We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel Kawanami” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kawanami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kawanami
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel Kawanami”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Kawanami for three nights as we were on a "fly - drive" around Hokkaido. The Hotel is a very clean and well presented traditional Japanese Hotel, the staff are excellent and the food and facilities are also excellent. It proved to be an ideal location as a base for touring the surrounding countryside. Our room had a beautiful view of Lake Toya and we had a perfect view of the nightly fireworks display.
An extra big thank you goes to Mrs Kawanami for her help in getting our Traditional Japanese Light fitting sent home from Toya Post Office, without her help it would have been a nightmare and probably would not have got home in one piece. Thank you Mrs Kawanami for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aweighandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
13
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Hotel Kawanami is like a holiday resort nestled on the beautiful shores of Lake Toya. Although it's a mid-priced Ryokan, there's an easy air and a laid-back atmosphere about this place.

We stayed 1 night there which we immediately regretted cos this place is absolutely amazing. The staff was very friendly and warm though most don't speak english except Mr. Kawanami. The hotel owner, Mr. Kawanami, is very kind and friendly and he went through great lengths to ensure that our stay is comfortable and hustle free. This is the kind of warm Japanese hospitality that you can't get from the bigger hotels down the road.

We were amazed at how spacious and clean the rooms were. We even have an platform next to the window for us to sip our tea and watch the fireworks at night .

The ladies outdoor onsen was AWESOME! Because it's a small ryokan, you are able to have the pool all to yoursel if you went late in the night or early in the morning. It faces a small beautiful japanese garden and while I was there, the cherry blossoms were in full bloom. It was absolutely breathtaking to be having a hot bath in the open and admiring the beauty of cherry blossom with its delicate petals fluttering down in the chill morning air.
The region around the hotel is beautiful as it faces Lake Toya. There's lots of activities like canoeing, boat paddling and fishing. If the weather runs foul, there's indoor recreations in the hotel like table tennis, billiard or simply laze around the cozy lounge area, where there's free internet stations.

I'm glad that we pick this hotel and given its price range, it is definitely very good value for money. Though it lacks the frills and grandeur of the bigger establishment, it more than makes up with its personal and attentive service and the casual and peaceful atmosphere that it exudes.

We will definitely make another trip back again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gohamy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

the hotel is really good value at around £25 a night and with this price you are able to use the onsens (indoor and outdoor) that are geothermally heated. The staff are really friendly and offered home made japanese sweets to me. really friendly. if you are a fan of volcanoes this area is for you as there is lots of steam coming out of them and there is a nice smell of sulphur through out the town

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicandbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

The Hotel Kawanami is a fantastic bargain in the Toyako onsen area. The rooms are spacious and you can have a wonderful view of the fireworks during the summer season. The hotel has a lovely onsen, despite not having lakeside views. My friends also enjoyed the hot stone sauna as well. Our dinner was the toban-yaki course, which was a delicious hot pot with a unique, tasty dipping sauce for all the goodies in the pot. A one-night stay with the toban-yaki course & breakfast is 8,000 yen person which is an amazing bargain for the area. If you forgo the meals, you can stay at the Kawanami Hotel for about 4,000 yen per person! Although the hotel is on the outskirts of the Toyako Onsen area, it's a peaceful, quiet hotel. There is also a convenience store next door and the hotel is about a 700 yen taxi ride away from the Toyako onsen bus terminal. You can also reach the Kawanami Hotel by bus - it's just a block down from the Hotel Sun Palace bus stop.

I love onsen hotels, but they are often crowded and expensive. The Kawanami Hotel is a great way to experience lovely Hokkaido scenery and enjoy a Japanese onsen. The staff is friendly and helpful and they speak sufficient English to answer any of your questions.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marimo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Kawanami for 3 nights. Although the location was somewhat a distance away from Lake Toya town centre (20-30mins walk). It was in a peaceful neighbourhood facing the lake. The room was the biggest in our Hokkaido stay with a cozy sitting area for us to watch fireworks at night. There is also onsen available although the gals outdoor onsen area was quite small.
The hotel was relatively new and overall clean with washing machine and dryer available to do your own laundry, the female receptionist was able to speak english. The owner was also kind enough to bring my very heavy suitcase up to our room on the 2nd floor.
There is free parking spaces. We had our dinner there on the first night as part of the package, it was authetic japanese food and there was plenty. Breakfast was a bit boring though, we had similar breakfast for 3 days: salmon, egg roll with salad, japanese pickles, rice and miso soup.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sephyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

I was staying in this hotel with my husband for 2 nights on May 30 and 31 '09. The room given to us was spacious, clean and arranged in typical Japanese fashion with tatami mats and futons to sleep on. Quite a treat, I must say.

Check-in was quick and easy and the front counter people spoke sufficient English for us to understand. They were also very helpful in helping us locate places of interest and the type and times of local buses. There are some small shops located 20-30 mins walk away from the hotel and a convenience store just next door.

There is a wash basin and toilet located in-room but baths are a communal affair. The hot-spring baths (onsens) are found in the basement of the hotel and are open to guests 24hrs a day. That means if you are shy about having to share a bath, you can just go either very early or very late in the night where it's less likely to bump into other guests.

This hotel faces Lake Toya which is really nice as you can watch the fireworks displays in the evenings during the summer months.

I would highly reccommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hfchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

A nice and cozy motel ran by Mr Kawanami. Both Mr and Mrs Kawanami service are very personal and they do speak good English.

The location is close to the beach, room is reasonable and clean. One minus point about the motel is the toilet is shared and you might have to walk a bit to use it.

Onsen is great and the atmosphere is good especially at night.

  • Liked — Good Service
  • Disliked — Shared Toilets
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank syann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sobetsu-cho
Toyako Onsen
The Windsor Hotel Toya
The Windsor Hotel Toya
#2 of 15 in Toyako-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Toya Sunpalace
#1 of 7 in Sobetsu-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Toyako Onsen
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toyako Onsen
Kohantei
Kohantei
#5 of 15 in Toyako-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Toyako Onsen
Hokkai Hotel
Hokkai Hotel
#8 of 15 in Toyako-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Daiwa Ryokan Annex
#3 of 15 in Toyako-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kawanami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kawanami

Property: Hotel Kawanami
Address: 53 Toyakoonsen, Usu-gun, Sobetsu-cho 052-0107, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Usu-gun > Sobetsu-cho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels / Ryokan in Sobetsu-cho
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Kawanami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kawanami Hokkaido/Sobetsu-Cho, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing