We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”
Review of Fukuchiin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fukuchiin
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Pros: traditional shukubo in Koya-san, easily reachable by bus from Koya-san station, perfect to explore the Koa-san temples. Facilities are great (big room, great onsens). Wi-Fi access is possible in the common spaces. Staff speaks good English and is friendly.

Cons: it's pricey, and although you can clearly see this is a "real" temple with "real" monks, this is still very touristic... You have to pay for everything like seeing the monks do their writing, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 376 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beautiful gardens. Actually my third visit here.Even has a coffee shop/lounge...rooms simple but food delicious. Worth upgrading to top level courses.Service very attentive and lovely outside baths.Good sleep! Foreign guests please use the slippers when walking in public areas your bare feet are impolite. Bare feet in /on tatami mat rooms only!

Room Tip: sometimes caters to large groups so baths can get crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roomchecker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would reccomend staying at this monastery to anyone visiting Koyasan, the rooms themselves are simple, with traditional matting, paper doors, and decor. My room had a view over the water garden at the back, which was a very peaceful place to sit and look out onto.

The food served at the monestary was simple, vegetarian food, which, to my western pallete was a different experience, but very delicious (particularly the the soups and tempura battered vegetables).

The morning prayers which guests are invited to sit in on are also definitly worth the early morning start.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights.
When we arrived (before check in, 15.00) we could store our luggage. And we went in town to look around. When we came back to check in, our luggage was already in our room!

Before we saw our room, we got a tour trew the temple by an english guide. You even have wifi! And two onsen, a beautiful garden and a prayingroom.
Our room was basic. A closet (with your own kimono), a heater, table, two pillows to sit on, tv (which we didn't use) and a tatami floor.
The staff will do anything for you of you ask. They put down are beds. A matras, pillow and thick blanket. Really comfy!

We joint a morning pray which starts at 6.00 till 7.00. You can visit it everyday. When you do the staff will enter your room and take your bed away and put your breakfast on plates in your room. You tell the time you want to eat at the staff, so they will warm up The soup and bring fresh tea and rice.
Breakfast is rice with soup, misosoup, and alot of other little dishes. All delicious and without meat, fish, eggs, milkproducts.

We really loved our stay in Koya-San at fukuchi-in. The onsen are really hot and relaxing! The staff is really nice. It's not on The main street, but really close by all the tourist attractions.

But be prepared in may it can be cold! So bring a jacket (Fukuchi-in is cold, because the sliding doors are always open). But in your room you have a heater, that The staff turns on, so it's always The right temperature!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patriesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The monastery buildings are atmospheric, with great gardens. My room was in the modern extension that has the nice onsen. It was comfortable but lacked charm. I went for the most extensive diner, and the vegetarian food was satisfying.

One qualification is that compared with other places I stayed at in Japan, this was quite expensive. There is something touristy about accomodation in Koya San - though it is definitely worth spending a night there, rather than visiting it as a day trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Fukuchi-in was a beautiful and well-organised temple. We were greeted and shown to our room as well as all the facilities by a very well-spoken Japanese man. Our room was comfortable if not a little on the smallish side. We had a shared bathroom and toilet at the end of the hall. The inn has a wi-fi area, though we couldn't seem to get it when we were there, a couple of sitting areas and a souvenir shop as well as beautifully manicured and maintained gardens. The meals beautifully presented and the staff attentive and helpful.

The highlight was probably the monks morning prayer ritual to which guests are invited to attend (as spectators). It was an amazingly tranquil start to the day and I felt most privileged to be an observer of such an event. Really lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitegato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in Koyasan for two nights and chose the Fukuchi-in on the Trip Advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. After staying in Tokyo and Kyoto, we really wanted to enjoy a couple of days peace and quiet and see more of rural Japan and this was exactly what we got. Just the journey there in itself was a fantastic experience, heading up the mountain and once we found the Ryokan we fell in love with it immediately. Beautiful zen garden, wonderfully helpful staff and the most delicious meals - I had no idea you could do so much with Tofu!
The hotel is like a museum with beautiful artefacts all over and we really enjoyed the onsen, especially as it was close to freezing the whole time we were there. The town itself is beautiful and we'd definitely encourage others to spend a day walking through the Okunion - absolutely mesmerising.
My only criticism was the Calligraphy class we took part in. We had to copy out a Buddhist Sutra which was fine in itself, but there was no translation into English and the monk was not able to explain to us what it meant.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth paying the extra Yen for a room with a toilet in, especially if you are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillymocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.6 mi away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 47 in Koya-cho
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#6 of 47 in Koya-cho
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koyasan Fudoin Temple
Koyasan Fudoin Temple
#2 of 47 in Koya-cho
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#10 of 47 in Koya-cho
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ichijoin
Ichijoin
#5 of 47 in Koya-cho
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sekishoin
Sekishoin
#42 of 47 in Koya-cho
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fukuchiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fukuchiin

Address: 657 Koyasan, Koya-cho, Ito-gun 648-0211, Wakayama Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Specialty lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range: $172 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fukuchiin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fukuchiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyasan Onsen Fukuchi-In Hotel Koya-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing