We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Japanese”
Review of Hotel Subaru

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Subaru
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a high class and costly spa hotel for Japanese - i.e. not really geared for foreign tourists. But as non-Japanese, we really enjoyed our stay. The outdoor bath was a big feature - sitting in hot bath looking at beautiful mountains is a treat - trying not to think of climbing those mountains the next day! Very comfortable room in which we enjoyed chairs! Wonderful meals that just kept coming. Also we a had a great packed lunch for the next day's walk. There was very little English spoken or written around the hotel, but staff were helpful and friendly and we had no trouble with anything. Overall a good experience and for us, the highlights were spa and food!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 51 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2011

With 14 friends, making the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage, we passed an overnight in this fantastic hotel in the middle of nature to rest after a tired walking trip in the mountains around.

All was fantastic: dinner, breakfast, karaoke, rooms, open air onsen and the kind and helpfull atention of the only person english speaking at the hotel, Zia. She even went with us to start our next morning trip.

The rest of the staff were very kind,too, as all japanese people we found on the way.

It couldn't be better, only if we would have Internet conection in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VigoAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 小さな子供連れなら、食堂や温泉館に近い部屋を案内してくれるようです。大人の度ならう~ん・・「奥の端っこの部屋」とか要望してみてはどうですか?そこからでももろもろ不便のない距離です。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank こたろー2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank 智美中2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank 美佐 川
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank nekori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chicochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totsukawa-mura
Ryujin Onsen
Kawayu Midoriya
Kawayu Midoriya
#2 of 47 in Tanabe
89 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
#3 of 47 in Tanabe
98 reviews
Dorogawa Onsen
Koryokuen Nishisei
Koryokuen Nishisei
#5 of 15 in Tenkawa-mura
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yunomine Onsen
Yunomineso
Yunomineso
#5 of 47 in Tanabe
77 reviews
Yunomine Onsen
Ryokan Azumaya
Ryokan Azumaya
#9 of 47 in Tanabe
56 reviews
Hotel Nosegawa
#1 of 1 in Nosegawa-mura
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Subaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Subaru

Address: 909-4 Hiratani, Totsukawa-mura, Yoshino-gun 637-1554, Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Yoshino-gun > Totsukawa-mura > Totsukawa Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels / Ryokan in Totsukawa-mura
Price Range: $156 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Subaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing