We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
53
72
20
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
72
20
11
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 167 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel, it's nothing special in terms of ryokans but it's also not that expensive if you have one of the cheaper rooms.

The baths are nice, and the private bath available for 50 minutes each night you stay is pleasant.

The public bath 100m down the road is brilliant, it looks out over the sea towards Izu Oshima and is truly beautiful and relaxing. Hotel guests get to use the bath for free, non-guests pay ¥600. It's worth a trip for sure.

The food at the hotel was quite average, almost every Japanese food was available from the buffet (Viking in Japanese), so there should be something to please everyone. The hotel gets very busy with families and so some buffet items might not be available if you eat past 7pm.

The hotel is very good for families, they provide lots of activities for kids.

The service was good, each day they provide guests who are staying more than night with a bento for lunch.

We took a day trip down to the bottom of the peninsula and found a nice rocky beach with clear sea water that was good for snorkelling.

All in all quite a nice hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank pdavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We just travelled to Izu and stayed there for one night. Since there were tons of ryokans in the area, we tried to look for reviews on the internet. We found great reviews of Tsuruya Kisshotei on Tripadvisor. They did not disappoint us. The service was great. Even though the receptionist spoke broken English, he tried to explain every detail to us. We were very pleased. The room was clean. It was facing the sea. We could have seen the sunrise if the sky was clearer. We were surprised how good the food was. It was very fresh and with a lot of varieties. The hot springs were very impressive. We could take the shuttle and go to the ones in the other building (Bekkan). There were a couple of outdoor hot springs with great views of the sea. Also, there was one by the seaside which was a mixed bath. The 50-min private bath was the most impressive. We could enjoy the nice view by ourselves. I highly recommend this place if you travel to the east of Izu. The price was reasonable with all the amenities you need for your vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 20, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews