We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
29
44
7
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
44
7
4
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 88 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2014

I spent two nights there this summer, I booked a cheapest room with meals served in the room. The hotel is not very new but very clean, meals were great, very fresh seafood. Very close to the beach, there are sand toys for kids, use the water and towel provided in the front door to clean up before entering the lobby. Hope to go back there again! very nice value.

Room Tip: There's no Non-smoking room available for lower level (cheaper price ) rooms, but luckily the smoking room we got had no smoking smell at all.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IVY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guigui1223, 部屋係り at Atagawakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

 Once again ,Thank you for checking in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the view,the meal and the service.
Once more, I hope you will choose us if there is another chance that you come to Japan again.
Thank you for your post.

ATAGAWA-KAN Zhang GuiWen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Unwinding at the Atagawakan was the perfect conclusion to our Japan vacation. Steps to the beach in a laid-back seaside town, the Atagawakan combines a relaxed beach hotel with all the warm, attentive service of a ryokan. The spacious rooms offer the best of both – traditional tatami room with a generous private bath (separate toilet and shower/bath rooms attached to the main bathroom) and expected conveniences – TV, room safe, fully-stocked fridge. A separate seating area by the large windows provides the ideal spot to enjoy floor-to-ceiling, unobstructed ocean views and is easily partioned from the main tatami room by sliding shoji screens. The meals are lavish, carefully prepared, artfully presented and, not surprisingly, include the freshest seafood. The beach is very clean and child-safe (a lifeguard is on duty all day), the water is warm and clear. The onsen (hot baths) have a unique outdoor balcony and are open late into the night allowing for a tranquil open-air experience to the sound of the surf. In the evening, vacationers stroll the neighbourhood taking in local amusements dressed in the casual kimonos (yukata) provided by the hotel. The staff of the Atagawakan are always handy and at your service. Despite our lack of fluency in Japanese they never failed to fulfill our requests. From the friendly welcome to the send-off (staff lined up on the curb to bow and wave farewell as our shuttle departed) our experience exceeded expectations. The Atagawakan is an easy and direct 2-hour train ride from Tokyo.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChoosyTraveller416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Atagawakan was a delightful and beautiful beach location to enjoy swimming, hot spring baths, and sumptuous meals. My kids loved the beach; I loved the hotel, the staff, and in particular, Mr. Inaba, who spoke fluent English and was very helpful, gracious and kind.
The hotel provides free transportation to and from the train station, which was very helpful considering our luggage and the hilly town, and also had ample beach towels, umbrellas and beach chairs to take across the street for the entire day. A small outdoor shower allowed us to rinse sand off before re-entering the hotel lobby. The lobby also provided sandals to borrow for the beach, which is volcanic dark sand, very soft, but hot in the sun. Each room had a spectacular ocean view, with fridges stocked with everything from bottled water to big Asahi beers.
Our meals were private banquets, and the friendly, lovely waiting woman provided everything we could ask for, and served us very professionally, introducing us to elegant Japanese dining. When we went to breakfast, the room staff came into our rooms to put away the futons and set up the sitting area; when we went to dinner, they came back to set up the futons. Every afternoon we received big flasks of ice water and a light snack, and they didn't mind us tracking in beach sand, and cleaned up after our sandy days on the beach.
The hot-spring baths are beautiful, with both indoor and outdoor baths available to men and women separately, with fabulous views of the ocean.
Conveniently located next door is a Circle K store to get coffee, snacks, lunch items, and in the evenings, we could set off fireworks on the beach, or the kids could play arcade games. The entire neighborhood was safe and filled with families.
If we had wifi in the rooms, that would have been a plus, but the absence of internet just refocused our group to play and rest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Familywith2teenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews