We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach and good hotel”
Review of Hotel Moon Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Moon Beach
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is one of teh nicest beaches on the main island of Okinawa for those who like a sandy beach where they can swim. The swimming area is protected by a net, preventing unwanted sea creatures from entering.
There is also a sweet water pool.
Cape Maeda, which is a diving and snorkeling spot is a short drive from there, or you can take a hotel snorkeling tour.

Hotel itself is simple and nice. Rooms have safety boxes, a digital TV, good beds, small balcony, and beach towels. Air conditioning is fine - not too cold. Breakfast offers a large variety of western and Japanese food.
The restaurants and the Reception underwent some renovation since I visited there four years ago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuval_adler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 487 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed there for 1 night in January, 2012. The room was small. And there was no non-smoking room at that time, which is a con. But they were reforming at that time, so the situation may be improved now.
Staff were nice. After I complained about the smell in the room, they offered a air cleaner(over night) and spayed some air-refresh.
The beach of the hotel is good. Lots of marine activities.
The restaurants have great views of the beach in both day time and night time. The buffet was great! Very tasty!

Room Tip: Of course the ocean view will be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittennagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

One of the older hotels on Onna- son so the hotel and rooms are a little dated. However, based on the price we paid, it was perfectly adequate and breakfast was good quality and variety. Located on the southern end of the Onna-son resort strip.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We loved this Hotel to bits. We stayed there in April 2009 so it wasn't high season so the place was quite empty. We were looking around the area and just found this hotel off the main road, we thought it would be too expensive for our budget but as it was low season the prices were very good so we checked in for the 3 nights we had on Okinawa. We were in owe of the hotel and especially the private 'moon beach' which was perfect for relaxing, swimming and some snorkeling. The hotel grounds were perfectly kept and maintained.
Our room had two queen beds, a little dated decor but comfortable, clean and spacious. The food in the restaurant was lovely, it was a buffet style with lots of choice.
One of the main things we immediately thought was the kind and helpful staff of Hotel Moon Beach. Everyone was so friendly, all smiles and eager to help with any query.
We spent the first day on Moon beach and decided to have a go at some Scuba Diving. There is a water sports hut on the beach but the Scuba Dive shop was located opposite the hotel as you drive into Hotel Moon Beach. It was an amazing experience but a bit scary as the Instructor didn't have much English as we did Japanese! But he took some truly amazing memorable photos of our dive and in the end the language barrier was o.k (he had an Etch-a-Sketch with him so was quite funny when he tried to explain all the different coral and fish!). Since our first dive experience in Okinawa with Nobo and Hero (Assistant) we have really got the bug for diving but we will never forget our first dive with them and feeding the fish was cool :-)
The hotel is a good location to explore some of the Island (if you have a car), as we spent the 2nd day traveling to the top end of the Island and surrounding areas.
On checking out on our last day, my partner realized he had left the car lights on over night and of course the battery was dead. However one of the valets immediately went and got us some spark plugs and was more than helpful to get us back on the road!
I could go on and on talking about Hotel Moon Beach, I just really hope there will be another time we get to go to Okinawa again and without a doubt or hesitation would stay at Hotel Moon Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Only stayed for two nights as the sole purpose of our trip was to visit the Churaumi Aquarium. Hotel Moon Beach is conveniently located halfway between Naha and the Aquarium. We rented a car in Naha and as the hotel has plenty of parking it was easy. The rooms are dated but very clean and with a nice outlook over the ocean and the sunset. The breakfast was the usual hotel buffet, all quite acceptable considering the price we paid for low season. As we were hungry when we arrived we ordered a sandwich and coffee in the coffee shop while we waited as there was some delay with the check in. The sandwich had come out of a freezer and was inedible and the coffee was luke warm and the price was exhorbident. If you are hungery on arrival, there is a convenience store on the main road as you turn into the hotel entrance. The hotel coffee shop, bar and restaurants are wildly overpriced for substandard fare. But I guess that is typical of Japanese hotels. The visit to the aquarium was absolutely out of this world, we spent the whole day there. We did some more sightseeing on the way back to Naha but we almost late returning the car on time as the traffic is so slow and the roads so crowded and the traffic lights never seem to change. So plan your timing carefully.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in this hotel during the Golden week holidays. According to our tour package plan we rented a car from Okinawa airport and drove around the island for two days before arriving at this hotel. Soon upon arrival, we realized it had been best to spend our whole time in that hotel from the begining, and it seemed to be the best part of the trip. The hotel is really huge, it a liitle old, but it seems to be looked after very well. It was quite crowded in the peak of the holidays, but the service was acceptable. The beach was great, the breakfast was fantastic and the Korean BBQ dinner was spectacular. The gift shop was colorful and the marine sports facilities were pleasant. The rooms may need some renewal, but considering the price, it is still very good value. I specially liked the unique architecture of the hotel and recommend that people explore the floors and gardens well. Some (but not all) staff could speak good English, but everyone was kind.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

we chose this beach resort as the last stop of our spring break vacation last year and what a perfect ending it turned out to be! because it was still slow season, we enjoyed peaceful stay and looked like we owned the beach in our pictures.

the hotel grounds were beautiful, very well landscaped and maintained. staff very friendly. the fish in the lobby was a big hit with the kids, as were the birds in their cages. our semi-japanese room was perfect and very comfortable. breakfast was amazingly delicious, probably one of the best breakfast buffets we've had at any hotel. we loved it so much we also tried the dinner buffet which was out of this world. there are quite a few restaurants near the hotel, great food. convenience stores are right down the road, for water, snacks, etc. the hotel makes a nice base for exploring the area also.

the beach is so beautiful, the water so clear and clean. we found lots of sea creatures in the water and some beautiful shells. we visited 5 or 6 different beaches all over okinawa during this trip, moon beach was probably the best one.

love this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Onna-son hotels
0.0 mi away
Moon Beach Palace Hotel
Moon Beach Palace Hotel
#14 of 23 in Onna-son
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Okinawa Onna Beach
1.2 mi away
Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay
5.3 mi away
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moon Beach

Address: 1203 Maeganeku, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun 904-0414, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Onna-son
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#9 Family Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range: $101 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moon Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filled with flowers and greenery, a natural resort hotel that allows relaxing timesLocated on Okinawa Coastal Quasi-National Park, this resort hotel is surrounded by greenery and flowers. A private beach allows complete marine leisure, while a popular cruising tour takes you out to a private island for barbecue and snorkeling. Mainly composed of Japanese-style rooms, this is an ideal hotel to relax and enjoy Ryukyuan, Japanese, western and Chinese cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Moon Beach
Moon Beach Hotel
Hotel Moon Beach Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing