We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel but reasonably priced and convenient”
Review of Hotel Moon Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Moon Beach
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Moon Beach Hotel.
The hotel itslef is old with a stalin era architecture but several parts of the hotel have been renovated so it really depends on which part of the hotel you stay at.
The staff was friendly and check in was swift.
Our room (residential club superior on the 4th floor) had been recently renovated and was very clean and pleasant with a nice terrace. The room has a very convenient kitchen corner with a sink, microwave, coffee maker and plates,...
The hotel itself has everything you might need for a long stay (large coin laundry, hotel cleans 3 underwear per person per day for free if you stay more than 3 nights, shop selling snacks, restaurants including a cafe selling food for less than JPY1000). In addition the hotel provides many activities: large heated pool, beach with all sorts of marine activities, a private island, a nice garden, tennis courts, basket ball court, mini golf, table tennis, billiards, etc.
The morning buffet was very good with continental, english, japanese including okinawan specialties and a nice view of the beach. The japanese restaurant was also very good.
The hotel is surrounded by a jice garden but it is also in the city with several convenience stores and restaurants within walking distance. This is a good point since many hotels are far away from everything which means that you need to eat all your meals in the hotel.
Overall I would recommend this hotel which is reasonably priced given the level of service and activities provided.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank jgk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 487 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is one of the first resort hotels built in this area, and it shows in the building, both outside and inside. We stayed here in January when there was nothing much to do, and the weather did not help us. My son's first impression of the hotel building was it looked like a prison. Our room was big enough for 5 people, and it was clean, but it had musty smell and we had to leave the AC on all the time to get rid of the smell. Imagine what we were inhaling all the time. I liked a big Japanese style bath, but sometimes we had to wait for our turn to get in to the bath as there were so many people. The buffet food was good and it was really great that they let us have lunch with the same breakfast coupon if we did not want to have breakfast. I don't think we will ever go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keikom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place was value for money. We booked a room for 2 nights for 4 of us. It worked out at about 4000 yen per person per night. That's amazingly good value when you factor in that it included 2 buffet breakfasts, and 1 EXTREMELY good buffet dinner. Personally, I usually don't think buffet dining is so good because the food is often not so good quality. However, the Moon Beach Hotel's evening buffet was excellent quality and had a very large range of foods - something for everyone. We also were given a free welcome drink each - a choice of alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages - which we had on the veranda overlooking the beach. The price we paid ALSO included free entry to the Japanese ryokan style baths which included a sauna. This is open from 16:00 - 00:00 every day.

The beach and pool were really good. The pool is open until 21:00 every night. It's heated so it's a good place to go in the evening. The beach looks stunning. I can't understand about other reviewers complaints about the quality of the sand at this beach. I've been to beaches in Guam and Vietnam this year so I know what I'm talking about - the quality of the sand at Moon Beach is good.

Inside the hotel there are lots of interesting things to catch your attention as you stroll around - vines hanging from the 4th floor to the 1st floor; a hermit crab sandpit with a race track for them to scurry down; birds in cages tweeting their merry tunes. All in all, the hotel displays an innovative charm. Sure the place is showing its age a little, but it's still a great place to stay.

If you have time, take a walk outside between the hotel and the beach. If you keep going you'll find a very interesting path which takes you onto mini cliff tops with a great view of the beach, hotel and the horizon. There's also a statue of a mermaid on route which seems to hold some special significance for Japanese people as people had placed money in her cupped hands. The walk will only take you 10 minutes, but, again, its one of those little idiosyncrasies that infuse this hotel with memorable distractions.

As for the rooms themselves - fine, nothing special, but perfectly satisfactory. The verandas are nice, especially if they overlook the ocean!

Unfortunately, I can't really comment on the hotel's staff proficiency in English which readers may want to know about before they book a room - I was travelling with my Japanese relatives, and as I have a 'certain' level of ability in Japanese I didn't try and engage the staff in English.

In the vicinity around the hotel there are a couple of convenience stores within a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. There are also quite a lot of restaurants and izakayas within easy walking distance so if you want to eat or drink outside of the hotel, there are places right on your doorstep. However, although we didn't go in any, we checked out their menus and they did seem a little overpriced. I suppose they have a captive audience.

We stayed in 4 hotels over the course of our week in Okinawa and we were all in agreement that this one was the best. I guess we all wished we'd booked this hotel for much longer than 2 nights! I highly recommend it, especially if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: The hotel wings do span quite a distance, so, if you don't like a 2 minute walk from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr.Ashwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a truly awful hotel.

The Moon Beach is a huge, rambling older style resort that has been left to quietly rot in the Okinawan sun. It is screaming for maintenance, and seems to have been largely forgotten about by whichever company owns the place.

We paid a high-season rate of more than $700 a night for a room that hasn't seen paint since about 1990. The large windows, looking out over a charming view of palm trees and grass, couldn't be opened, which was a problem as the room had a musty smell more normally associated with the barnyard. You'll spend a lot of time gazing out that window, too, as from about 5am each morning the tiled corridors echo with the sound of small children running up and down in their crocs, I assume desperately looking for a way to escape from the resort. There's no point trying to email out for help, by the way - there is no internet access at all beyond three ancient laptops tethered to a desk in the reception area (shared among, I would estimate, about a thousand inmates). When I asked if there was WiFi the receptionist was so astounded at my impertinence that she just stood there, mouth agape, frozen at the very thought. She may well still be there, for all I know.

Just about nothing at the Moon Beach works; the breakfast lines are more than half an hour long, while half the tables inside sit vacant and deeply bored staff gaze off into the distance, presumably overcome with remorse that they hadn't studied a bit harder at school and weren't exiled to this god-forsaken monument to tourism from another era. Clueless reception staff blink like rabbits in the lights of an oncoming lorry while hordes of Chinese package tourists crowd closer and closer, waving pieces of paper and shrilly demanding attention. Over vigiliant activity staff roar up in a cloud of blue smoke on misfiring jetskis if you so much as swim a stroke outside an aribtrarily drawn line through the middle of the already tiny swimming enclosure.

Nothing at the Moon Beach comes free - there is a little artificial strip of sand/sharp broken coral, but to sit on a lounge costs $10. Some enterprising soul has walked around collecting those bits of broken coral and has set up an art workshop in an atrium area, and charges children $10 a pop to spend three minutes sticking those pieces together with woodworking glue. Next to them sits a heavily made up fortune teller....I can only imagine the future will be better than this. There is a tiny gym full of rusting weights, but it opens only at mysterious times and costs, wait for it, another $10 a time to have the opportunity to stand there trying to work out what is safe to touch.

I could go on. But here's a better idea - move on to the next review, choose another resort and actually enjoy your holiday in this stunning part of the world.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Please, go somewhere else. I beg you to go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is one of teh nicest beaches on the main island of Okinawa for those who like a sandy beach where they can swim. The swimming area is protected by a net, preventing unwanted sea creatures from entering.
There is also a sweet water pool.
Cape Maeda, which is a diving and snorkeling spot is a short drive from there, or you can take a hotel snorkeling tour.

Hotel itself is simple and nice. Rooms have safety boxes, a digital TV, good beds, small balcony, and beach towels. Air conditioning is fine - not too cold. Breakfast offers a large variety of western and Japanese food.
The restaurants and the Reception underwent some renovation since I visited there four years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuval_adler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed there for 1 night in January, 2012. The room was small. And there was no non-smoking room at that time, which is a con. But they were reforming at that time, so the situation may be improved now.
Staff were nice. After I complained about the smell in the room, they offered a air cleaner(over night) and spayed some air-refresh.
The beach of the hotel is good. Lots of marine activities.
The restaurants have great views of the beach in both day time and night time. The buffet was great! Very tasty!

Room Tip: Of course the ocean view will be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittennagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

One of the older hotels on Onna- son so the hotel and rooms are a little dated. However, based on the price we paid, it was perfectly adequate and breakfast was good quality and variety. Located on the southern end of the Onna-son resort strip.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Onna-son hotels
0.0 mi away
Moon Beach Palace Hotel
Moon Beach Palace Hotel
#14 of 23 in Onna-son
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Okinawa Onna Beach
1.2 mi away
Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay
5.3 mi away
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moon Beach

Address: 1203 Maeganeku, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun 904-0414, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Onna-son
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#9 Family Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range: $101 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moon Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filled with flowers and greenery, a natural resort hotel that allows relaxing timesLocated on Okinawa Coastal Quasi-National Park, this resort hotel is surrounded by greenery and flowers. A private beach allows complete marine leisure, while a popular cruising tour takes you out to a private island for barbecue and snorkeling. Mainly composed of Japanese-style rooms, this is an ideal hotel to relax and enjoy Ryukyuan, Japanese, western and Chinese cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Moon Beach
Moon Beach Hotel
Hotel Moon Beach Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing