We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad karma! Inhumane!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Takaragawa Onsen

Takaragawa Onsen
Woodridge, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad karma! Inhumane!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had high hopes but with such abhorrent treatment of bears penned in hot cages Simply could not stomach this. If bad karma exists, clearly you will find it here. The next step is to inform authorities and see if in japan there exists anything comparable to the DEC, Humane Society or the ASPCA !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    43
    20
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wow! We were very excited to be staying at a Ryokan next to an Onsen and this place was unbelievable. As soon as we arrived it seemed like all the staff came out to greet us. We had the typical Ryokan room with the sliding doors, tatami mats and futon. We had a feast served up by our Japanese maid and we wore our kimono's all the time even for breakfast! The onsen itself was beautiful. It is next to a river and has mountain views all around you. It is one of the only onsen's that allow both male and females in together. We were there during Autumn 2010 and with the red leaves falling all around us it was like we were in a magical kingdom. One bad note: What are the bears doing in cages? They should not be there.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unusual but worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Spectacular setting on the river so you can soak and watch the water rapidly flow by! The location is really beautiful with the sound of water, rocks and lush gardens. Onsen is mixed (men & women together) which is unusual however the area is very large allowing everyone pleanty of space. Cleanliness of changing areas average and not like a typical onsen.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneralManagerTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERT123
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Embarassing bathing manners: public sex”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Setting and atmosphere of the hotel are very charming. Although the building and facilities need some updating. As others suggested - the presentation of bears (stuffed, cooked or kept in small cages) appears a little odd.
Our main point of criticism and rather the reason for writing a review is that several guests had obviously and repeated public sexual intercourse in the mixed rotemburo during daytime and in broad sunlight. This was even more embarassing as it was in front of a mother with her child.

As a consequence, we would not visit this place again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank 985AnjaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fun to be naked with strangers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is the best onsen in Japan, and one of the few that offers mixed bathing. It is not as much fun as it could be, because women either wrap themselves in bath towels or go to the women-only bath. Nevertheless, the outdoor pools are fantastic, and one goes from pool to pool enjoying different water temperatures and views. It is best to visit in the middle of winter, when the snow is deep. Admission is Y1,500 per person and there is a tacky restaurant. A high-end ryokan (hotel) is also at the site. Four bears are kept in cages by the onsen for some unknown reason.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank robertli1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takaragawa Onsen also viewed

Minakami-machi, Tone-gun
 
Minakami-machi, Tone-gun
 

Been to Takaragawa Onsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing