We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of fresh air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“A breath of fresh air”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

All i can say, leaving the city and embarking on this journey to Koyasan, you can already feel the difference. Ekoin is located within Koyasan where it's just minutes away to the landmark, Okuno-in, so you will have no problem visiting it when you travel there. It is also a calm and peaceful place to stay where you can see the activities of the monk without interrupting their routines which was something quite fascinating to me. Apart from the price which (GBP100/night), i would say it's a worthwhile experience because this is not something you can experience anywhere in the world. I went there during the raining season, June/July, during that time it rained a lot and i didn't get to see much of Koyasan. So i stayed at the inn most of my time there, while staying indoors my friends and I talked with the monks, they were very nice and spoke fluent english. We told them we were kind of bored and they offered to teach us how to play Gō (japanese chess) they were pleasant company and we had lots of fun. However, the rain didn't stop so the monks working there were kind enough to introduce me to a very nice place for a meal with my friends i travelled with. The food was great and the price was good, overall i enjoyed my trip there and would definitely come back for more. Recommended to all single traveller/ traveling with friends/ couples. I wouldn't recommend for business people because the telephone line and internet line is quite dodgy sometimes but someone who needs a change from busy city areas, this would be the place to be!

Room Tip: For Koyasan, i would say choose somewhere that's convenient for getting the bus because you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    154
    43
    13
    12
See reviews for
61
210
61
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It’s hard to review a temple lodging, since unsurprisingly I have nothing to compare it to, and your experience is likely to depend to a large extent on your expectations. We went in intrigued, open-minded, not expecting anything particularly life-changing, and were glad we stayed for a night.

The monks were polite and helpful, to the extent that they could be. For example, it was a shame that the meditation session on our visit couldn’t be translated into English, but from what I could gather that depends on the availability of an English speaking monk.

The room was lovely, looking out on the delightful gardens. Having our meals in here was a peaceful delight. The food itself was good but not outstanding, and the cheapest (and therefore smallest) meal option was perfectly sufficient.

The morning prayers and fire ceremony were interesting, but we’ll probably remember the experience more for the peace and quiet of the place after the daytrippers left town, either in our room or wandering around town.

It wasn’t all serene though: the atmosphere of the communal areas was more like a youth hostel than a sacred site, but that may just have been down to the guests on the night we stayed. It’s not a negative particularly, just don’t expect wall to wall reverence.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMenzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I agree with all the comments about the temple being beautiful, the food good and Koyasan being worth a visit.

However, we thought there would be more interaction between the monks and the guests (for instance, maybe we would all be eating/meditating together). Instead there were maybe 20 guests staying, we ate in our own rooms, and there were just 2 monks performing the morning ceremony. (The same 2 monks had told us how to meditate the night before and then left us to it).

All in all, we were left with the feeling that we were staying in an uncomfortable, over-priced room in a monastic theme park, rather than really being given an opportunity to experience monastic life.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

The experience is overall magical and the temple beautiful..you can also participate in meditation sessions and buddhist ceremonies.
Koya san is a must see and this temple is one of the nicest in town. The price is just a little bit too high I think (100 Euros per Night) but it's exactly the same for all the temples in the area..so, take this one!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessiaenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a good option for Koyasan. Easy to get to from the train station - just take the bus to Karakuya-do bus stop and walk straight a few meters. If you are coming from Osaka buy the "World Heritage" ticket at the Nankai train station as it will cover your train rides and give you unlimited bus rides throughout Koyasan for 2 days, which we found very helpful.

Eko-in is run by monks so don't expect any 'hotel service' type of experience. The room was pretty big but very simple/basic and the beds warm but not super comfortable. But don't forget - you are staying at a temple - not a hotel. Bathrooms are shared and there is a 'indoor onsen' type of a bath in the main area available in the evenings only (no showers/tub in the morning). WiFi is available only at reception/computer room area. Location - very close to the Okunoin cemetery - was superb!

We attended the morning prayer and the fire ceremony and they were very interesting. Food was simple but good and enough of it (we got the 10,000 Yen set). Breakfast was Japanese style so pretty much the same type of food as dinner.

Dinner is at 5:30pm in your room and it gets dark right after that. There is not much else to do in your room after dinner so we walked through the cemetery for a bit and then found a cute small bar with bright lights right accross from the bridge/cemetery entrace. Good french fries and beer.

Koysan is beautiful place to visit for 1 night. You can see all the sights in one afternoon/evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ok, it is quite expensive and certainly the monks have understood that tourists staying for a "shukubo" (overnight in a temple) are a good business. But the place is just beautiful, very well located (a stone throw from Okunoin - which is magical at night - and a 10 min walk from the Garan), vegetarian food is delicious, meditation sessions short but enjoyable, rooms very large and nicely decorated, shared bathrooms and common areas very clean and well kept, monks extremely helpful and able to speak good English. A great experience that we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Ekoin is a wonderful temple on the Eastern end of Koyasan (near the famous cemetery). The monks there were extremely welcoming, going out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. A major part of the experience are the early morning ceremonies at the beautiful main temple and the smaller one for the fire ritual. Definitely worth getting up super early to attend. Our buddhist vegetarian meals served in traditional style in our room were all delicious and well-presented.

We tend to be a rather private couple, so when we called for availability (and it is best to call--just say "Sumimasen, eigo o hanashimass ka?" and they will find you someone who speaks English) and were told rather apologetically that only the private suite was available, we excitedly jumped on it. What we didn't realize is that a big part of the experience are the shared meals (and evening baths) with the other guests. We felt a bit like we were missing out, even though our room and bathroom were great (and with an excellent shower!).

Ask at the office for a map of the area; it makes a big difference. Definitely spring for the night-time cemetery tour for an extra 1500 yen/person - it's pretty magical being in this ancient cemetery at night surrounded by thousand-year old cedar trees, guided by an English-speaking monk.

Keep in mind that Koyasan sits on top of a large mountain, so given the altitude it's considerably cooler (even in the Summer) than the cities of Japan. We found we were rather cold in our room even in mid-September, and weren't prepared for it. Close the screens if you want to keep your room comfortable. Oh, and pack bug spray. Lots of bug spray.

All in all, a unique experience and great food with friendly monks.

Room Tip: A big part of the experience are the shared meals (and evening baths) with the other guests. We fel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinandetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.6 mi away
Fukuchiin
Fukuchiin
#7 of 44 in Koya-cho
323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#9 of 44 in Koya-cho
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yochiin
Yochiin
#11 of 44 in Koya-cho
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#17 of 44 in Koya-cho
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koyasan Kongo Sammaiin
Koyasan Kongo Sammaiin
#31 of 44 in Koya-cho
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mt.Koya Kumagaiji
Mt.Koya Kumagaiji
#8 of 44 in Koya-cho
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekoin Temple, Koyasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekoin Temple, Koyasan

Property: Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Address: 497 Koyasan, Ito-gun, Koya-cho 648-0201, Wakayama Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 Specialty lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ekoin Temple, Koyasan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
【History of Ekoin】A 1000 year-old Buddhist temple, Shukubo Koya-san Eko-in offers Japanese-style accommodation, a beautiful garden, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are free to attend Buddhist morning services, the Goma fire ritual and meditation.【Rooms&Facilities】Rooms feature tatami-mat floors, traditional futon beds and paper sliding screens. They are fitted with an LCD TV and a safe. Bathroom facilities are shared, and the public baths are open only from 4 pm-10 pm daily.【Meals】Meals are served at the guest room at scheduled times and feature Buddhist vegetarian cuisine. Groups of more than 4 people dine at the Japanese-style dining room, where chairs can be provided upon advance request.【Surroundings】Shukubo Temple is close to other ancient Buddhist buildings such as Kongobu-ji Temple, which is a 10 minute walk. The Ichi-no-Hashi entrance to the ancient Okuno-In Temple is a 3 minute walk away.*Guests can experience group meditation, and they can write Buddhist texts with a brush and ink on scrolls at their room. They can also go hiking in the scenic surroundings of Koya-san Eko-in. The temple has a lounge with a computer corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ekoin Temple, Koyasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ekoin Temple Hotel Koya-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing