We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
41
16
7
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
16
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor onsen tempura both dinner and breakfast recommend this hotel national park vegetables english sea japan
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in May. Warm friendly staff who are very welcoming. Younger staff speak pretty good English so I didn't need to worry about any misunderstandings from my very average Japanese.

Booked a traditional tatami room (beautiful and spacious) which over looked the water. Plenty of room for our luggage. Note, I don't think there's a lift but the staff took our luggage up (we tried to warn them it was heavy). Sure they'd help on check out if asked.

Parking available out front.

Had the option to book a private onsen (spa bath) but didn't due to time.

The highlight though was the food. I was sceptical about booking dinner at one place for our 3 nights but every night was different and equally amazing. From what I understand, mostly if not all regional ingredients. The dinners alone are worth the price of admission.

Location wise is a 5 min drive out of town. I'd say a 20min flat walk if you're that way inclined. Don't let the distance put you off as there's not a great deal in Utoro town so not being there at night isn't a concern (maybe there's an underground club scene that I missed - who knows).

Bottom line, if you're looking for a place to stay I can highly recommend Hotel Kifu.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

We couldn’t fiind fault with this fabulous, homely and well appointed traditional Japanese accommodation in Utoro, a picturesque fishing village on the Sea of Okhotsk. The family provided a warm welcome and delicious local cuisine for both dinner and breakfast.
There were both public and private onsens, supplied with hot mineral-rich waters. A real bonus was its proximity to the world heritage Shiretoko Park.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Davo742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

Very nice couple and their wonderful daughter that speaks fluent English. Magical small hotel ! They serve the most wonderful dinner and breakfast. We had the most special days there! We highlly recommend this hotel❤️

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank lellyg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Our room was Japanese style room. The staff would come into the room to make the futon beds on the tatami floor while we're out for dinner. The room is of reasonable size with the window looking out to the sea. We could see the sunset from our room. It is kept very clean; in fact we took off our shoes at the front door of the hotel and wore the provided slippers around the hotel.

Service staff speak good English, even the wait staff at the dining room. Enjoyed the dinners there. For our first night we had DIY tempura; first time doing tempura at the dining table! Quite fun. For our second night it was DIY steaming pork slices on a steamer full of vegetables. Very healthy stuf! In fact the chef's theme for both dinner & breakfast seems to be "eat healthy"; "eat vegetables" :) The food actually tasted very delicious.

We booked the outdoor onsen for our first night but didn't quite enjoy it because the water is super hot! Also the amenities at this outdoor onsen are limited and the pool is quite small. We preferred the indoor onsen much better. This one is not private but when I went to the female indoor onsen both nights I had the whole pool to myself :)

We recommend this hotel as its concept & decor really match the pristine environment of the Shiretoko Peninsula.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jeannie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

We really recommend this wonderful family run hotel at the edge of Shiretoko National Park. We had been looking for something smaller than many of the mega hotels (that are not romantic at all), yet something of of good quality (a bit more than the average youth hostel) and cozy. Kifuu is a beautiful wooden lodge with an amazing seaside view. No big hotels next door, just a handful of guest. At the end of the day you can sit in front on the terrace looking out over the sea with a beer in a quiet yet inspiring atmosphere. Everyday you can reserve one of their private onsens (for free) which is nice as most onsens require man and woman to be separate. The food was amazing too, multiple courses and made with so much care. The traditional rooms are large and clean, with great view and the staff makes up the bed. The staff is just great. The younger generation speak surprisingly good English. The elderly couple are about the nicest people you can meet. Next to the rooms in the main hotel they have two smaller cabins where you could stay with a family and have access to a small private kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejfeenstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews