We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
18
14
4
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
14
4
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent breakfast sea view train station dinner onsen japan izu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 42 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2017

We stayed at Isaribi Onsen for one night. This property is outstanding, the wonderful view of the ocean from the onsen in our room, the excellent breakfast, and the accommodating staff made it a great stay. Especially the young lady who spoke English was very helpful and delightful. The indoor and out door hot springs were great. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Stayed here during Hanami (Cherry Blossom) period of April 2017 and chose this place due to the quality of spring water source and private open-air onsen bath in the room. Be careful of onsen 'spring' water quality as quite a few hotel resorts along the Izu Peninsula especially those seaside ones only offer piped hot water or saline water with minimal health benefits. So do ask the hotel/ryokan you booked on what is the mineral content of their onsen spring water.

Isaribi has only 12 rooms and is located quite remotely but within walking distance of a nearby village where there are many orange orchards, small farms & some spring flowers blooming then. We were amazed by the honesty bins where some vegetables & fruits were sold on the unmanned roadside stalls. There is also a nice stroll down to the seaside with a couple of quaint Shinto shrines and fresh air. We enjoyed the quietness of the Isaribi and the private onsen facilities there and they offered a van pick up from the nearby Izu-okawa train station altough quite many local guests drove to the ryokan which offers free car parking onsite. Whilst the hotel is small with limited facilities, it has a welcoming lounge that offer free flow of good grade ground coffee and specialty teas to enjoy.

The kaiseki-ryōri were freshly cooked & of high quality and so is the Japanese set breakfast. Hostess Kozue-san was most gracious, helpful and have good English ability and she was delightful in her services during our 2 nights there.

We would recommend this ryokan for an excellent private onsen in your own room but beware there isn't much to do within the ryokan and agree with Isaribi's tag lines (Spend time doing nothing. It is the ultimate luxury) and unless you have a car you won't be able to explore much of the surrounding areas. We were just happy to be in a quiet remote area enjoying the peace & fresh air, the therapeutic mineral hot spring water and savouring the delightful Japanese cuisine. However, we won't return as there are many other similarly enjoyable onsen ryokans to enjoy within Japan that we will be exploring but thank you very much Isaribi for a wonderful onsen experience we have had with you.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank RoamingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Huge room, private onsen with sea view, large variety of food and superb friendly staff who can speak English. What else can you ask for? Wait there is! I love the fact that the 2 main onsen can be used on a private basis. My 2 friends and I were able to chat without fear of disturbing others while soaking in the outdoor pool under a beautiful starry night!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josho75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Isaribi for a night and enjoyed it very much. It is a charming 45 year old onsen ryokan with 12 rooms perched on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The closest train station, Izu Okawa, is just 2 mins away by car. The hotel offers a free pickup and drop off service for guests with advance notice.

Our room had a rotenburo (private open air onsen) and it was heavenly to soak in the onsen while gazing out at the blue expanse of ocean. Below were small houses and fruit laden tangerine trees dotting the green hills. Our room was Japanese style with tatami mats and futon beds with soft fluffy down comforters, made up for us at bed time. We opted for half board (ie dinner and breakfast) and were glad we did because there didn't seem to be any eateries nearby. Dinner was an amazing feast for the eyes and palate, and so was breakfast. Both were Japanese of course, and served in our room by a cheerful kimono clad lady called Fujimi-san. The bath toiletries supplied were high quality too. Tea and good coffee were also free flow near the reception throughout the day. Except for cushion covers on the sofa that looked rather worn and really should be changed, everything else was perfect. All in, an excellent onsen ryokan experience.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank MY58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2014

We had a wonderful day in this ryokan. It felt so good to bathe in a hot spring, drink umeshu, look at the Pacific Ocean, and listen to the waves in our own room. Dinner and breakfast were very delicious, and the lady serving our food and making our beds was very friendly. I like this place very much and would like to stay here and take a walk along the coast (城ヶ崎海岸) again.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank YMLAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews