious, although no sea view. The sea view from the osen is magnificent! Reception is very helpful and polite. The dinner is also very good. I think the hotel and room decorations are okay. It's traditional not outdated. Everywhere is very clean.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank MichelleYHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 171 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

The location is great as it's right opposite a 'central' bus stop, convenient for traveler getting bus to the seafood market and 円月島.
If you travel from the airport, takes 10 minutes MTR to ひねの Hineno station (日根野), then take 2 hours MTR express to Shirahama-chō (白浜町),from there, you'll see a central bus station and take 10 minutes bus from Shirahama -cho bus station to the hotel entrance.
I did not except too much about the hotel because I've tried called the hotel prior to my arrival but all staff could not understand english which makes me lose confident. However once I get to the hotel, staff are helpful and great! One of their Mandarin speaking staff assist with the check in and escort me to the room, she mention special highlights I need to know and introduce room features.
The hotel is very classic Japanese style hot spring hotel, spacious lobby and check in area, however is a bit "old".
Staff well speak Japanese and English, if you have luck, you'll meet the Chinese staff serving you there. All of them are very friendly and able to provide enquiry of tourist information.
With equipped with a small coffee shop and basic F&B support, please do not except too much or high end but it can for sure entertain basic request as anyway you'll probably headlong out for ramen and seafood at the nearby seafood market.
The outdoor hot spring is great where you enjoy a 180 degree sea view...one thing I like very much is it opens 24 hours, so can go whenever you like.
I went there twice, once at midnight and the other early morning at 1000hrs. I was the only guest enjoying the fabulous sea view hot spring, it's really amazing and relaxing. I hate places crowded with people so I will feel this credit me.
The hotel have not much rooms but i believe the occupancy is very high, rooms is very spacious with several rooms enjoying sea view. Basic bath amenities is well set, bath soap, shampoo, hair conditioner, hair dryer, bathrobe, mini fridge is ready. Quality is acceptable so you don't have to carry your own brands.
There are vending machine for drinks and ice cream at most areas which is convenient!
Wifi is available at lobby, if you need Internet access for your whole trip, it's wise for you to purchase an Internet access card online prior to your trip (browse bmobile website).
Maps and tourist information is well equipped at the front desk.
When you need a taxi, the door attendant will assist you call taxi operator.
The overall experience is good and I think I will consider being back in future.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank Smile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

For our trip to Osaka, Japan, my wife and I decided that we would like to stay in an Onsen hotel. After some research, we decided to head to Shirahama, which was a 3 hour train ride from Osaka. Actually we knew very little about the Hotel Seamore and in fact we had a bit of difficulty getting there from Osaka by train. The reason was because we made a side trip to Wakayama for a few hours, and we were worried that we would check in very late and miss the kaiseki dinner.

We arrived at Shirahama station and rushed out of the station to find the free shuttle bus to the hotel waiting for us. (We were 15 minutes late, but the bus had not left yet). The ride to the hotel is about 5-10 minutes and we arrived to be greeted by a group of hotel staff waiting by the entrance. One lady dressed in a beautiful kimono insisted on carrying our bags for us. Check-in was easy, and efficient. They asked us when we would like to have dinner, and prepared accordingly.

We were pleasantly surprised when we were told that we had been upgraded from an ocean side Japanese room to a special Western/Japanese hybrid suite. A man took us to our room and when we got went in, we were amazed at the size of the room. The “lobby” of the room was about the size of our hotel room in Osaka. There was an automatic sensor door that opened up to a room with a beautiful and very serene ocean view. One side was Western style, with two twin beds, sofa and flat screen TV. The other side had a Japanese table, with tatami mats. Everything was amazing, except for the fact that the bedding, drapes, and sofa on the Western side were a bit old, but we really didn’t care because every other part of the room was great.
The bathroom was in another separate room, and included a Japanese style shower and also a bathtub but we did not use either because we mostly washed in the onsen. The toilet was separated into its own room which was a nice touch and very practical. At around six o’clock, the maids came in to the room to turn the room down and make up the tatami bedding.


Onsen:
The onsen was separated according to gender. In the two days that I stayed at the hotel, I visited the onsen three or four times. Each time it was never crowded and I was often one of a few people in the onsen. The onsen is separated into indoor and outdoor onsen. I opted mostly to bathe in the outdoor onsen because it was more private and the onsen was situated where you could bathe outdoors and also enjoy the excellent ocean view. It was like heaven. Another great thing was that the dressing room in the onsen had great toiletries. The onsen was great because it never closed and the view really was spectacular.

Dinner:
One of the great things about ryokan style hotels is that usually a kaiseki style dinner is included. We were booked for two nights and we had two different and really great multi course meals. We counted 11-12 courses in our meal and it consisted of really tasty dishes made from (what we were told) local and seasonal ingredients. We sampled dishes ranging from sashimi, sukiyaki, pickled local vegetables, hot pot rice, and tasty miso soup. The meals served on each night were very different and were made from different types of ingredients. We had an English speaking server who explained what everything was and his presence enhanced the enjoyment of our meals.

The town:
Shirahama is a great little onsen town. We visited several places within walking distance to our hotel such as the Sendanbeki, and the Shirahama beach. As we walked around, we were struck by the fact that there weren’t many people around. As we spent two days there, we wondered if we arrived at a down time in April. We loved walking around and exploring this town that is mainly known for their onsen. The town was right by the sea and served as a wonderful contrast to the busy streets of Osaka.

Overall:
We had a wonderful experience visiting Shirahama and staying at the Hotel Seamore. This quaint onsen town is great for travelling couples who want to experience bathing in the different varieties of onsen that the town has to offer. The hotel experience was great and the room size was more than adequate for two persons. In fact, we joked about the fact that the room could easily accommodate an entire family! The staff was great and very welcoming, and at the end of our stay, they suggested that we take the coach bus back to Osaka, which was a great way to see the neighboring towns. We would love to go back to Shirahama in the near future, and it would be hard not to choose the Hotel Seamore for our next trip here.

Room Tip: Allow adequate time to travel to the hotel if you are going from Osaka by train. If travelling b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

it is quite good for hot spring separating male and female. can have a nice hot spring in the early morning and night with the beautiful seaview & sunset. The food is also good for Asian.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggytsang2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We went with family and friends, total with 4. We had booked 2 rooms. We stayed for 2 nights in mid Oct 2010. Lobby with minimal decor as well and outdated. The room is very spacious, with 1 side in traditional tatami setting and 1 side with western twin beds setting. Very spacious, rather outdated decor with an old fabric sofa in the room, but the flat screen TV is huge and it has memory card plug in feature, so that was good for us to review our pictures. Hubby and I slept in the tatami side, and we got bitten by ?flea or ?bedbugs. However, our family in the other room has no such problem. The meals at night provided by the hotel was good, and service was amazing. The hotsprings are also nice. For female, there are 2 large indoor hotsprings, and 5 outdoor hotsprings. The outdoor hotsprings face the ocean with spectacular view. It also face the observatory tower at the back of the hotel, and i suspect people at the observatory tower area can see the people using the hotspring if they really try to look, but good thing the observatory tower area is never really busy. The changing room area for the hotsprings is rather stuffy, and on the way into the hotspring area, at times there's a foul odor, I am suspecting it is coming from the washroom just outside of the changing room. The hotel does provide generous amount of good quality shampoos, lotions..etc, so this is one positive thing worth mentioning. You get free WiFi internet at the breakfast area only, possibly limited to a.m. use as well. As soon as you walk out of the breakfast hall, the WiFi doesn't work.
Overall it is a fair hotel, but I would not recommend it with this price to bare the risk of being bitten by bedbugs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sopsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

it is quite good for hot spring, it separate male and female. can have a nice hot spring in the early morning and night. The food is only fair.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
Thank ElvaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank そひら
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shirahama-cho hotels
Shirahama Onsen
Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa
Shirahama Coganoi Resort&Spa
#1 of 56 in Shirahama-cho
337 reviews
Shirahama Onsen
Kishu Shirahama Onsen Musashi
Kishu Shirahama Onsen Musashi
#8 of 56 in Shirahama-cho
189 reviews
Shirahama Onsen
Yanagiya
Yanagiya
#12 of 56 in Shirahama-cho
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shirahama Onsen
Shiraraso Grand Hotel
Shiraraso Grand Hotel
#2 of 56 in Shirahama-cho
218 reviews
Shirahama Onsen
Nanki-Shirahama Marriott Hotel
Nanki-Shirahama Marriott Hotel
#4 of 56 in Shirahama-cho
172 reviews
Shirahama Onsen
Hotel Sanrakuso
Hotel Sanrakuso
#6 of 56 in Shirahama-cho
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seamore

Address: 1821, Shirahama-cho, Nishimuro-gun 649-2211, Wakayama Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Nishimuro-gun > Shirahama-cho > Shirahama Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels / Ryokan in Shirahama-cho
Price Range: $96 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seamore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Seamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing