We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
14
41
13
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
41
13
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2016

Stayed in their twin room at the Cherry blossoms season of 2016.

Pros
- Free shuttle car between the hotel and Amanohashidate station (you need to call and tell them when to pick you up. The driver will wait at the station with a banner with the hotel's name on it). 10 minute ride to the hotel. It is a big car that can probably fit 10-15 guests.
- Fast and easy check in. Many amenities (e.g. a nice lavender heat-mask for to relax your eyes or herbal pouch to put in your bed or bath)
- You can make herb soap, bath salt or skin cream. Made the soap (see Picture) and it was really fun!! 2000 jpy it costs, but now we have soap for probably 2 years!. Ms. Yotsui san was very helpful and instructed us. Had a great time :)
- Excellent French course dinner in the evening. A bit expensive, but there is literally no other place to eat in the immediate vicinity. Waitress was very nice and polite.
- Buffet breakfast was good. Homemade french toast, great juice etc.
- Big room (twin) with great view.
- They have a small herb garden in front of the building, but only "alive" in summer.
- Good wifi for those who need.
- All staff were top notch (as usual in Japan).

Cons
- Very small unit style bathroom (you get a free ticket for the nearby bath house, but didn't go there. It looked really old and tired).
- Not much to do there other than relax (actually didn't bother me, but for some people it might be boring)
- Beds can be a bit hard for certain people

Other - the nearby Shinto shrine has a park next to it full of cherry blossoms. It was one of the most beautiful parks I've seen with blossoms scattered on the ground like snow, lots of old monuments of fallen soldiers, stone benches and the shrine. It was almost like a fairy tale or a video game!

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Escape806956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2015

The hotel is getting a little old and shabby in places, but it's well-maintained and looked after. The receptionist was friendly. They provided some amenitities for ladies (on the front desk, set off to the far right) as well as some instant corn or consomme soup ... but, I had to ask if I could take them.
The hotel's area is very quiet - you cannot hear any traffic. The veiw from the room is quite good - not exactly the best angle for the sandbar but, it's still visible. We chose a twin room, as they tend to be a little more spacious ... the beds were bigger and comfy.
They also provided 2 kids books (only in Japanese), 2 scented sachets to put under your pillow (lavendar and rose) and 2 origami cranes placed on the bed - which was a nice touch of hospitality.
The only bad point of the room is the "unit bathroom", it's extremely cramped ... hitting knees and elbows constantly. They provided a free ticket for the bath house next door (3 minutes walk), which is very old, but big. The bath water wasn't so hot ... but better than trying to squeeze into the one in the room.
We used the laundry facilities on the 2nd floor to clean some clothes, which was reasonably cheap.
The lift in the hotel is slow, too ...
The breakfast was pretty good ... being a weekday the selection was okay, but many of the dishes had been sitting there for some time. They had a good selection of Japanese and Western food - but, not any plain white bread (raisin bread rolls, chocolate bread and one other sweet pasrty is available).
We felt it was a little expensive for the area, especially on a weekday ... but, perhaps we needed to search for a better price.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VanessaY650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

The staff is awesom very friendly and helpful in every way. Service is top notch in every way. Very good for long or short term visits.I have been staying here for over 2 months and will be departing tomorrow. I will miss this place.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Away from the central Amanohashidate regions (one near the JR Amanohashidate Train Station, another in the Fuchu area where the Komo-jinja Shrine and the Nariai-ji Temple are) is Hashidate Bay Hotel. It is a relatively small hotel in the semi countryside in Yosano Town (Iwataki region). The hotel will provide a free courtesy car service from JR Amanohashidate Station (reservation required, about a 10-minute ride).

The room is, unless it is not a single room, reasonably spacious, but the bathroom is incredibly small, about the normal size you can expect in most hotels in Venice, Italy. The biggest problem they have is their heating/air-conditioning system. They do either have heated air or cooled air, depending on the seasons. The air-conditioning usually starts only in May, so on hot days in April, they are useless.

The restaurant provides with a reasonably well-stocked buffet breakfast (both western and Japanese), but it only offers French cusine in the evening, a relatively espensive option. The reception has a list of local restaurants, but they are useless unless you have your own car.

To partially compensate the super miniscule bath, the hotel offers a free coupon for a nearby public bath house (Cua House Iwataki) which is two minutes away on foot. If you are familiar with a Japanese-style public bath house, you may enjoy it. However, be forewarned that it is an old facility with a very clear sign of age.

Room Tip: Single rooms are located on the mountain-side with virtually no view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. I stayed here once in 2006 and liked so much that I decided to stay again in 2013. We arrived at 11:30am in the rain, but they had our room ready and allowed us to check in early. The restaurant was delicious, the room spacious (with an electric foot massage), and the view gorgeous. Yes, it is a bit far from the stations. Too far to walk. But their hotel shuttle will take you wherever you want to go if you call from the station or ask at the front desk. The staff speaks little to no English and all of the menus are in Japanese. But if you have limited Japanese skills, you can get by. Highly recommended. We are currently planning to return again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chihiro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews