We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoshino Resorts Tomamu The Tower
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here end of June. No doubt this would be a good ski resort like all the other comments has mentioned. But it is a good resort during the summer as well. Just make sure you stay there after July 1st, as that is where all their facilities officially open. However, if you did not do enough research like me - the only attraction that was opened for us was the unkai terrace & indoor wave pool... but dont get me wrong! The unkai terrace is a really good experience!!! We got up at 4am, took the 445am bus to the cable car and saw the sea of clouds!! Amazing and breath taking view. They also have a really long list of restaurant choices within the resort. We had dinner at the Japanese sashimi restaurant (forgot the name) but everything was so fresh and it was just great!!!!! Good stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluffc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 960 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed in the "Tower" for 3 nights during low seasons so the place was not crowded. We were on the 30th floor and the views were just magnificent (see attached pics). They have around 10 to 15 ski tracks there ranged from beginners to experts and well managed. Snows were powdery and really beautiful. There were around 20 restaurants of different cuisine for you to choose from and the qualities were pretty impressive as well. The resort has a Ice village with all structures built in ice - an ice bar, ice restaurant and some souvenir shops there - pretty cool. The ice restaurant served cheese and chocolate fondue also. A good experience to try that under the freezing cold weather in an ice built structure. They also have a Polar village where you can do ice treking, cross country ski and snowmobile etc.

All staffs in the resort were helpful and friendly - typical Japanese people. However the staffs in Ice Village particularly at the Ice bar and Ice restaurant were kind of "cold"... probably due to the prolonged period of time working in the freezing temperature.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here with my 6 year old daughter in February 2012. We booked a standard room which had excellent views of the ski area and was quite nicely laid out - a bedroom area with two futons and a sofa/TV area. As usual with Japanese hotels, the room is not that big but it was more enough for us. The bathroom was also not big but again sufficient (with an automatic toilet). If you are not a Japanese speaker or cannot tolerate any more Japanese TV you should bring an iPad or DVD player with you as there are no English language channels.

The Towers have shops and restaurants in them - the restuarants are generally cheap and cheerful and there is a large gift shop/convenience store. You can rent skis and boards etc. and get your lift pass in the Towers too.

There is a ski area right outside the hotel - a beginners slope and a more advanced one. If you want to go for lessons or to the main area you need to take a 5 minute bus trip. The shuttle bus leaves every 20 minutes. There is also a big swimming pool (with wave machine)/spa/onsen a short bus trip away which was great fun for my kid especially after a day skiing. And there is also an ice village which has a bar, restaurant, shop and little ice rink - again my kid thought it was great fun to go there.

The skiing itself was good (although we are not advanced so I cannot comment on the dificult slopes). A lot of easy areas for children and quite a good longer green slope. The ski teachers were also very good. And the best thing of all was that it was very empty - much more so than Nisseko for example. No queues for lifts at all. Plus there is a train (with a toliet, which was crucial for my daughter) from Sapporo airport direct to the resort in one hour (so no 3 hour bus journey like Nisseko).

Can't wait to go back next year. Got a good deal for flights (from Tokyo), hotel and breakfast booking it through their website as well

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeejTeejTeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is a very big resort with extensive features for families. There is a play area with free sledding and snow play, a large summer house with a wave pool (though you need to pay extra for this). service varies for this place. the food is expensive (but not too exhorbitantly).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friesbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hirokkuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 出来れば、高層階が良いと思います。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naruto_kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 适合滑雪爱好者,森林餐厅值得一去,微笑海滩和温泉也是不错的。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovingbird555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts Tomamu The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimukappu-mura
22.8 mi away
New Furano Prince Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Tomamu
Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Tomamu
#2 of 6 in Shimukappu-mura
253 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gracey Tomamu
Gracey Tomamu
#3 of 5 in Shimukappu-mura
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pension  Ing Tomamu
Pension Ing Tomamu
#1 of 5 in Shimukappu-mura
26 reviews
23.6 mi away
Pension Furanui
Pension Furanui
#30 of 41 in Furano
29 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nanputei
Nanputei
#1 of 1 in Minamifurano-cho
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoshino Resorts Tomamu The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoshino Resorts Tomamu The Tower

Address: Nakatomamu, Shimukappu-mura, Yufutsu-gun 079-2204, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Yufutsu-gun > Shimukappu-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels / Ryokan in Shimukappu-mura
Price Range: $245 - $1,339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoshino Resorts Tomamu The Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Tower" is one of the two hotels within the HOSHINO RESORTS TOMAMU RESORT.Located at the center of the resort area, The Tower has easy access to all facilities within the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rakuten and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hoshino Resorts Tomamu The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Shimukappu Mura
Hoshino Resorts Tomamu The Tower Japan/Shimukappu-Mura, Hokkaido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing