We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$207
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Trip.com
$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
eDreams$143
Booking.com$143
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
51
33
13
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
33
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews temple stay your feet morning service bath dinner experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 105 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2019

My husband and I loved our stay at this monastery. It was beautiful, peaceful, and had the best vegetarian food we've ever had. Our room was quite large and the location was easy to get to, just behind Danjo Garan. Going to the service in the morning was also lovely. It was a great experience we would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CoreyHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Not sure what to expect we were pleasantly surprised by our one night stay here. Upstairs room more like a small suite in size with sitting area, dining alcove, large bedroom. Private toilet with hand-basin just outside in hallway.
Dinner served in room at 5.30, luckily we could eat at the dining table rather than from trays on floor. The meal had many beautifully-presented vegetarian dishes, a feast for tofu-fanciers but not so much for others!
Despite a small heater the rooms weren't warm so we retired early to futon beds which were cosy if not quite comfortable for older guests. In the morning we joined the monks for 6.30 prayers - uplifting start to the day - then communal breakfast in dining hall (see above re tofu).
I have no point of comparison for rating this kind of accommodation. Can just say that though Saizen-in was fairly basic, verging on spartan, it was comfortable and hospitable. Location was excellent right opposite the main Danjo Garan temple complex. The price was rather high but worth it for the unique experience. Would recommend, but perhaps not for all older travellers.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2018

The whole building is quite impressive, as you could wander around the corridors and small gardens. The decorations are austere but not lacking ceramics and paintings. Well placed in front of the main temple complex. Supper was an exhibition of all you can do with tofu, without forgetting a delightful presentation. If you do not like tofu, you will end up hungry.The morning devotions were a must, half an hour of two monks chantings. Futons were really spartans, try to use several of them, one upon the other. The onsen for women was clean, as the rest of the monastery/hotel. If you can pay a bit more (it is not cheap) choose the best rooms, you will enjoy works of art in your own room.

Room tip: Some rooms have works of art.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018

We stayed overnight, our first experience with Japanese futons (frankly, I prefer a raised and more cushioned bed). Our room was on the second floor, overlooking a garden (still beautiful even in November). Toilets and bathing occurs down the hall.

While I enjoyed the ample vegetarian dinner and breakfast (our guide kindly arranged for short dining chairs -- wonderful for those with bad knees), the nicest part of staying here was attending the 6:30 AM morning prayers. Two fully-robed monks chanted a popular sutra in the central, incense filled chapel. At one point, participants were invited to approach and pray. Interestingly, all who did were westerners. This was a great and unique experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mvidro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018

First it is very hard to find, only the name is painted on a rock out front. It is next to the public restrooms. I found only one person spoke English in the morning. One night the food was okay, the other night it was bad. I went to the little grocery store and got something to eat. My room looked out on a cleaning area. The staff didn't speak English so I could not get a different room. Watch for the rates. When I was checking in, a guy infront of me, paint a hundred dollars less a night. There are a lot of other nice looking places to stay. This one is very overprices.

Room tip: try for a room upstairs
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humboldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews