We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
30
46
7
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
30
46
7
5
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 92 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Unwinding at the Atagawakan was the perfect conclusion to our Japan vacation. Steps to the beach in a laid-back seaside town, the Atagawakan combines a relaxed beach hotel with all the warm, attentive service of a ryokan. The spacious rooms offer the best of both – traditional tatami room with a generous private bath (separate toilet and shower/bath rooms attached to the main bathroom) and expected conveniences – TV, room safe, fully-stocked fridge. A separate seating area by the large windows provides the ideal spot to enjoy floor-to-ceiling, unobstructed ocean views and is easily partioned from the main tatami room by sliding shoji screens. The meals are lavish, carefully prepared, artfully presented and, not surprisingly, include the freshest seafood. The beach is very clean and child-safe (a lifeguard is on duty all day), the water is warm and clear. The onsen (hot baths) have a unique outdoor balcony and are open late into the night allowing for a tranquil open-air experience to the sound of the surf. In the evening, vacationers stroll the neighbourhood taking in local amusements dressed in the casual kimonos (yukata) provided by the hotel. The staff of the Atagawakan are always handy and at your service. Despite our lack of fluency in Japanese they never failed to fulfill our requests. From the friendly welcome to the send-off (staff lined up on the curb to bow and wave farewell as our shuttle departed) our experience exceeded expectations. The Atagawakan is an easy and direct 2-hour train ride from Tokyo.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChoosyTraveller416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The Atagawakan was a delightful and beautiful beach location to enjoy swimming, hot spring baths, and sumptuous meals. My kids loved the beach; I loved the hotel, the staff, and in particular, Mr. Inaba, who spoke fluent English and was very helpful, gracious and kind.
The hotel provides free transportation to and from the train station, which was very helpful considering our luggage and the hilly town, and also had ample beach towels, umbrellas and beach chairs to take across the street for the entire day. A small outdoor shower allowed us to rinse sand off before re-entering the hotel lobby. The lobby also provided sandals to borrow for the beach, which is volcanic dark sand, very soft, but hot in the sun. Each room had a spectacular ocean view, with fridges stocked with everything from bottled water to big Asahi beers.
Our meals were private banquets, and the friendly, lovely waiting woman provided everything we could ask for, and served us very professionally, introducing us to elegant Japanese dining. When we went to breakfast, the room staff came into our rooms to put away the futons and set up the sitting area; when we went to dinner, they came back to set up the futons. Every afternoon we received big flasks of ice water and a light snack, and they didn't mind us tracking in beach sand, and cleaned up after our sandy days on the beach.
The hot-spring baths are beautiful, with both indoor and outdoor baths available to men and women separately, with fabulous views of the ocean.
Conveniently located next door is a Circle K store to get coffee, snacks, lunch items, and in the evenings, we could set off fireworks on the beach, or the kids could play arcade games. The entire neighborhood was safe and filled with families.
If we had wifi in the rooms, that would have been a plus, but the absence of internet just refocused our group to play and rest.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Familywith2teenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews