We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
40
12
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
40
12
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public bath temple grounds once in a lifetime other guests amazing experience star hotel two nights morning ceremony japanese culture prayer room temple lodging japanese bath the bus walking distance buddhist monks koya san snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights; good, central location.
Our room was window-less; next time we would book a room with a window; we felt locked-in.
You can’t really stay in your room (with is your dinner and bedroom at the same time; you cannot sit anywhere.
We had in-room shower and toilet which was ok.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
The morning “Buddhist celebration” was ridiculous and totally touristic. You don’t get an authentic monastery feeling/impression. But not sure you get that anywhere else in Koyasan.
You must visit the famous graveyard forest- superb experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank thomasaY9028QQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

Igual es que teníamos las expectativas muy altas pero sinceramente después de viajar hasta aquí he de decir que realmente no es lo que esperábamos de un templo.
La habitación es amplia y te preparan los futones después de cenar en ella a las 17:30.
Hasta las 22:00 ha sido imposible dormir, nos ha tocado un grupo de campamento con el correspondiente griterío, por otra parte sorprende que en la habitación hay Tv (las paredes son de papel). No se corresponde con lo que pagas te sale la noche a precio de hotel de 5 estrellas...
Lo mejor y lo que ha merecido la pena es poder acudir al rezo de las 6:00 con los 3 monjes. El personal también ha sido muy amable en todo momento.

Just as we had very high expectations but honestly after traveling here I have to say that it really is not what we expected from a temple.
The room is spacious and they prepare the futons after dinner in it at 17:30.
Until 22:00 it has been impossible to sleep, we have had a camping group with the corresponding shouting, on the other hand it is surprising that there is TV in the room (the walls are made of paper). It does not correspond to what you pay for the night at a 5-star hotel price ...
The best and what has been worth it is to be able to go to the 6:00 prayer with the 3 monks. The staff has also been very friendly at all times.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 76amaias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

Let me start by saying this isn't a regular hotel. If you go there with a view of it being like one you may be disappointed. What you're paying for is a once in a lifetime opportunity to spend some time in a 700yr old monastery at the top of a mountain that was not all that long ago off limits to the general public. If you are paying out then you absofrigginglutely have to get up and go to the morning prayers. I served my time going to Sunday school when I was a kid so generally I'm not into this kind of thing. The morning prayers however are worth going to.
When you arrive at the temple be sure to ask about the cemetery walk that is done in the evenings from another temple down the road. You can reserve a place online easy enough.
Also make use of the onsen. It's only small but a good place to chill out for a bit before dinner which by the way is excellent.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 5imon5ays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

I spent two nights at Koyasan, and Koyasan itself was a magnificent place to be in. I spent one of the two nights at Jokiin, with the other night at Ekoin. Between the two, Jokiin was less crowded, and more peaceful. One added bonus was that on the night I stayed there, there was some mild snowing, and when we woke up, the temple's roof and surroundings were covered in snow, which was quite a sight to behold.

I attended the morning ritual, which was very spiritual. Though it was very cold (for someone like me who has spent my entire life in a tropical country), the facilities were adequate, and kept my partner and I warm. It takes a while to get used to taking showers in the public bath, but if you keep an open mind, it can be rather liberating and gradually, you will get used to it. The temple is also near many places of interest, which makes it rather convenient as a base to set off from. The staff at the temple can speak English, so it is not a big issue for tourists for speak English as well. Overall, I would definitely recommend people to consider this accommodation.

Room tip: Stay on an upper floor, if you can.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wls1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019

Staying overnight at Jokiin temple was a big highlight of our trip in February. I'd say, anyone who is interested in Japanese culture, and especially Shinto Buddhist teachings, should experience Shukubo stay. The time spent here is so unique and special, that you will remember it forever.

At first, Shukubo experience appears to be a ryokan or inn, but it is quite different. You are staying at an actual monastery (temple) and sharing a day of your life with Shingon Buddhist monks. Obviously, you are not required to pray and do the chores, but you can totally immerse in the atmosphere of Shinto.

The town of Koya-san is the heart of Shinto Buddhism. It was closed to visitors for almost 1200 years, and only opened up to tourists some 10+ years ago, once it's been granted a World heritage status. Jokiin is one of many Koya temples. It is a large, 700 years old temple, serviced by 6 monks, who will cook your dinner, and in the morning you can join them for morning ceremony at 6am, after which you will share breakfast with other guests.

The food was fantastic, strictly vegetarian, but even my meat eating husband demolished both, dinner and breakfast. Rooms are Japanese style, with plenty of portable heating. Windows are sealed and open up into majestic garden. Sleeping is on tatami mats, walls are thin, floors are squeaky, bath is communal and separated on female/male - all things you used to know and experience in a typical Japanese inn.
If you want, you can purchase beer or sake for dinner. But note that everything shuts down at about 8pm, as monks are getting up very early. We stayed in winter and after a snowy night, we woke up to a snow covered garden outside our window, which was a breathtakingly beautiful sight.

Staff speaks excellent English and are most accommodating. The temple is centrally located to everything, walking distance to Okunoin too. We had a night stroll around the temple after dinner, and snow was dumping. All surrounding pagodas were lit up and covered in snow, and the bell would go from time to time at one of the temples in a distance. My heart was absolutely overflown with emotions just walking around this wintry, sacred and profoundly beautiful place.

Jokiin stay will be a highlight of your trip in Japan, I can almost guarantee.
Provided, of course, that you respect and understand Japanese culture and traditions and are open for new experiences.

Koyasan has many walking tracks around the mountains, so it can be enjoyed in any season. There are lot's of maple and wisteria trees around, so it would be very colourful too. Winter though added some extra magic, and I thoroughly recommend a winter visit.

Room tip: You want to make sure you have a view of a garden
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kartch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews