We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
151
287
81
30
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
151
287
81
30
18
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 567 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2017

In spite of the 70' feeling mentioned in the reviews, the hotel is absolutely worth it. It has the most beautiful beach and the ocean view from the restaurant and bar area is simply stunning. Otherwise the rooms are large, spacious and very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, although, their knowledge of English is limited. The choice of meals for breakfast is generous. Lots of good restaurants in the vicinity. A few things on the downside: you need to pay for the use of beds on the beach (was not really a problem for us), we had wifi in our room but the staff asked us not to tell other guests about it because then they will be asking for wifi in their rooms, too. This request was indeed strange. However, we really cannot complain after spending 4 nights in this beautiful location.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koska73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016

Hotel Moon Beach is a holiday resort on the west side in the Onna-area, almost in the middle of the Okinawa island. This hotel shares the property with another hotel called Moon Beach Palace Hotel. The property is already quite old but it has been well maintained. Well, maybe except the top 4th floor where we were staying. Elsewhere was rather nice but this floor indeed is bit run down with stains on the public walls and dropping patches of paint in the room. But like oftentimes in Japan, it is all still very acceptable.

There is no wifi in the room but there is one in the public areas. Due to 4th floor renovation, even the public floor wifi was missing during the time of our stay. Luckily we had our "mountain view" room close enough to the nearby Hotel Monteray so we could use their public wifi. You might as well purchase a hot-spot internet device at the airport for USD5 per day to carry with you and help with translations, maps and so on everywhere where you go.

Breakfast is nice and served 6.30am - 10.00 am. It is of good value if you get it included in your hotel deal. We paid for the room through a booking site around USD 140 per night for two. If you purchase the breakfast meal coupons separately, they cost about USD 15-20 each.

Hotel is having a spa in the ground floor for which you have to pay once for your entire stay. It is less than USD 7 whether you stay one night or ten. But rather nice dry sauna with a big hot pool and a smaller cold one.

Hotel is having a private beach and rather lot of water sport activities on site. I think kids would like to stay here as there is a lot of space everywhere, the beach, valley ball, minigolf, pingpang etc.

In addition to the water sport activity at the hotel and the beach, there are some other activities close by. They are mainly related with scuba diving or snorkeling or other sea related sports or views. About 4km away at the Maeda Point is the famous Blue Cave diving spot. Another 4km and you reach the famous light house with sea views and so on.

Outside the hotel there are few local food bars and restaurants where you get your beers and snacks or even dinner. Also convenience stores are located close by.

If you arrive by plane, there is a shuttle bus service between the airport and the hotel. That will leave at the stop Nr. 2 at the international terminal of the Naha airport. The last coach leaves before 6pm (at least during the November off-season time we were there). The coach takes one hour to go. If you miss that you can take a normal city bus Nr 120 (leaving the same spot) but the downside is that it will stop 50 times before you reach the destination and will take about two hours. Either or, the cost is about USD 15 per head. Taxi is another option but would be rather costly I think.

Another option is that you rent a car at the airport. Please note what kind of international licence you will need to have (there are several!) in order to be able to drive in Japan. Also to go around from the hotel especially during the low season, a rental car would be optimal. By the way, there is also a gas station with rental car service next to convenience store outside of the hotel (200m).

Date of stay: November 2016
2  Thank hanyoupei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016

This is the second time we decided to use Moon Beach as a venue to go and spend the day. Its location being half-way between Naha and our guesthouse, we used it to meet up with friends coming from the city.
We have a 7-year-old and were looking for a beach that has changing rooms, showers, and access to food/restaurant etc. Usually we rough it, but this time - meeting friends - we wanted a little more civilisation ;)
Moon Beach offers all that, plus you have the added benefit of a lifeguard.

Free parking on the hotel lot gives you access to the hotel and all of its shops, coffee shops, restaurants (a-la-carte and buffet), toilets, changing rooms and beach. Access to the beach is free but they make up by charging for the lockers, umbrellas and chairs (plus an assortment of blow-up thingies).
The facilities are old, some of the lockers did not work and we needed assistance in getting our coins back, but the staff was very friendly and the issue was sorted efficiently.
The young staff handling the beach equipment were unfortunately more concerned with each other and their cellphones and I felt as if I was intruding on their private time.
The beach has an area allocated (and netted off) for swimming and another for water sports (jet-skies, tube rides, etc). We did not part-take in any of those and do not know prices nor what was on offer, let alone if they were available to walk-in guests.
There are two, small, tied-off floating platforms in the swimming area. The cove is secluded and I don't think it gets any real waves. The sand is coarse and the beach and water are littered with small broken coral pieces.
Despite of the lack of waves, our 7 year old had a blast snorkelling and collecting an entire reef worth of coral to take back home.
As per the lifeguard, snorkelling is allowed - but sadly not with a snorkel. He could not explain to me why this was so - nor, what that activity should now be called ;)

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kazmatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We stayed for 4 X nights. The hotel is huge! Our room was clean, if a little dated!
The beach and pools attached to the hotel are great, however you have to pay for towels, sun loungers and umbrellas on the beach.
There are lots of water sport activities on offer (also cost extra). We did a snorkelling trip to the hotel's private island which was great, a little pricey but had a great time.

It would be great for families as when we went almost every other guest had a toddler, so don't go if you want to get away from kids!

We only had breakfast as it was included with the room, but dinner options were too pricey. Breakfast was nice though, lots of options to choose from.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Stayed for 2 nights as a family of 3.
Requested a baby crib in advance and was satisfied with the arrangement.

Outdoor pool and the beach were amazing! Free rental of sand buckets for kids.
Welcome drinks! Suggest to enjoy the drinks at night, there's dancing performance by the bar.

A lot of parking space. Charged 500yen per night.
Some good restaurants near the hotel (within walkable distance). Convenient for a family with small babies.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lilian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews